We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Sweet Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #33 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Home Sweet Home”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We visit New Orleans twice a year to see family. We are unable to stay with them at their house because they have pets my husband is allergic to. Having said that...this is the next best thing. It feels like home...nice clean rooms, delicious breakfast, snacks available throughout the day (warm cookies, wine, beer, lemonade, popcorn, candy, tea, hot chocolate). The staff is friendly and helpful. There are lots of sitting areas to visit with our family and watch the world go by ...my favorite is the nice porch where we can watch the street car come and go, and the people come and go from Audubon park ...which is located across the side street. We love to walk around this area...beautiful homes...two colleges ...so many reasons to love this place.

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing stairs ask for room on main floor as second and third floors are a stee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    25
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
61
45
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Franklin (Nashville), TN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were a group of six with varied interests who wanted a place to gather at the beginning and end of the day. The Park View was perfect for us, we felt at home away from home. We particularly enjoyed breakfasts in the morning and the house wine in the evening on the veranda. And, speaking of breakfast, the owner has a caterer serve a delightful full breakfast rather than setting out sweet rolls and cold cereal. I understand that codes do not allow B&B's in this area to cook on site, but the owner did not use this as an excuse to serve an inferior meal - the caterer was very good! The staff was eager and attentive, yet not at all in the way. The rooms are very tasteful and comfortable with antiques and/or reproductions and quality mattresses. We particularly loved the location - away from the noise of the Quarter and right on Audubon Park. The Park was particularly wonderful for the runners and power walkers in the group. The one downside for our stay was the street construction further down St. Charles Ave. that interrupted the streetcar line service. But that was a temporary inconvenience that could not be helped. We highly recommend the Park View and will definitely book it when we return to NOLA!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Park with a private balcony, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaines N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin tx
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This large and very tastefully appointed B&B was an excellent location for visiting our grandson at Tulane. Our third story room was excellent. It had a very comfortable bed and a modern Jacuzzi tub in a large bathroom. The entire property was very clean and well furnished. The breakfast was extraordinary , tasteful and filling. The young man on duty at the desk, a student at Loyola University, was extremely helpful, assisting us with our luggage and advising us on parking. Since the hotel is immediately adjacent to Audubon Park, there was plenty of curbside parking as well as a great venue for exercise. A fringe benefit is that the St Charles street car stops right near the house with scenic connection to Canal Street.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank commodoreaustintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
191 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I had a very good experience here. The facility is quite large, more so than your average B/B. Services are minimal but reception was polite and helpful. The facilities are attractive and the breakfast quite tasty. A good location for visits to Tulane or Loyola or the zoo, but a long haul to downtown, particularly when repairs are being made to the St. Charles line, as was the case during my stay. Note: I could not get an Internet signal in my room and needed to sit in the hall. I suspect this is true of other rooms as well.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitor_from_Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My family and I just had a wonderful 3 night stay there. I had been there post-Katrina and was underwhelmed at the time, but it has since undergone a renovation with new owner. It is now one of the best B&Bs I have ever stayed in with a fantastic location (park, trolley, Tulane/Loyola), beautiful period decor, great staff, and an amazing breakfast!!! It was tough leaving!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We met our daughter and her husband here last week for a delightful 5-night stay in NOLA, as New Orleans is now called. The Park View is well located, right next to the wonderful Audubon Park. The St. Charles streetcar runs out front, so you can do without a car. The old hotel, where we had stayed a couple of times years ago, is under new management, and has been upgraded from "fading lady" status to "belle of the ball." Of course it is much more expensive now. Our room was really gorgeous (though a bit noisy), the breakfast was very good, the coffee was excellent, the afternoon wine and cookies were a delightful surprise. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onecatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My wife and I have visited New Orleans many times, and have stayed in deluxe hotels, bargain hotels, and with friends. This year, for Carnival, we chose the Park View; and we could not have been more pleased! Our room featured poster beds and a view of Audubon Park. The breakfast menu offered a variety of choices; staff were unobtrusive, but eager provide advice and assistance. Two parlors or sitting rooms were decorated in classic "Southern Victorian" and offered space for reading or visiting. The view from the porch of the rumbling streetcars, walkers, runners, and bicyclists was varied and fascinating. We traveled to and from the prime parade viewing location at Napoleon Avenue by streetcar. (I could go on and on!)

New Orleans during Carnival can be noisy, and that took some getting used to,even in rooms towards the rear of the building; but the Guest House itself is subdued. Returning in the late evening was like coming back to our house on St. Charles Avenue, a prestigious address indeed!

Room Tip: A room in the rear is quieter; and there is no elevator, so the 3d floor can be a bit challenging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BozoTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown / Carrollton
Audubon Park House Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#19 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House

Property: Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House
Address: 7004 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70118-3540
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Uptown / Carrollton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House is one of the oldest inns in our city, dating to 1884. We have 22 beautiful guest rooms decorated in a traditional New Orleans style. Many have antique tester beds (with new mattresses of course) and period furnishings. Every room has its own modern and well appointed bath. All rooms have flat screen TVs and daily maid service. A delicious complimentary breakfast is served daily in the Audubon Dining Room overlooking the famous Audubon Park on Saint Charles Avenue. Owned and operated by tenth generation locals, the Park View is the place to stay if you want a true New Orleans experience! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Park View Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing