We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Ranked #37 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
maryland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Spacious Suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in the suite, 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, and one extra room with pull out couch and French doors. The place was very spacious and well worth the price. The staff was friendly and accommodating, and the property was well maintained. Would definitely stay there again if I go with a group.

Room Tip: Can't speak to regular rooms, but the suite was one of the largest rooms I've ever stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trav521el
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    383
    93
    41
    24
See reviews for
373
138
26
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muskogee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We had reservations for May 16th, driving from Dallas. Since we got a late start I called the hotel to let them know we would be arriving closer to 3am instead of 12am. We arrived at the hotel around 3:30am and was told the hotel didn't have any more rooms and we were comped a room at the Courtyard Marriott. We didn't mind because it was close by and we just wanted to get some sleep because we were meeting my sister and brother-in-law early Sat. morning. We checked in the
Residence Inn on Sat. and was very impressed with the site. It was awesome. The courtyard, the hotel, just awesome. However, things went downhill from there. We went grocery shopping, hit ready to make snacks. There were no glasses, no ice, no pots or pans. We received the ice and a couple of glasses later after touring, but we're told there were no pots or pans until Sunday. Well Sunday,, after touring we returned to the hotel, and the room had not been vacuumed or cleaned well and there were only wash clothes in the bathrooms and NO TOILET TISSUE, unbelievable. Towels, well ok, the hotel was booked the night before and they were still cleaning. But, no toilet tissue, just wrong. Although the hotel was beautiful, would not stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank sogladtogettogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer H, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this review. I'd like to apologize for the service failures you experienced while staying at our property. We will be using this feedback to better serve our future guests. Should you want to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me
at the hotel. I can be reached at (504) 522-1300.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Great location with clean rooms., The staff was attentive and the complimentary breakfast is a nice touch. We really enjoyed the courtyard with the pool & tennis court. A relaxing area to sit and a little dog park. We would highly recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DestinLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We booked a one bedroom suite for a family vacation and were upgraded to a two bedroom suite which was PHENOMENAL. Enough room so that we didn't drive one another crazy in confined quarters. The staff was accomodating and friendly. Housekeeping was timely and efficient. We walked to the french quarter several times as well as catching a trolley and cab. The location is quiet so if you're looking for a lot of action maybe not your first chouce, however, I don't like to stay within noisy areas. Loved the courtyard and the breakfast, dinner hour social. Would definitely visit there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveRonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Because the Spring Hill Suites down the street was booked up and we needed an additional room we booked a room here for my mother for 2 nights. The hotel has a nice New Orleans feel to it and the staff were welcoming. The photograph doesn't do it justice. The 1 bedroom suite we had was nicely appointed in typical bright Marriott colors. If you want a small kitchen this hotel is a great option.

The location is good near lots of great restaurants, clubs, the convention center, and the River Walk. It is a fair distance from the French Quarter ... a long walk or a short cab ride.

I particularly liked this hotel's courtyard area for outdoor dining in good weather which we were lucky to have... and the breakfast was ample.

My only complaint were the inefficiencies of this hotel - no recycling whatsover and cold smelly air conditioning blasting in the hallways unnecessarily on a cold night.

This hotel is strangely a Marriott category 5 hotel but the nearby Spring Hill Suites is a category 6.... this makes no sense to me... maybe the studio rooms are not as nice but I would definitely stay here and not return to the Spring Hill.

Room Tip: It can be a busy and noisy neighborhood so a courtyard facing room would be a quieter option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MenOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel when in New Orleans for a convention. It is located very close to the convention center (3 blocks), so location is really great for this purpose. Very easy acces (10 min) to Canal Street and the French Quarter and very very good restaurants around. We recommend: Peche, Emerald, Tommys, Grand Isle and in the French Quarter Mr B's. Superb food for about 50 per person.
But: we had a cockroach problem, namely we found a still living, huge cockroach in the lvingroom/kitchen - still kicking. We called front desk which promised to send an "engineer". 45 minutes later, when cokroach was still kicking and trying to get up, we had to call again, because the " engineer" hadn't appeared. He finally came and took the bug away.
The rooms were nice, but there was a muffy airconditioning smell in the rooms and the window in the living room didn't close, allthough New Orleans is probably not one of the safest American cities and we were warned in every room to keep all the windows shut. The cleaning was different every day, sometimes better, sometimes worse, but the hotel has a motel appearance. And we had to pay 230 $ per night before tax. It seemed overpriced for what they offered, not to mention the bug!

Room Tip: Choose upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Li3z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, Manager at Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you so much far taking the time to fill out a review on our hotel, we always appreciate the feedback. I am sorry for the experience with the bug and the inconsistancy with the housekeeping service, I can certainly understand the impact it can have on your stay.

Unfortunately I am unable to pull your information due to the account name. I would love the opportunity to discuss it further with you if you could please reach out to Matt Bracken at the Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown. Our phone number is (504) 522-1300.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for 9 days in the suite with 2 bedrooms and kitchen area and had a great time. The place has a very home loving style with people sitting arround in the "center" area with the pool and bbq. This building is a remodelled warehouse so it looks a bit odd but everything was great. The BREAKFAST is the same each day but had the basic food to get some fruit, yogurt, eggs, cereals and waffles. There were also some very greasy sausages...wouldn´t recomend them. SERVICE was very good and we got a lot of help from the staff. The LOCATION was very good close to the WW2 museum and between the garden district and the french quarter. We more or less walked everywhere since there were a lot of restaurants and places to see.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mab333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown

Property: Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Address: 345 Saint Joseph St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3676
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing