We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy walk to convention center and streetcar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #25 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

This Marriott suited our needs for this trip to New Orleans....near the Convention Center and easy access to a streetcar. The room provided extras such as microwave, refrigerator, coffee, computer hookup, etc. As suggested in other reviews, we acquired a room overlooking the pool so as to avoid the nightclub street noise. Twice, we had problems with the toilet not flushing properly, but maintenance came quickly. Front desk and other personnel were friendly and accommodating. We ate only one meal there (breakfast) which unfortunately, did not encourage us to eat there again, but there are so many other places to eat in New Orleans that it did not really matter. The streetcar is just a short walk away and very handy. Be sure to buy the $3 ticket for all day travel.... or 40 cent one way fare if you are a senior citizen. Bourbon Street, Harrahs, restaurants....just a short streetcar ride away.We did not rent a car and avoided the daily $28 parking fee. Taxi to airport was only $33. Our main activities were at the convention center which is a short walk. We noticed that there is another Marriott directly across the street from the convention center, which we may want to check out next time. The shops at Riverwalk are closed for remodeling until later in 2014, which was disappointing. Riverwalk is very close, as well as the cruise lines if you are going on a cruise. There is so much to do in New Orleans that you will not really spend a lot of time in the hotel room.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Taihosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

Before I arrived i had a minor issue that was easily corrected by Rene. I arrived and was assisted by Tammy with great professionalism and speed. All personal at this hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. the room was spotless and very comfortable On a world scale of plush would the Courtyard receive a 5 no but I have to give them all the credit for service above the expected.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collin D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Henry,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here in New Orleans.
I am also delighted that our staff was able to accomodate you and go above your expectations.
I will relay this information to Rene, Tammy, and the housekeepers who serviced your room.
Please come back and see us!

Regards,
Collin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The only great thing about this hotel is that if you have booked a cruise on Royal Caribbean and included an overnight in New Orleans, is that you can walk the four or five blocks to the ship. In fact, we could see the ship from the hotel. If you spend the night on the weekend ask for a room on the backside of the hotel, not street side. Because a loud nightclub will keep you awake past 2 am. The hotel is very sympathetic, but beyond free earplugs and a maybe a comped breakfast, they can do nothing else if they are fully booked. The warehouse convention center area is zoned mixed use, but the night club is only open weekends. Staff at hotel is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 808MicheleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Michele C,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to New Orleans. I am pleased to hear you found our hotel very convenient to the cruise terminal and that our staff was friendly and helpful. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and I hope you had a great time on your cruise.
Thank you,
Allison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Great stay here last March for my spring break. Room was great love I had the room with the balcony great view of the exterior of the hotel. Clean room to the fullest. Jacuzzi and pool was great. Privacy was a perfect 10 out of 10. Service was a 9 out of 10 would've been a perfect 10 if the woman at the desk would've showed more attention to us at times. Already planning another trip in April and it's a great chance will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisC4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Greetings ChrisC,
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in March. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Since March, we have gone through a full rooms renovations with Courtyard's new Platinum package. We would love to have you stay with us again during your next visit to New Orleans.
Warm Wishes,
Allison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located a few blocks from the Convention Center and provides a "homey " type environment ( in spite of being a chain hotel) after sharing the day with thousands of conventioneers. Staff were always helpful , friendly and accommodating to all requests. There's a small bistro located in the lobby for breakfast coffee and several great restaurants near by for dinner. Museums and galleries and fabulous shops are just a short walk away. Plus, the French Quarter and streetcar stops are quite conveniently located.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliceann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collin D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear aliceann1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review with such positive feedback. I'm so happy to hear that you were able to feel at home during your stay with us. Also, I love that you were able to take full advantage of our location to experience some of what New Orleans has to offer. Please come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

If your there for the convention center then this is a nice place. But if you are there to see sites or visit the French Quarter then this will be a disappointment. No free parking along with pricey rooms, no trams or buses and a dead activity area made it a lousy place. I guess if you had children and wanted as far away from the French Quarter then this would be a great place.
The rooms were nice and people friendly but the location sucked. Add expensive breakfast prices just not a place I would stay again.

Room Tip: Any room is fine, you are so far away from action you do not have to worry.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Barry t,
I am sorry to hear that you were dissappointed with the location of our hotel during your recent visit to New Orleans. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I truly appreciate your feedback. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and found our staff friendly. I do understand your disappointement if you were expecting to be in or closer to the French Quarter area.
Warm Regards,
Allison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel is close to the convention center, which was very important for me. The first night, we could not sleep since our room was facing a street with a disco. Even with ear plugs and a pillow over my head the noise did not stop till 3am! The next day we moved to a different room, which was quiet. The lobby has a Starbucks, which is nice, but also a frying smell which is there 24 hrs a day - not nice. I did stay in other Courtyards before - but this one is not among my favorites.

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing the street with the disco!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 72Dragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#34 of 166 in New Orleans
954 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 300 Julia St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3604
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#66 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £78 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a contemporary retreat within a renovated warehouse, Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center blends a historic setting with modern comforts. With our downtown location, it's easy to access top attractions including Morial Convention Center, Harrah's Casino, Bourbon Street and Mercedes-Benz Superdome, home to New Orleans' professional football team. When it's time to unwind, our stylish hotel rooms boast designer touches, plush bedding and free Wi-Fi for constant connection to family and friends. Offering a bright start to mornings in New Orleans, our hotel features The Bistro with breakfast options and Starbucks® coffee. In the evenings, we serve dinner with cocktails in a casual atmosphere, great for unwinding with friends or colleagues. During downtime, opt for a dip in our outdoor or enjoy an intense workout in our gym, equipped with cardio machines and free weights. Start your adventure at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing