We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton New Orleans Riverside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Ranked #77 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Hilton New Orleans Riverside”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Good hotel, nice size room, clean. A bit big, but thousands of people can fit easily! Gym is big, but charges a fee. The equipment is heavy duty more for men than for women. Nice to have separate jacuzzi in women's locker. Restaurants and food in hotel is expensive. Staff is pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawaiian555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hilton New Orleans Riverside as your New Orleans destination. We certainly enjoyed having you here and we look forward to seeing you again soon. I am not sure if you are one of our Hilton HHonors members however if you are not I encourage that you join our program. Health Club access to all of the Health Club's by Hilton Worldwide are complimentary to our HHonors Diamond, Gold and Silver members and you have an opportunity to earn points during each stay to use toward future hotel and resort stays. You can contact (800) 548-8690 to become a member.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,984
    1,930
    973
    392
    200
See reviews for
808
1,161
185
2,478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed at this Hilton in January of 2011 for an event held at the convention center. It's well-situated for an easy walk to both said convention center and the French Quarter. Unfortunately that's pretty much all that can be said positively of the Hilton Riverside. Upon checking in I asked for a quiet room ... and was assigned a room with adjoining rooms on either side. I'm no princess, but I ended up asking to move because of the noise. After being apologized to I was told someone would be up with a new room key for me. No one came so eventually I shlepped downstairs and got it myself and after packing up I moved to my new room with ... you guessed it ... an adjoining door, this time with someone snoring so loudly next door that it sounded like he was in bed with me. Cue my second move at 11pm, this time to a room with no adjoining door. Finally!

My third room at the Hilton did not seem like such a coup the following day when a room down the hall began hosting what I imagine was a bachelor or bachelorette party. I lack words to describe how loud these people were. We're talking shrieks, woos, chants of "shot, shot, shot," and the pièce de résistance: blasting the Black Eyed Peas' "I Gotta Feeling" complete with a group sing-a-long. I realize that the hotel cannot be held responsible for people's rudeness, but my calls down to reception went largely unanswered and the party continued.

One final put-off: I was having some convention materials shipped to me and I called the hotel ahead of time to ask about details. Imagine my surprise when I showed up at the business center to collect my package and was told I'd have to pony up a service charge based on weight. I later had management waive the charge, but it was just another example of poor service.

I guess you get what you pay for -- I scored a $50 a night rate on a third-party booking site, and certainly received $50 worth or service.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karolinatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
I'm sorry that we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory experience during your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the noise experienced in each of your rooms and shipping services. Your comments will help correct these issues. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time your are in New Orleans.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed here for a corporate event and the staff are extremely helpful! Thank you for a nice week in NOLA!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsValentime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we are happy to hear that our team was able to make your stay a pleasurable one. We certainly enjoyed having you here and look forward to your next visit. Lots of fun events scheduled in New Orlens later this year and we hope you can find time in your busy schedule to return and enjoy them with us. Our Concierge and Reservations teams will be happy to assist you in customizing your next visit to the Big Easy where we have fun - Laissez le bontemps a rouler!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here for one night post cruise and found it to be nice hotel, but large. I checked in on a Sunday morning and wasn't surprised that our rooms were not ready, but was surprised that there were so few people working at check in. We were told that we could store our luggage and relax at the pool but after struggling to find the pool, which was in another building and the location wasn't well marked, it turns out that a room key is required. Back to the front desk (and line) I go, to get a temporary card. As the rest of our group arrived and were assigned their rooms, I decided to try the front desk again. Off I went through the maze of halls to wait in line again to be told that my rooms still weren't ready. After returning back to the pool, as I sat down I received a phone call that the rooms were ready so back I went through the buildings to wait in line again. This was my first impression of the hotel and it was frustrating. They commented at the front desk that Sundays are always busy and yet I never saw more that three agents working and there must have been at least 20 people in line each time I went through the lobby.

Other than the check in process, the hotel was great but it is what it is - a very large business hotel that handles lots of conventions.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachgoes_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Our apologies for any miscommunications regarding check in time and not having a room ready for you when you arrived. Check In time is 3pm and Check Out time is 12 noon. We do our best to have rooms ready early on weekends however sometimes with a departure time of 12 noon it is not always possible as was the case on your arrival day . We certainly enjoyed having you here and we hope that you enjoyed your cruise. New Orleans is a fun destination year round so when you are ready for some well deserved R&R give us a call and we will be happy to help you plan your next stay.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange,TX
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed here for my daughter's Club (AAU) Volleyball Tourney. Loved our stay....had a room on the 26th floor with a view of the river. As a Hilton Honors member , I received a personal email prior to my stay to upgrade which I liked! The executive lounge was everything we enjoyed for breakfast and the evening snacks were great. The convenience of watching my daughter play @ the hotels fitness club was awesome. Dragos Restaurant it to die for. Charbroiled Oysters are to die for !!!!!Very short walk to the French Quarter and most attractionsWhat a great experience. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We enjoyed having all of our Volleyball families here and look forward to seeing you all again for the 2013 tournament. Our guest rooms renovation project will be completed in late summer so when you all return next year we will have a new product to offer our guests. Hopefully you were able to enjoy our new Crescent City Marketplace and do a bit of shopping in our Accessories to Desire retail shop located on floor 2 in our main tower. If you have an opportunity to come back before next year's Volleyball Weekend, give us a call and we will be happy to help you plan your getaway.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Hilton is located in a great location short walk to the French quarter and across from Harrahs. Great views of the Mississippi River too. Large hotel with rooms in either side of rail tracks. Be aware that the trains do come through and blow their horn at the crossing. Good size bar and restaurant on first level and you chech in on level 2. Rooms are good sized but need refurbishment especially the furniture. Rooms do have small ,refrigerators for cold drink or fruit

Room Tip: Try for a river view then you can watch the tankers, freighters along with cruise ships that dock ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank careyhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination. We enjoyed having you here and certainly look forward to seeing you again whenever your travels bring you back to New Orleans. Our rooms renovation project is scheduled to begin soon and be completed by the end of summer 2012. Hopefully you can find time this Fall to return and enjoy our new rooms.
Our Reservations and Concierge teams will be happy to help you plan your next stay with us.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

You won't need a car if you're here for a long weekend. The French Quarters is walking distance. The trolley is right outside. Great gym,but if you're not a Hilton Honors silver member then you'll have to pay. Parking is pricey, $34/night. The River walk is right outside and Harrah's is right across the street.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truebleu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again whenever your travels bring you back to New Orleans. Lots of fun times ahead here in New Orleans so when you are ready for some well deserved R&R, give us a call and our Reservations and Concierge teams will be happy to help you plan your next stay.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#40 of 163 in New Orleans
883 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
2,473 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 163 in New Orleans
3,426 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Property: Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing