We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for Everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #20 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Our extended family and friends gathered at Park View Guest House in October, 2013 for my daughter's wedding at Audubon Zoo. The diversity of our mob offered quite a challenge to an inn. We brought babies, children, one teenager, several revelers, several silence lovers, outdoorsmen, a gourmet club, our disabled grandma, wedding paraphernalia, some food allergies and two people who weren't feeling well.

The Park View Guest House made everyone happy! The location is ideal. The furnishings and amenities are spectacular. The staff is sooooo nice. Various groups of us gathered in the dining room and on the wonderful outside porch that faces St. Charles Avenue to visit. When we wanted privacy, we escaped to the beautifully furnished rooms and balconies that overlook Audubon Park. The staff offered advice and historical information about New Orleans. The Audubon Park right next door is like a big, big backyard. (The zoo wedding, by the way, was great too.)

The Park View Guest House doesn't necessarily want to gain fame as a wedding party hotel. I'm just saying-- It must be good, if it could wow everyone in our diverse group.

Room Tip: A first floor room was perfect for our disabled grandma. She loved the convenience and elegance of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Park View Guest House far exceeded my expectations for a most comfortable 4 day stay. The beauty of the location on historic St. Charles Street offered a relaxing and peaceful setting, overlooking the Audubon Park. From the moment our party arrived, we felt immediately welcomed with the grand entrance and kind staff. The proprietor, Liz, was onsite most of our stay and she was an amazing woman of hospitality. The beds were amazingly comfortable and I slept like a baby every night I was there! One of the highlights of the stay was the delicious breakfasts! From a very special Almond Croissant Casserole, Shrimp and Grits to Eggs Benedict on Sunday, the breakfasts were homemade crazy good!! I would book this "inn" again and hope to be back within the year. Overall, my stay in New Orleans was great fun and the Park View Guest House made the trip extra special!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronelle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Park View Guest House is a wonderful place and I hope to return soon. The Park View is beautifully decorated with antiques, including an interesting collection of antique clocks. My second floor room had a fabulous view of Audubon Park, an updated bathroom, a flat screen TV, and lovely linens and furnishings. The breakfast was delicious and definitely exceeded expectations. In the afternoon and evening there were complimentary snacks, wine, and soft drinks available. The staff was very accommodating and made fantastic recommendations for meals and activities. I loved the location as it is in a beautiful area of town, just steps away from Audubon Park, Tulane and Loyola. The Park View is the epitome of New Orleans charm and hospitality!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just spent a 4 day weekend in New Orleans at the Park View Guest House located in the picturesque setting of St. Charles Ave at Audubon Park. My group occupied 4 rooms which were all lovely. My room, Suite #10, had a charming 4 poster bed with beautiful armoire, updated bath an adjacent sitting area, and lovely views of the oak tree canopied St. Charles Ave. Breakfast was amazing all 3 mornings and the hotel staff was most accommodating. A great way to spend the weekend in the charming residential area near Tulane and Loyola but you are short walk to Audubon Zoo and only a cab or streetcar ride away from the French Quarter, Harrah's and Canal Place shopping. We had a wonderful trip and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The two suites on the 2nd floor both have access to an upstairs balcony overlooking St. Charles Ave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just returned from a perfect weekend In New Orleans with friends. Staying at Park View is almost like staying in a friend's beautiful home in the Garden District. The staff is friendly and warm and really go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and have everything you need. The house itself is on St. Charles Avenue next to Audubon Park and across the street from Tulane, and it is filled with beautiful antiques. My room on the second floor had tall ceilings, a balcony and a renovated bathroom. My room had its own heat and air unit to control the temperature, was very clean and well-kept and had a comfortable bed with nice linens. A delicious breakfast is served each morning in the dining room overlooking the park, and we enjoyed sitting on the porch with our coffee. I really loved the Park View's location with easy access to uptown shopping and restaurants and only a short car or trolley ride away from the French Quarter. It's a perfect location to enjoy the park and walking the Garden District neighborhoods. I can hardly wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catawbacrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very friendly and overflowing with hospitality. Wonderful breakfast in the morning and nice snacks and drinks provided at night. Located next to Audubon Park, right next to street car line and a short walk to Audubon Zoo. Pleasant and quiet, except the floors and beds do "squeak" at times. If you have a reason to be visiting New Orleans, then you have a reason to try this hotel - it will be money and time well spent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABQfamilyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The guest house is beautiful !! The rooms are decorated beautifully. I would defiantly stay there again. We enjoyed having coffee on the decorated front porch. The breakfast was wonderful and they put out fresh cookies at nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank needavaca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#83 of 166 in New Orleans
2,937 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
775 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#14 of 141 in New Orleans
364 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#19 of 141 in New Orleans
143 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House

Address: 7004 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70118-3540
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Uptown / Carrollton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £73 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House is one of the oldest inns in our city, dating to 1884. We have 22 beautiful guest rooms decorated in a traditional New Orleans style. Many have antique tester beds (with new mattresses of course) and period furnishings. Every room has its own modern and well appointed bath. All rooms have flat screen TVs and daily maid service. A delicious complimentary breakfast is served daily in the Audubon Dining Room overlooking the famous Audubon Park on Saint Charles Avenue. Owned and operated by tenth generation locals, the Park View is the place to stay if you want a true New Orleans experience! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Park View Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing