We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden secret in New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Ranked #39 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Took a trip to New Orleans with friends to just hang out and have a great time. The Residence Inn New Orleans was a great place to stay. We were able to do a lot at the hotel with the great outdoor experience. They had a great pool, sport court were we played basketball and a grill area where we were able to grill our on food which helped us save some money. The entire staff at the Residence Inn were very friendly and helpful. One of the most memerable things from the stay was that the General Manager sat with us in the courtyard one evening telling us all about New Orleans (The history, fun things to do and also hurricane Katrina). We were very impressed that the Manager would take the time to sit down with the customers and just talk. I will stay there anytime I am in New Orleans

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,063)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

The mental scars from our stay in this hellhole are still quite fresh. Here's the short version: we would have rather spent the night in a truck-stop bathroom, with our heads resting in a urinal.

Here's the long version: The first room we were assigned was filled with rodent droppings; there were bodily fluids caked on the upholstered furniture; and signs of bedbugs. We left the room immediately. A woman at the front desk was helpful and gave us a new room. This room looked similar to an alley-way after Mardi Gras. It had obviously not been cleaned after the last few guests and had obviously not been repaired or maintained for years. There was:
* Vomit on wall
* Blood on the bed sheets
* A dirty towel hanging up
* Semen crusted on the chair
* Clumps of hair in bathroom
* Mold in shower
* A dead mouse outside the door (in later stages of decomposition)

Realizing that we could not stay here, we began calling other hotels and trying to find a place downtown that had vacancies for the weekend and accepted large dogs. To our horror, everything was booked; exhausted and in the midst of a cross-country move, we were forced to stay in this hellhole. Afraid of rodents, roaches, and disease, we wiped down the two wooden chairs and rested in them with the lights on; when morning arrived, we left immediately.

The only good thing I can say is that the hotel promptly refunded our money when I emailed the corporate offices and hotel manager with an account of our stay and photos to prove it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CareyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

It's an entirely adequate hotel in a good location. The room was clean, and it was relatively quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nichole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My daughter's basketball team stayed at this hotel for four days last week. The young lady that checked us in was very polite and helpful with dining and other activity information. The room was clean and the beds were comfy. The ice maker didn't work in our fridge so the front desk supplied us with ice whenever we needed it. The complimentary breakfast was nice and the staff seldom allowed the food to run out. For the most part, the hotel was nice and quiet. There were other teams staying at the same hotel and at times the noise in the room above me was unbearable. Not wanting to be a prude, I ignored it the first night, but when it got so bad that it woke me the second night I alerted the front desk. This was not at all any fault of the hotel, but they addressed it promptly and I didn't have that issue again.
There is a grill area on the property but only one grill. I would suggest adding at least one more due to the size of the hotel. We were fortunate enough to be able to use it with only about a 30 minute wait.
The parking area next to the hotel is pretty small and if it's full you have to park a block down the street. I'm not a big fan of having to pay to park at a hotel when I'm paying to stay there but it is what it is!
All in all, the hotel was decent and clean; and the staff provided exceptional customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reece1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This Residence Inn is starting to show it's age, in my opinion. While the hotel is in a great location, and the building is beautiful, the room furnishings are becoming worn. In particular, the living room couch was sunken in and the carpeting worn.

Worst part of this stay: the wireless internet in the rooms was horrible--it would work for 10 minutes and stop for 10 minutes. When we called the front desk they connected us to a different company who said they would look into the issue.

Overall, an OK stay but this place needs a refreshing and a more reliable wireless network.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not above the garage doors!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duluth1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay.

Pros:
* Room was large, clean and quiet.
* Front desk and housekeeping staff were extremely pleasant, helpful and welcoming.
* Breakfast buffet included healthier choices like oatmeal, fresh fruit and yogurt (as well as the standard eggs, sausage, bagels etc.) - would be great for those with kids.
* Nice fitness centre & courtyard.
* Quiet area of town, close to the Garden District and away from Bourbon St, but still within walking district.

Cons:
*The room looked a little shabby and in need of a refreshening, and I found the mattress to be a little soft and unsupportive. I was fine with this, given the price I paid.
* The fitness centre weight machine in the fitness centre was missing handles, which greatly reduced the number of muscles groups you could exercises (there are free weights though).

If you have a car, parking is $20. Street parking is free in the Garden District - about 6 blocks away. The nearest market is Rouse's on Royal Street, in the French Quarter (about 1 mile away, no parking) or Breaux Mart on Magazine Street, in the Garden District (about 2.5 miles away). (Alternately, staff will do your grocery shopping for free, if you give them a list.) A Mano restaurant, just 1 block away, is an excellent choice for a business or romantic dinner. For families, Pi Pizza & Pasta is a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doggone31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I have decided to write reviews of all of the hotels I have stayed at in the past year. I am so tired of reading people's poor reviews when there is nothing wrong with the hotels being reviewed. People are rude and ignorant!

This hotel was great. The staff was fantastic and the rooms were nice. The free breakfast buffet was fantastic! The hotel is small and a little older, but it is clean and has the ammenities anyone would need, not to mention free WiFi.

People just like to complain. I really wish these reviewers would stop writing terrible reviews wgen there is nothing to complain about. You people just make other travelers nercous before their stays. You should be ashamed of yourselves!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank realreviews_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#87 of 166 in New Orleans
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown

Address: 345 Saint Joseph St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £84 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel right at home in the popular Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown, perfect for leisure getaways or business excursions. Our extended-stay hotel in the warehouse and arts districts is exactly where you want to stay in New Orleans, offering easy access to a variety of attractions including the World War II Museum, Outlet Collection at Riverwalk, Smoothie King Center, Mercedes-Benz Superdome, Port of New Orleans and Ernest N. Morial Convention Center. Touro Infirmary and Children's Hospital of New Orleans also are close. After a busy day, retreat to our pet-friendly suites and cook up your favorite meal in a fully equipped kitchen, then enjoy high-tech amenities including free high-speed Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. We also offer a complimentary breakfast buffet, 24-hour fitness center, outdoor pool and Sport Court for a game of volleyball, tennis or basketball. Play hard and work hard in NOLA during your stay at Residence Inn New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing