We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“OMG, but not in a good way. Not terrible, and not poor. Need different rating. Tired” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Ranked #36 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OMG, but not in a good way. Not terrible, and not poor. Need different rating. Tired”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for two days recently and I have never seen a mix of what might be remodel/update and IDK. First this is a place to stay when all you want to do is sleep or there are a lot of you/ room sharing. The rooms appear to have been updated with some things and not with others. In the common areas of the actual rooms, there were filthy carpets and just actual Dirt and Debris on the carpeted stairs. The elevator smelled of mildew. In the room we had the furniture was slammed against the walls. There are no doors on the closet and the bed may be a queen sized, but felt smaller and looked like a motel from years gone by. The towels are not white, but variations on dingy. The flat screens TVs are on small stands. The one near the door in living area is too small to be that far from couch. The one in the bedroom is too low! Our room had no view and oh yeah, the coast guard member who stayed above us did his workout routine at the end of the day in his room; which meant he jumped, ran, stomped, and Lord only knows what else over our head, making me call the front desk to see what was going on. I was told he was in the coast guard, not sure if that meant hearing what sounded like a fight over my head for 30 to 45 minutes was ok, because he was in the coast guard. My VFW husband was tired at the end of his day and jumping jacks were not appreciated. Avoid room 206!!!! Sometimes just being big is not enough and while the rooms were large the dirty carpet and general rundown feeling could not be compensated for by size. I simply could not believe the dirt never got vacuumed in the two days. We checked in on a Monday and out on a Wednesday and the same dirt was there the entire time! And I do mean dirt and not on a stair, but all of the stairs!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank carolinatravel728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, Manager at Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review and I am sorry for your poor experiences at our property. We will utilize this information so that we can improve our performance for our future guests. If you would like to discuss it further please feel free to contact me at the hotel, phone number (504) 522-1300.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    371
    86
    40
    23
See reviews for
357
132
24
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kincaid, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I and three friends spent a week at this hotel. The suite was clean, spacious, and very comfortable. The included breakfast featured every breakfast item imaginable and was delicious. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The area around the hotel was quiet, yet close to restaurants and all that New Orleans has to offer. The only downside was that we had to call for towels and wash clothes every day. Otherwise would highly recommend and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This facility was created inside the shell of an old warehouse and done very well. Our room was huge with a large living area, two bedrooms and a shared bath. L-shape kitchen, dining area, computer desk and a large sectional made a very nice space. As most New Orleans living the building had a big center courtyard that is also very well done. The hotel is in the warehouse district several blocks away from the French Quarter but still close enough to walk. The only downside is the unsecure parking area outside across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We came to New Orleans Comic Con and it was a perfect location to be in between the convention center and french quarter. Their breakfast was very good and the front desk staff was awesome at checkin and checkout. The only reason that I'm not giving a 5 star rating is the price but many hotels in the area and priced higher than you would expect.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsimons22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Want to start out by thanking Hannah for her enthusiasm always and helpfulness, very pleasant and fun personality, Rhonda for her upbeat attitude and helpfulness, I stayed over allstar week-end and experienced a couple bumps but nothing major, came down with some friends and I had a Great time..Thank you....forgot to mention the young man who worked at breakfast time with Rhonda very helpful

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chataun k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Happily surprised by this place. I stayed here for 47 days and was very concerned about noise. I asked for a top level room in the courtyard but got a 2nd floor room by the pool (court side) room 286. Very good noise insulation in rooms. Great staff.

Room Tip: Court side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed for the weekend and this hotel was a good choice. It had the breakfast bar in the morning which was nice as well .... Our room was a 1 bedroom with the fridge stove microwave..... And very clean .... We were able to walk to many places. And I did notice that a lot of people stayed there before they we going on their cruises....which was only a few blocks away I would recommend this hotel ! We did drive and parked our car but we knew what the charge was going to be before we got there

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#58 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown

Property: Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Address: 345 St. Joseph Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing