We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, Reserve Early if you're a Tulane or Loyola Parent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #27 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very Nice, Reserve Early if you're a Tulane or Loyola Parent”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

One of the best choices for Tulane (across the street) but you need to reserve early as it is in high demand. All very nice, very quiet and very convenient. It doesn't have all the hotel amenities but it has everything else.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrightdda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    26
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
68
47
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Mississippi, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We spent three nights here and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! It is in a great location, right next to Audubon Park, and a block away from Drew Brees' house. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and very nicely decorated. If you're looking for a unique place to stay with the 'New Orleans feel' I would definitely recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

If you want to feel the old fashioned southern vibe without the crowds and noise of the French Quarter, this is your place. The B&B is right next to both the trolley line and the park. The staff was very friendly and they put out wine in the evenings. The breakfast was ok, nothing fancy but certainly nothing to complain about. Room quality was excellent and I'd recommend this place for anyone vacationing in "real New Orleans"

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ry0ohki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

My husband and I have stayed here on several occasions and we consistently have a good experience. We have always wanted a balcony room and on this stay we had room 19 on the 3rd floor which has a beautiful balcony overlooking St. Charles. This room is very large with a comfortable king size bed. The bath features a jacuzzi tub with a great shower with a unique "rain" style shower head. We enjoyed the breakfast. One morning featured a good breakfast casserole and the next day there was the traditional eggs and bacon. There are different sweet rolls, toast, and cereal offered as well. If you want to stay in the Garden district, this B&B cannot be beaten. We have already reserved 2 more stays.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chhtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metairie, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

This hotel is amazing! As soon as we walked through the door it was love at first sight! Just the scenery and all the antiques and old structure of the house gives that New Orleans feeling/experience! Not to mention, the staff is so nice and extremely helpful, they really do it all. Now, I didnt see them all but the three rooms that we had were all different and original and antique, and might I add the cleanliness...Great housekeepers!!! The breakfast is great! and included with your room. Not just a continental breakfast either they have everything you can imagine and more. I would recommend anyone taking a trip to New Orleans stay at the Park View Guest House! WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK!!!

Room Tip: There is no way to pick one that is better than the other, they are all original and all beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mayasmama08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Our family gathered here for a long weekend in May for a memorial service from my father-in-law. Park View graciously accommodated all 17 of us, ranging in age from 6 to 86. Each room was thoughtfully - and comfortably -decorated with antiques. The staff was unfailingly pleasant, the breakfasts and afternoon wine exceeded expectations, and somehow it felt absolutely appropriate that Liz, one of the owners, hugged us goodbye. We all agreed we would come back again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask desk staff. 3rd floor is a climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My daughter and I stayed here in February while visiting Tulane. The location is great for Tulane (right across the street), and right on the St. Charles street car line. It was a pleasant ride by streetcar down to the french quarter, galleries, and Magazine Street shopping. This inn has been beautifully and tastefully restored. Walking in the front door and seeing the beautifully furnished sitting areas was like stepping into the past . Our room was large and airy and beautifully furnished. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was updated. Every afternoon, complimentary wine and a homemade baked good was put out in the dinning room and it was nice to sit out on the spacious front porch to recharge before going out at night. The staff at the front desk were always friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newenglandartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 164 in New Orleans
335 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown / Carrollton
Audubon Park House Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#21 of 140 in New Orleans
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House

Property: Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House
Address: 7004 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70118-3540
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Uptown / Carrollton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House is one of the oldest inns in our city, dating to 1884. We have 22 beautiful guest rooms decorated in a traditional New Orleans style. Many have antique tester beds (with new mattresses of course) and period furnishings. Every room has its own modern and well appointed bath. All rooms have flat screen TVs and daily maid service. A delicious complimentary breakfast is served daily in the Audubon Dining Room overlooking the famous Audubon Park on Saint Charles Avenue. Owned and operated by tenth generation locals, the Park View is the place to stay if you want a true New Orleans experience! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Park View Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing