We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Family Get Away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Ranked #77 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Darrow, United States
1 review
“Family Get Away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My family had a relaxing time at this hotel. If you are looking for convenience this is the place to stay. In the Louisiana heat, it was nice to walk from the hotel to the shopping areas and restaurants without having to step foot outside. I will say, this was the best thing for my family because we had small children with us. The pool was, unfortunately full and we could no enjoy it as much as we had hoped, but overall we had a nice time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ladazha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Ladazha F.


Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination and it is good to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear that you all could not enjoy the pools . Hopefully next time the pools will be less crowded. I hope the family did have an opportunity to shop at the new Riverwalk Outlet Mall and enjoy an afternoon at the Aquarium of the Americas. Have a fun and safe July 4th Holiday - see you all soon.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,758
    1,777
    889
    345
    180
See reviews for
735
1,081
173
2,173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel hit the checklist of everything that is important for me. It's clean, staff is friendly, rooms, facility and pool was clean. There were several conferences going on while we were there, so it was very crowded. Even so, the crowds didn't negatively effect our stay. Check-in was quick and efficient, no mistakes on our bill after check-out. Drago's is amazing, of course. Hotel breakfast is expectedly pricey but good. Love that there's a Starbucks near the checkout desk. Trolley stop is right out front, convenient for sight-seerers. Great location and views of the river. Valet guys were all friendly and relatively quick. Our only complaint was that when we got back in our car after checkout, our entire CD case was missing (probably 30 or so CDs). We had it on the drive up, so we knew it'd been stolen while being valeted (we only used the car briefly once and didn't park). All the valet guys were so friendly and seemingly kind, we didn't report it for fear the wrong gentleman would be accused. We shouldn't have left them in the vehicle (it was an oversight) - even so, the theft was unacceptable. Would certainly stay here again, being more vigilant to clear out the vehicle before valet.

Room Tip: Request a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allyy504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riversidemanager, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Allyy504,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your positive feedback and our sincere apologies for the missing items you discovered from your vehicle when it was returned back to you. If this matter has not been resolved by our Valet provider I will be happy to put you in contact with the Parking Manager. My email address is jim.thibodeaux@hilton.com and I will be happy to assist. We hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights based on reviews we read online and we were not disappointed. The hotel is located right on the river with beautiful views. One trolly stop is right outside the hotel and a very short walk to the Canal line stop which gives you three trolly choices. Also very close walking distance to many attractions, not to mention a brand new outlet mall connected by an entrance to the hotel. Harrahs casino is conviently located across the street. There was a problem with our reservation due to an unrelated online site and they did not have our reservation when we got there. They took charge of calling for us and giving us a riverfront room and a free breakfast. The hotel is beautifully decorated, spacious, and has different eating choices available. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only negative that I can note is that there was a problem with our door and it wouldn't close all of the way. Security noticed it too and contacted engineering the first day , but they came to fix it until we were getting ready to check out. Our room was very quiet even being located on the riverwalk but close to the French Quarter when you did want some noise!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Kathy R,

Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination. We enjoyed your visit and it is good to hear that you enjoyed your time here. Our apologies for the door lock issues. I will follow up with Security and Maintenance to see why it was not addressed sooner. We hope you all can find time to come back again in the not too distant future. Have a wonderful July 4 th Holiday !

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We only had one day in New Orleans and we wanted a good Hotel with Self parking so we can get things out of the Car when needed. (parking is not cheap but there are specials. Plan ahead helps)

Staff: Took care of my family and I. Very friendly and went out of their way to ensure we were happy. They knew we traveled far to get there. Even the folks on training did not miss a beat to help us.

Rooms: Very clean and comfy. After driving all day and walking all night those rooms were great. Room for the family and the two beds.

Hotel: Has different buildings and elevators. Ensure you keep track of which building you are at. We saw a few late night folks coming back from Bourbon St who had a little trouble knowing where their room was.

As a Marriott member and my Wife being a Hilton member- (we always compare on our trips) This hotel out did most of the Marriotts I stayed at in the past two years.

Location: Walking distance to Mother's (great place for Lunch), shopping, Bourbon and other streets and to the WWII museum.
- Please note that my family has no problem walking many blocks to get somewhere.
At night it was away from all the activity and felt like a safe walk back to the Hotel.

Wished we could stay for longer. I am glad my wife picked this Hotel and we will be back.

Room Tip: Being a member they waived the WiFi costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaskan_Viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Alaskan_Viking,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review with us on Trip Advisor. It was our pleasure to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I have shared your comments with the team and we all thank you. Hopefully you will have an opportunity to come back to New Orleans and enjoy all that she has to offer and give us another opportunity to welcome you all back once again. Have a wonderful July 4th Holiday !

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

While the service, rooms and facilities are very good Riverside's best feature is its location. You can walk to most downtown locations including Canal St., Bourbon St., the French Quarter, Frenchman St., French Markets, Jackson Square, Aquarium and the Museum. For the shoppers the hotel is adjacent to Riverside Walk.

New Orleans is a wonderful city with lots to do so we did not spend much time in the hotel and the only problem we ever had was finding our room on the first day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GACASydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
GACASydney_AU,


Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination. We certainly enjoyed having you all here and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. I have shared your review with the team and we all say " thank you" !

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My recent stay was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!! Everyone was very helpful and so nice. I appreciate the kindness of the staff and the cleanliness of things. From the moment that I arrived with my baggage, one of the staff assisted me..later, when I was trying to find something, a staff member appeared out of no where and assisted me..JUST VERY HELPFUL!

I do not have any doubt as to where we will stay upon our return to New Orleans. KUDOS to the Hilton New Orleans Riverside TEAM!!!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on the Tower side with a view of the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virtuouswoman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Virstuosowomen40,

Thank you for your very nice review. It is good to hear that our staff assisted in making your stay pleasurable. I have shared your comments with the team and we all say " thank you" for the recognition. Next time you are ready to come back to enjoy New Orleans all over again, let us know and we will be happy to service your hotel needs once again.. Have an enjoyable July 4 th Holiday !

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Indiana
Level Contributor
475 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Hilton is a beautiful hotel in a great location. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Drago's famous seafood restaurant is on property. I believe they were voted best New Orleans seafood restaurant in 2013. I regret that I was not able to eat there. They also have a large lobby bar, Le Croissant breakfast restaurant and River Bends Cafe for light fair (second floor). Of course, dozens of restaurants within easy walking. Like to shop? A huge outlet mall is across the street with all your favorite brands at a nice discount. Gambling to your liking? Harrah's is also right across the street. Obviously, I liked most all about the hotel, so my one negative. Pay for a wifi connection. People already pay a pretty sum to stay at a nice hotel and then are gouged with having to pay $12 plus daily to access wifi from your room. At check-in, I was also informed that the $12 plus per day was per wifi device. In my case, a cell phone, iPad and lap top. More than $36 per night extra?? Of course, the wifi in the lobby area was free for any guests or literally anyone that walked into the hotel and sat down. With so many hotels providing free wifi and now many airports doing the same, I find it shameful that Hilton is among those that feel they need to get that extra payment from their guests.

Room Tip: I prefer a room facing the city as those facing the river can get a view of warehousing and back all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChiefGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
CheifGuru,

Your gracious comments are greatly appreciated and thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. We will certainly take into consideration your suggestion regarding HSIA as we continously look for better ways to serve our guests. We thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.


Have a enjoyable Juy 4th Holiday !

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Property: Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing