We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Little diamond in..."” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #13 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Little diamond in..."”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is the perfect hotel, if you are in New Orleans for business with some extra time to relax and enjoy the town. The location is perfect, the staff is very helpful and really goes the extra mile to ensure you have an enjoyable time. Rooms are beautiful, comfortable with a good lay out and amenities . On a personal note, "I liked the decor, tasteful and yet simple"

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    186
    63
    30
    17
See reviews for
168
116
12
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

This was the perfect hotel for us to stay at before our cruise. From the front door, you can actually see the cruise ship area. We walked a couple of short blocks to the ship. Hotel was very clean with recent renovations. The beds were so.....comfy! The staff was pleasant and willing to go the extra mile to assist. Special thanks to Allison and Alicia. Had a nice breakfast in the café, located just off the lobby area. There is also a business centre with computers and free internet service. Nice courtyard with a pool. Many good restaurants are located within walking distance of the hotel. We very much enjoyed dinner at Emeril’s. Will stay here again next time we cruise out of New Orleans.

Room Tip: courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayberry1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

This Marriott suited our needs for this trip to New Orleans....near the Convention Center and easy access to a streetcar. The room provided extras such as microwave, refrigerator, coffee, computer hookup, etc. As suggested in other reviews, we acquired a room overlooking the pool so as to avoid the nightclub street noise. Twice, we had problems with the toilet not flushing properly, but maintenance came quickly. Front desk and other personnel were friendly and accommodating. We ate only one meal there (breakfast) which unfortunately, did not encourage us to eat there again, but there are so many other places to eat in New Orleans that it did not really matter. The streetcar is just a short walk away and very handy. Be sure to buy the $3 ticket for all day travel.... or 40 cent one way fare if you are a senior citizen. Bourbon Street, Harrahs, restaurants....just a short streetcar ride away.We did not rent a car and avoided the daily $28 parking fee. Taxi to airport was only $33. Our main activities were at the convention center which is a short walk. We noticed that there is another Marriott directly across the street from the convention center, which we may want to check out next time. The shops at Riverwalk are closed for remodeling until later in 2014, which was disappointing. Riverwalk is very close, as well as the cruise lines if you are going on a cruise. There is so much to do in New Orleans that you will not really spend a lot of time in the hotel room.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Taihosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Before I arrived i had a minor issue that was easily corrected by Rene. I arrived and was assisted by Tammy with great professionalism and speed. All personal at this hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. the room was spotless and very comfortable On a world scale of plush would the Courtyard receive a 5 no but I have to give them all the credit for service above the expected.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collin D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Henry,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here in New Orleans.
I am also delighted that our staff was able to accomodate you and go above your expectations.
I will relay this information to Rene, Tammy, and the housekeepers who serviced your room.
Please come back and see us!

Regards,
Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The only great thing about this hotel is that if you have booked a cruise on Royal Caribbean and included an overnight in New Orleans, is that you can walk the four or five blocks to the ship. In fact, we could see the ship from the hotel. If you spend the night on the weekend ask for a room on the backside of the hotel, not street side. Because a loud nightclub will keep you awake past 2 am. The hotel is very sympathetic, but beyond free earplugs and a maybe a comped breakfast, they can do nothing else if they are fully booked. The warehouse convention center area is zoned mixed use, but the night club is only open weekends. Staff at hotel is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Michele C,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to New Orleans. I am pleased to hear you found our hotel very convenient to the cruise terminal and that our staff was friendly and helpful. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and I hope you had a great time on your cruise.
Thank you,
Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Great stay here last March for my spring break. Room was great love I had the room with the balcony great view of the exterior of the hotel. Clean room to the fullest. Jacuzzi and pool was great. Privacy was a perfect 10 out of 10. Service was a 9 out of 10 would've been a perfect 10 if the woman at the desk would've showed more attention to us at times. Already planning another trip in April and it's a great chance will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisC4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Greetings ChrisC,
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in March. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Since March, we have gone through a full rooms renovations with Courtyard's new Platinum package. We would love to have you stay with us again during your next visit to New Orleans.
Warm Wishes,
Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, mass.
Level Contributor
202 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located a few blocks from the Convention Center and provides a "homey " type environment ( in spite of being a chain hotel) after sharing the day with thousands of conventioneers. Staff were always helpful , friendly and accommodating to all requests. There's a small bistro located in the lobby for breakfast coffee and several great restaurants near by for dinner. Museums and galleries and fabulous shops are just a short walk away. Plus, the French Quarter and streetcar stops are quite conveniently located.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliceann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collin D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear aliceann1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review with such positive feedback. I'm so happy to hear that you were able to feel at home during your stay with us. Also, I love that you were able to take full advantage of our location to experience some of what New Orleans has to offer. Please come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#32 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 300 Julia St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3604
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#66 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing