We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Love Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #33 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Love Love Love this place”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. It seems each time we stay it is nicer and we find it more home to us. The staff is ready to help with all of your needs and yet they are not intruding on your privacy. We stayed in the 3rd floor room with the private balcolny this time and it was fabulous. We visit NOLA every fall for a week to visit family. We cannot stay at their home because they have pets that my husband is allergic to so this place offers comfort of home and welcomes our family at breakfast at no extra charge. There are many rooms we can just hang out in and catch up and visit, as well as the front porch to watch the people and street cars. There are always snacks out (cookies, fresh fruit, cake, popcorn, lemonade, wine, tea, coffee, brandy). We have made the mistake of staying in another B&B and will not make that mistake again. Book ahead as the location and hospitality is such that they fill up. This is on the street car line and across the side street from Audubon Park...across from Tulane and Loyola also.

Room Tip: No pool (accidently checked that) so it is not terrible...they just do not have one :-) we love th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    25
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
61
45
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This is the kind of place that you hope you will find. Charming, convenient, comfortable beds, lovely sitting areas, excellent breakfast. When my husband had a problem that limited his ability to climb stairs, the staff went way beyond their job description to make our stay comfortable. We have stayed here several times while visiting family, but it would be a great option for tourists as well. This gives you a sense of a real New Orleans neighborhood, while giving you access to all the tourist amenities.

Room Tip: The room above the front porch has a balcony that lets you enjoy the scene on St. Charles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed staying in this lovely, historic hotel during the week before Christmas. The staff are very kind and helpful, the rooms and baths are beautifully furnished and the location is fantastic. We stayed on the 3rd floor and had a private balcony overlooking St. Charles Avenue and the streetcar. The hotel is located on Audubon Park and almost directly opposite Tulane and Loyola Universities. The location is great for nearby shopping, dining and recreation at the park (including the fabulous Zoo). Breakfast in the beautiful dining room was more than adequate, and I particularly enjoyed the fabulous one-cup coffee makers on each floor. The hospitality is great and the facility is updated beautifully. I am already looking for an excuse to return. One caveat - there is no elevator but they are quite helpful with luggage.

Room Tip: We stayed facing St. Charles Avenue and didn't have any problem with noise. Others may want a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HillaryReid87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We have stayed at the Park View Guest House three times and have had rooms on all three floors. At first glance, one would think Park View would be formal and perhaps ostentatious. Nothing could be furher from the truth. While the surroundings are period pieces that look formal, the atomosphere is relaxed and very casual. There is no need to eat breakfast out. April, the chef, serves amazing breakfasts buffet style and has shared her recipes with us. The staff is helpful, friendly, and each room is unique while being consistently beautiful and relaxing. The location is ideal, especially if you enjoy walking and birdwatching; it is across the street from the very beautiful Audubon Park.

Room Tip: There is a steep staircase to the third floor which may be difficult for some people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grotho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

DD 17 and DH visited last week to visit Tulane. Our daughter said she would love to live here! "Super hecka classy with everything you could need or want." Their room was beautiful, the location is great and the people are wonderful! The streetcar runs right down Saint Charles and there are a number of great restaurants nearby. I can't believe the negative review; the place they describe is not the same place my husband and daughter stayed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myzapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This is a wonderful, convenient, clean, beautiful bed and breakfast. Outstanding staff and breakfast was wonderful. You really don't need a car if staying at the Park View, the streetcar stops right in front. The large southern front porch is extraordinary for people watching and just soaking all the sights in. If you are not the Bourbon Street party crowd and want a convenient (30 minutes by streetcar or 10 minutes by car to Bourbon Street) place to stay that is quiet and classy, book the Park View for pure Southern charm and a trip you won't soon forget!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terilindberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I am not sure where the previous reviewer stayed but it does not sound anything like the Parkview that we know. The staff could not be more helpful. The proprietors are at the hotel often and are very helpful and engaging. The antiques in the rooms have never appeared to be in bad condition, quite the opposite, and the bedding always clean and welcoming. We have stayed in several of the rooms and had the opportunity to view many others. We have traveled extensively and usually stay at high-end properties. We love the the Parkview because it has the amenities that we expect but with a very friendly and warm atmosphere. The breakfast and evening wine and cookies are a nice touch. Waking up to one of the most beautiful parks in the world is an added treat. It is a wonderful way to truly experience New Orleans!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KK s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown / Carrollton
Audubon Park House Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#18 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House

Property: Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House
Address: 7004 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70118-3540
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Uptown / Carrollton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House is one of the oldest inns in our city, dating to 1884. We have 22 beautiful guest rooms decorated in a traditional New Orleans style. Many have antique tester beds (with new mattresses of course) and period furnishings. Every room has its own modern and well appointed bath. All rooms have flat screen TVs and daily maid service. A delicious complimentary breakfast is served daily in the Audubon Dining Room overlooking the famous Audubon Park on Saint Charles Avenue. Owned and operated by tenth generation locals, the Park View is the place to stay if you want a true New Orleans experience! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Park View Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing