We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel!! Another example of why I love Hilton Worldwide Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Ranked #79 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!! Another example of why I love Hilton Worldwide Hotels”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I am already a huge fan of all Hilton branded hotels and the Hilton New Orleans Riverside is another example as to why! I 100% highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New Orleans! The location to the french quarter is perfect, but more important, it is a superb property with a superb staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2laughnetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
luv2laughentime,


Thank you so very much for the great review. I have shared your comments with the team and everyone was most appreciative. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Have a great summer!

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,905
    1,876
    946
    370
    196
See reviews for
780
1,145
182
2,360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed on the 15th floor in April 2014 with a City View room. It was a very nice and clean room. The location was great, we were able to walk about everywhere we wanted to go. Only problem was that our credit card was charged for the 2 nights parking twice. It took a few days to get that straightened out once we got home. We will definitely stay here again as long as we get a good deal on the price like we did on this trip.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper request a room away from the elevators. We could hear the elevators going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Cathy B,

Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to the next opportunity when we can welcome you back once again. Have a great summer and we hope to see you again soon.


Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Everything that could go wrong did! First they got our reservation wrong. We had a confirmed reservation for a King Size Bed. We got a room with two doubles not even queens. Seemingly nothing they could do to correct this error and took the path of blaming the convention that booked it despite a printed confirmation.

The morning of the first night we were woken by the sounds of a Jack Hammer like sound coming through the walls. Turned out to be the plumbing. They did correct this but didn't make up for it in any way. The night of our third evening we ran into further troubles with the plumbing when only scalding hot water would come out. After 3 attempts to get someone to look at it we had a to demand access to another room to be able to shower while they looked into it. Again no attempt to make up for it.

Finally after some severe weather caused our trip to be extended, they actually tried to charge us weekend convention rates despite being higher than the posted rate. We did catch this and they did correct it, but we should have to look for items like this.

The hotel does have a great central location near the Casino and Drago's Restaurant was fantastic.

The hotel staff were mediocre at best and the Manager seems to care less about us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Victoria,

Thank you for reaching out to us via TripAdvisor. Please know that your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, and we apologize for the mismanagement of the situation, and for the frustration you must be facing. We are dedicated to ensuring the satisfaction of each of our guests, and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed your expectations. We hope you will give us another opportunity to impress should you return to our area in the future.

Thank you,

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Hilton New Orleans Riverside is a great hotel with clean rooms and nice amenities! Central location to the French Quarter and the Business and Warehouse Districts. I traveled for business, but will definitely be booking another trip to this hotel in the future for pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Brandon C,

Thank you for taking time to wite a review and provide us with feedback from your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here. We certainly enjoyed having you here and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Have a wonderful summer.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We chose this hotel for my bachelor party mainly for the location with it being a few blocks off Bourbon Street and away from the hustle and bustle of the French Quarter. The 2 bedroom family suite was booked and was a great selection. We had a 17th Floor corner room. All 3 rooms that were connected were great in size and just what we needed. The staff we encountered when there were great and very pleasant. Even the Manager went above and beyond to make sure our stay was a great one. If you are looking for a nice property a few blocks away from the noise of the French Quarter definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Choose a higher room as there are live train tracks next to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rynpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
rynpilot,

Thank you for the great review. I have shared it with the team and eveyone enjoyed having you all here. Have a wonderful summer and we hope to see you all again soon.


Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have been meaning to come on here and write this review, since I had such a nice experience.

My stay occurred about 8 weeks ago for a work conference and it was my first time to New Orleans.

First and foremost, this is a VERY CLEAN hotel. The lobby, the elevators, the rooms, my bed and bathroom, all were spotless. The bed was comfy and had nice white sheets. For the price and brand I was sort of expecting these things, and I'm happy that the quality was delivered well. I see a review here and there with a complaint about cleanliness, but most say it was great, and my experience was definitely a positive one in that area.

The hotel itself is located on the riverside right near the Harrah's Casino and Canal Street. It is also a quick walk to Bourbon Street if you're in the mood to party. Much fun and trouble can be found there. Some of the nearby area is still run down from Hurricane Katrina, including a high rise former hotel right next door. It is still eerily abandoned, but appeared cordoned off as if maybe re-construction might start. The area is rejuvenating but some scars are still fresh enough to be visible.

Inside the hotel, you would never know anything went wrong. The lobby is amazing, featuring a convenience store, bar, fountain, business center, and backed by multiple conference rooms on the lower floors. The local culture is mixed into the decorations and you can feel the New Orleans vibe throughout. The conference rooms are large and there are multiple rooms of multiple sizes.

My room was on a mid-level floor and faced the river. I had a nice view of the barges sailing up and down. The only complaint I have of facing the river was early each morning a train would roll through the tracks at the base of the hotel and blare its horn. This woke me up the first couple of nights and was a little startling, and I had to find some earplugs in town to rescue my sleep for the rest of my trip.

The food was excellent. Our conference was catered and I also relied on room service for a grilled chicken salad late one night. Each meal was very good, but watch it on room service, they add the tip in automatically and you might accidentally double tip!

All in all I was very pleased, and my agency was given a fair rate for the area. The staff was friendly and helpful in every correspondence I had.

Other things of note:
-There was a very nice looking pool, but unfortunately I didn’t have time and it wasn’t as warm yet when I was there.
-Ask for a room opposite any train tracks, you're ears will thank you.
-The bar looked nice, but seemed a little pricy. With Bourbon St nearby, I went out most nights anyways.
-The convenience store is actually up the escalators and through a sky bridge from the lobby. This threw me for a loop at first.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the rail road track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
KevinP,

Thank you for taking time to wite your review. I am happy to share your great comments with the team. It is always good to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their stay. We look forward to welcoming back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Enjoy the summer !

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The staff takes care of you and the hotel was very comfortable, clean, quiet (at night) and has everything you need plus a great location. If you are traveling to NOLA, the Hilton is a great place to stay. I recommend it (other than the slightly stale smoke smell in the room). I really liked how my room was tucked away and didn't have any noise waking me up at night or in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Danya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Danya N,

On behalf of our management team and our staff, we'd like to thank you for your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here and please be assured that your valuable comments will be shared with the team. Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#77 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#69 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Property: Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing