We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better places to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #26 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grimsby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Much better places to stay”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is pretty bare bones. Yes, if you have an event at the convention center it is nice and close and that part is good. It also has a Starbucks in the lobby which is convenient given the line ups for food at the convention center. The rooms themselves are pretty bare bones and considering what I paid (1600 for 4 nights!) I typically would expect much more. Needless to say for the last 3 nights I transferred over to the Royal Sonesta on Bourbon which was much better value for the money.
If you are planning on coming to New Orleans during a convention make sure you book WAY in advance. Otherwise you will over pay. This is a 2 star hotel plain and simple. It has an ok pool and hot tub and a mediocre gym. Nothing special and what you'd expect to find at a Holiday Inn Express. I wouldn't stay there again unless I was stuck for a place to stay.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else if you can. Terrible value for the dollar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purenergy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Greetings Pureenergy12,

I am sorry to read that our property did not meet your expectations during your recent visit to New Orleans. Because of our location, our rates can be higher during a convention but are always comparable to other hotels near the Convention Center. I am sorry you felt that you overpaid for your stay with us. I am available at 504-598-9898 if you would like to share your concerns with me personally.

Warm Regards,
Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    207
    74
    33
    19
See reviews for
191
127
19
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is great place to stay when visiting New Orleans. Walking distance to everything. Very friendly and helpful people working in the hotel. Rooms were ok, not that a lot of time was spent in the room. Rate were very reasonable. A definate sty for business travel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Mike M-

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our property is in a great location and I am happy to hear that you were able to walk to near by restaurants and attractions.

We look forward to having you back the next time you are visiting New Orleans!

Thank you for sharing,
Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel during Columbus Day weekend. I was travelling with my wife, my daughter and her friend. Originally we were going to get a King room with a pull out sofa and a rollaway bed. Upon checking in, we met Hope at the front desk. I was told the rooms were not big enough to accomodate the roll away and the sofa bed. She was able to put us in a room that had a conference room and a door that closed to the bedroom. It was like a suite and we were able to get the rollaway bed in the room. My hat goes off to Hope for thinking outside the box and having a stay where we were all very comfortable. We did have some issues with the A/C but maintenance came up to fix it very fast.

The only downside to the hotel was that there was no complimentary coffee in the morning. If you wanted coffee, there is a Starbucks on site if you want to buy something.

To all the people that are complaining about parking, yes this hotel does charge for parking, $28 a day with in and out priveledges. This was actually one of the cheaper parking at the hotels in the area. And in the French Quarter, it is a lot more. Since New Orleans is a walking city and you don't really need your car, If you do want to leave your car and not use it, you can find a daily lot on the edge of the business district where they will charge you only $10-15 for 24 hours of parking.

Also by the hotel, there is a large parking deck that is used for parking at the cruise ships. I think it was called Fulton Parking. They only charge $20 a day, but if you stay 3 days, you can have in and out priveledges for free.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartdesserts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Hello Smartdessets Atlanta,

Wow! Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that Hope was able to upgrade your rooms and accomodate you and your family in one of our Hospitality Suites. I am glad you found our hotel convenient and comfortable during your stay in New Orleans. I will share your comment with Hope and personally recoginize her for making your stay great!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Wishes,
Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here for 5 days for a combination business trip and family getaway. Was very close to the convention center and also convenient to a lot of restaurants, trolly and other attractions. Room was comfortable, recently renovated, but the pool was still undergoing construction. Only downside was the breakfast was kinda lame.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the internal courtyard were very quiet. Higher floors have a balcony facing courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel4Fun_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Very close to Convention Center. Friendly stuff. Freshly renovated. Walking distance to Canal Str. and French Quarter. I was impressed how soundproof window is. But vibration still was there from night club sounds across narrow street.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AlexeyAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear AlexeyAV,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear that our staff was friendly and that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms! I will share your comments with my team and we look forward to having your stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This one is brand new, renovated from a ware house, I like the decoration and layouts a lot. Fairly convenient to walk to French Quarter. And it is very close to some good restaurants such as Cochon. I bid it on Priceline for $50 per night and it is money well spent, it may be more expensive if you do not bid. The only thing with us is the the construction smell, but it should be better after a couple months.

Room Tip: Try not to stay on the street side if you sleep light, there is a night club downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YuqingX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed there for a weekend, after having great experiences in other Courtyard Marriotts.

Rooms are average sized, nice and modern looking and seemed clean.

There's a Starbucks coffee at the lobby which was very convenient, with lots of seating and extras like cellphone charging stations and booths. However, there was a strong fishy smell at the lobby.

The first night we slept okay, but the second night around 3 am we all woke up because of LOUD music noise coming from a street party (on a Sunday night) that was set up by one of the clubs next door (S.Pete street). The windows vibrated a lot with the music... it was awful. After several failed attempts to make them control their volume, by calling the concierge and asking them to contact the club about it, and even call the local police (which we found out, didn't care about this kind of things), we got finally moved to a different area of the hotel and we could sleep better for the rest of the night. One of us had to wake up at 4:30 am to catch a plane.

Parking is NOT free. Only valet is available. We got there driving and did't use the car all weekend. We walked everywhere (good location), but had to pay the money we saved on this stay on parking (about $60). If we would have known about this + the noise problem, we would have have probably stayed in the middle of the action.

Service was okay. Staff was friendly. The valet staff though, had to spend a few minutes trying to find the keys of our car, after we checked out. It was a bit scary, but they ended up being in the car and not in the key box... go figure.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms facing St. Pete street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Greetings anonymous282 miami-

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay with us. It is nice to hear you were able to enjoy our newly renovated rooms and the convenience of our Bistro with Starbucks. I am terribly sorry that the noise from an outside restaurant/nightclub negativly effected your stay with us. I understand your frustrations and I am glad we were able to move you away from the noise so you could have better sleep for the remainder of your stay.
If you would like to speak with me directly, I can be reached at 504-598-9898.

Thank you for sharing,
Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#41 of 164 in New Orleans
914 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#21 of 164 in New Orleans
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 300 Julia St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3604
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#66 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing