We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience for an extended stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Ranked #39 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good experience for an extended stay”
Reviewed 27 November 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 6 months while on business in NOLA. It was located in the CBD, a 10 minute walk from the French Quarter.

I really enjoyed the location as it was just far enough away from the madness of Bourbon where I could get to know the real NOLA.

Hotel staff treated us extremely well due to the fact we were long stay guests. They did everything to keep us happy and were always creative in figuring out solutions when problems did arise.

Will stay here again if put on a long term assignment in NOLA.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler60305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    389
    97
    43
    25
See reviews for
390
146
26
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Free grocery delivery, free wifi in room, free hot breakfast. Warehouse district. Not too far from the French Quarter. You can usually park in the neighborhood at night, just don't oversleep b/c the ticket and tow cost $145. Laundry in the building. Gym and good pool. Kitchen and couch in room.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mars2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

While this hotel is rather typical of the Residence Inn properties, it is recently updated, clean, and has a nice courtyard area. In addition, the breakfast is decent, and the Mon-Thurs evening free snacks and drinks are more than that. You can easily make a great meal out of most of the offerings. In addition, at the standard daily rate of $89, with only $18 for parking right across the street, it's a deal for the area. Of course, it may be more expensive on the weekends. Depending on your reason for visiting New Orleans, the location could be great. There are many excellent restaurant and bar choices within a 10 minute safe walk, in addition to Harrah's casino. If you want to walk to Bourbon street, it's more of a hike though.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkstonTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We stayed there for 6 days during our 2 month USA tour, with 3 kids
It was our best suite experience : the kitchen was outstanding and the double rooms large and very confortable with 2 bathrooms and a view over the pool.
Kids loved the spacious pool area and the basket-ball court. Breakfast and the daily manager's reception helped saving on food preparation and on retaurant bills .
Self-service laundry was also handy
We never felt away from home, close to all major urban attractions, shopping and museums, without a car.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joemadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bossier City, LA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed for three days, room was dirty and poorly maintained. Reported it to desk clerk who said she would notify management. Was not offered a room change and never heard from management. The only thing it has going for it is the location next to the D Day Museum but you would be much better off to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank don9093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We stayed in three different rooms in this hotel, each one getting progressively worse.

The first had a running toilet, which eventually overflowed and soaked the carpet.

The second had mold so bad in the bathroom that fungus (mushrooms!) were growing out of the wallpaper.

On to room 3, which also had mold, but not nearly as bad. Things were looking up until a MOUSE ran across the kitchen and living room floor. Yes, our room was infested with rodents.

At all points, the staff was friendly and wanting to be helpful, but how helpful can you be when the facilities are so poor?

Do not stay here. If there are no other options, just stay home.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mroegner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Digby, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We booked for the weekend of Jazz Fest at the last minute and this was the only hotel we could find. It's located in the warehouse district - about a 20-25 minute walk (as long as you don't get lost) to the French Quarter. I suggest taking a cab at nightime ($6-$7 for two people) We paid $250 + tax/night . Call a cab ahead of time, we had to wait 20-30 mins for one to come.

We checked in and just dropped off our bags in the room (we had a studio suite) and left to go to Jazz Fest. When we got back we got in the room and noticed a few things:
1) Our door lock was broken
2) Dirty sheets and blankets on our bed (with STAINS) and on the blanket in our closet.

We called the front desk and after quite a wait they sent someone up to fix the door lock (Sidney, whom was very helpful and quite friendly) and then they sent another man to come make our bed. He put the SAME dirty sheets and blankets back on. I made a point of telling him those were the dirty blankets, and he left. I called the front desk, at this point aggravated, and they sent him back up and I put the blankets outside our room and personally took the clean stuff from him and made the bed myself. I was so tired and just wanted to sleep and about an hour after I got home I finally could lay down. The staff never offered an apology to us!

The air conditioning worked well and the hotel is smoke free, but you can smoke in their beautiful courtyard (the only nice thing about the hotel). The 4th floor STUNK of cigarette smoke and being smokers we generally don't notice things like that.

We had complimentry breakfast which had a large variety but no taste. The first day the scrambled eggs were cold and the second day the eggs were still runny. There was no where to sit, all the seats were filled. My partner grabbed a table outside, and I got us each a plate of breakfast. One woman yelled at me because I had two plates.

The bed was not comfortable and a queen. They needed more blankets on the bed. There were an abundance of pillows and being a Marriot rewards member I didn't get the extra towels I asked for before check in. The shower was great.

The second day we explored our room and wanted to have a glass of wine. So before I pour the wine in the glass I look in the glass and it's all stained with what looks like old milk in the bottom.

The sink in the bathroom clogged up and the plug was stuck and we couldn't unplug it.
Our TV shorted out multiple times!
The lighting was bad, the room was lacking in extra plugs. The carpets were filthy and there was a pill on our floor.

We did laundry here and after an hour in the dryer the clothes still weren't dry.

You could hear people arguing in their rooms when you walked down the halls.

Business center consists of 2 computers in the lobby.

It was a terrible stay. It wasn't as close to everything as what they told us prior to check in. Don't walk around here at night.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lebaneech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#75 of 162 in New Orleans
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown

Property: Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Address: 345 Saint Joseph St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3676
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing