We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Ranked #78 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The location is very good. Five minute walk to the French Quarter. The staff was very good as well. My only complaint is the any extras (internet, fitness center etc.) is an add on charge. But over all a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Stephanie K,

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via Trip Advisor. We appreciate your honest input and will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests experience. Have a wonderful end of summer and we hope you will return again in the not too distant future.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,820
    1,815
    910
    354
    189
See reviews for
761
1,113
173
2,243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ROME
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights. The room was a decent size with two queen beds a nightstand, tv stand, desk, and bar cabinet that housed the world's noisiest refrigerator. The closet was tiny but had a safe, an iron, and an ironing board. The bathroom was adequate.

What amazed me was the fact that this place advertised wi-fi. That was a HUGE marketing ploy. What they neglect to tell you is that you have to pay $14/day for the privilege to use their sketchy wi-fi or for the low price of $30, you can use it for 3 days.

Bring your own soda, otherwise, you will pay $3 for a 20oz bottle. There is nothing complimentary except the shampoos and soaps. One oikos yogurt in their coffee shop was $6.50.

Our very first night there, we had zero cold water. It was blistering hot. Same thing with the person next to us. Maintenance came up and said that the problem could be anywhere from four floors up to four floors down and that they had suggested that we be moved. ?!?!

That move never came but, fortunately, the problem was fixed. Then, there was the refrigerator that screamed in protest so loudly that we were forced to unplug it to sleep at night.

One of the elevators went rogue while we were there and threatened to snap people in two if they got caught in the door as it was closing. Some poor woman never made it into the elevator car with her luggage. That suitcase rode up and down with us sans its owner. Never knew if they met up again or if the suitcase was making a break for freedom.

It is very convenient to Harrah's, the Riverwalk, the Riverwalk Outlet Mall, and the cable car lines. But, for overall value, I think I will stay at the casino or maybe the Marriott the next time we are in town. Just not really impressed with the quality for the cost.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Jennifer C,

We appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. We understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. We truly apologize if this was the case and we can assure you that we will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the level of quality that you are accustomed to recieve from us.Your feedback is important to us and we take your comments into consideration.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Riverside in July 2014 and it was great. Our room was on the 26th floor overlooking the Mississippi River. What a view of the river with all the cruise ships, tug boats, etc. We had access to the preferred lounge on the 29th floor where you had views of the Mississippi River on one side and the city of New Orleans on the other side. . Continental breakfast was ok. Horderves were not that great (unless you like alligator bites). Leah was the person that checked us into the hotel. She was great and she sent to our room a bottle of wine and cheese cake for our 49th anniversary.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river or city view which every you prefer. The higher the floor the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Terry B,

Thank you so much for writing your review and making us part of your travel experience. We certainly enjoyed having you here and we look forward to the next opportunity when we can welcome you back once again. Enjoy the balance of the summer season and we will see you soon.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my sister and my teenage daughter for 2 nights. The staff were very friendly upon check in and I felt the food was really good in the restaurant, we ate dinner there one night. The riverside trolley is right outside which takes you down to Cafe Du Monde and the canal street trolley is within walking distance as well which you can take to Bourbon street or if you stay on until the end lots of cool cemetaries. The reason I gave it a 3 was that there just wasn't anything that stood out to me. I think it would be nice if the rooms and doors were maybe a little more soundproof. I was awaken several times by drunk people meandering down the hall. I have stayed in hotels in New Orleans where I never heard the drunk people coming in late at night so I know it is possible to soundproof these rooms a little better. If you like to shop it is connected to a mall. I think parking was about $30 a day with in and out privilege which is about average.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Tamwam,

Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination, The team enjoyed having you here and we all look forward to the next opportunity when we can welcome you back once again. Our apologies for the noise issues, your comments have been shared with our Property Maintenance team. Have a safe and fun summer season.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel appears to have been recently updated as far as decor. Good view of river from 16th floor. Beds and bedding very comfortable. Room clean and decent size. Toilet water pressure vey low, poor flushes. Water temperature sensitive in shower.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank haveanopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
haveanopinion,

Thank you for your very nice review. We appreciate your feedback and our apologies for any water pressure issues that you encountered. Your comments have been shared with our Building Maintenance team. All the best and we look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We booked the Hilton Riverside as part of a convention. It proved to be a superb location with a wonderful view of the river and excellent accommodations. For the most part, we walked to everything. Get a river view if you like watching commerce on the Mississippi. We were fascinated. Another tip--visit the WW II Museum. When one thinks of New Orleans, the advice is usually to sample one of their many famous restaurants. But I ate at Drago's five times while I was there--I just couldn't get past the way they cook their oysters.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
George M,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and I have shared your very nice comments with the Drago's team. Thank you for selecting our hotel as your New Orleans destination and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back once again in the not too distant future.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Straight back from my trip to the horrible Lancaster Host Hotel, the Hilton Riverside is everything I expect in a good hotel
The front desk was efficient and pleasant and my upgraded room was ready when I arrived about 1pm.

The room is exceedingly clean and nicely appointed. Quality flat panel TV, refrigerator, great dual-cup maker and very modern phones. The bathroom is spotless, all the basic security features operate like they should, plenty of outlets where you need them, plus a super view of the river from the 19th floor. Great, cozy beds with high quality sheets and coverings complete this very nice room.
The hotel is a bit large, but it has a few restaurants, a snack shop, and bars. Harrah's casino is directly across the street. I have not been out much yet, but it seems to be very close to shopping, restaurants, and other good destinations. Expect high food, wifi, and parking rates but that comes with the territory when you stay at
better hotels.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Mark B,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback from your recent stay with us. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the hotel. The team enjoyed having you here and I have shared your comments with them. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the not too distant future.

Jim Thibodeaux
Eecutive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#34 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#80 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Central Business District
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Property: Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia and Hotelopia so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing