We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid a room with a river view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Ranked #75 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Avoid a room with a river view..........unless..... you want to be awakened by the sound of passiing trains all night long! We had checked into our first room and were relaxing around 8:30 p.m. when we heard the first train pass. That's when I remembered a Trip Advisor review that I had read forewarning of the train! Even though we were on the 25th floor, it sounded as if we were on the ground level. Fortunately, we were able to switch to another room and avoid a potentially disastrous stay.

This hotel is enormous and unless you have a reason to stay at this particular hotel for a conference, trade show, etc.....there were many other properties to choose from in the same immediate area that seemed to be more manageable.

Room Tip: We stayed on the executive level. Not worth the extra charge. Breakfast was no better than at a Hilt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,939 - 4,945 of 5,882 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

One of the better hotels in New Orleans for a GREAT price, if you plan ahead!! I booked 3 rooms about 20 days in advance for only $89 per night for a full weekend stay. friday afternoon to sunday check out. Anything at the level of the Hilton in that area will run you at least $159 or more per night.

Nice and clean rooms, flat screen tv's, comfortable beds (awesome), clean bathrooms (very nice), modern furniture and fixtures (sexy/classy), the hotel is amazing compared to MANY other hotels in the area which are either much much older or way more expensive. The pictures posted on Trip Advisor and on the Hilton website are 100% right on. It is that nice. The rooms are really nice and we really enjoyed them.

They have a nice but overpriced full bar and cajun seafood restaurant inside. Full access business center and a huge gym that 2 of the people in my party used and seemed to like alot. Pretty snappy service from the front desk and staff. We had a small issue that was cleared up almost immediately. (key and check in issue)

The location is PERFECT for the area. The Hilton is right on the Mississippi River so right behind it the hotel is the riverwalk and a really neat area for food, drinks, and shopping. The Harrah's Hotel and Casino is practically across the street and everything else is within walking distance of a few blocks, although some of the hot spots in the french quarter are a little further away. I think thats a good thing so you arent so close to all the craziness of the streets at night and you can actually feel like your getting away by going to the Hilton Riverside. If anything is too far a quick cab ride is no problem and is pretty cheap within the area. Book at this hotel IN ADVANCE and you wont be disappointed. $89 per night on expedia and the hotel website. that includes deluxe rooms that face the strip or the riverside view.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thecool272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2011

Thank you for the very nice review of our hotel and we certainly enjoyed having you here. I will certainly share your wonderful comments with our team. New Orleans is a fun destination all year a round so when you are ready for some of that well deserved R & R keep us in mind and our team will be happy to assist you in planning your next stay.

The best of the upcoming Holidays to you and to your family!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverisde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Wonderful hotel, convenient to Harrah's Casino, and within a few blocks of the cruise ship dock. While cabs are available, it's not more than an easy 10 minute walk to the pier.

Hotel has great facilities, helpful room staff, and easy check-in/out.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgkoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Thank you for choosing the Hilton New Orleans Riverside as your New Orleans pre Crusie destination. We certainly enjoyed having you here and we look forward to seeing you again whenever your travels bring you back to the city.

The best of the Holiday Season to you and to your family!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverisde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stayed at the above Hotel for three days. Super clean rooms, service, good location next to Trolleys. Cabs easily accessible.
Ate at Drago's in house restaurant. Great grilled oysters.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JM1313MonroeTwp_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Thank you for the very nice review of our hotel. We certainly enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you again whenever your travels bring you back to New Orleans. Happy to hear that you enjoyed dinner in Drago's and I will certainly pass on your comments on to the Drago's management team.

The best of the upcoming Holiday Season to you and to your family!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

As title says. Went for guys weekend trip good location for casino but way over priced for the size of the beds.Good for convention i guess aslong as your company footing the bill. Had same experience in Hilton in Nashville. Need your pocket book cleaned out for average sized room then you got it!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank longhorn_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Thank you for choosing the Hilton New Orleans Riverside as your New Orleans destination and we certainly look forward to seeing you again whenever your travels bring you back to the city. I am sorry to hear about the bed being too small. Our King's, Queens's and Double beds are standard size beds. Hopefully you had success at Harrah's and if our team can assist with a future reservation, please do not hesitate to give us a call.

The best of the upcoming Holiday Season to you and to your family!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Location: Great. Everything is pretty much within walking distance and it's a short walk to the convention center too if you're there for a show

Food: All the meals I had in the hotel seemed good...including room service

Lobby Bar: Service was good and overall a good spot to come back to at the end of the day

Room Tip: Stay in Building 1 or 2. If you stay in Building 3, make sure you ask for a room not facing the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HKTG21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Thank you for choosing the Hilton New Orleas Riverside as your New Orleans destination. We certainly enjoyed having you here and we look forward to seeing you again whenever your travels bring you back to New Orleans. Our apologies for the train noise. We have shared your comments with the New Orleans Public Belt Railraod and they have always welcomed our feedback. Their train engineers have a protocol after dark and they want to know when it is not followed.

The best fo the upcoming Holiday Season to you and to your family!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed here to attend a convention, as I suspect that a lot of others do

Location: walking distance to the NO convention centre, as well as to the French Quarter which is convenient. And right next to the river, so excellent for a run.

Room: got a typical standard business type room. Adequately clean, but not so that I would have wanted to roll around on the carpet. Bathroom small.

Others: internet access was expensive. My main bugbear was the queue for breakfast. Everyone eats breakfast at the same place but during my time, they were not able to cope with the volume of pple - meant that I actually had to pass on breakfast so that I could get to the convention on time. I know I could have gone earlier, but that is besides the point - things like this should be anticipated and dealt with

Overall, it's an ok place to stay for a few days for business. Impersonal, not some place that you would want to return to especially.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XpandMyHorizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Thank you for choosing the Hilton New Orleans Riverside as your New Orleans destination for your conference. Our apologies for the delay and the lines at Breakfast. Your comments have been shared with our restaurant management team for discussion. As a business traveler, may I suggest that you join our Hilton HHonors program whereby once you become an HHonors Diamond or Gold tier member high speed interent access is complimentary at all of our Hilton properties. Additionally we do offer complimentary HSIA in our lobby levels and coffee shops and I am sorry if this information was not conveyed to you while you were here.
We certainly enjoyed having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again whenever your travels bring you back to New Orleans. When you are ready to return contact our hotel team and we will be happy to assist you planning your next stay.


Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverisde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 166 in New Orleans
1,049 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
3,612 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#79 of 166 in New Orleans
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,688 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Address: 2 Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130-1656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £120 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing