We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Decent Place to Stay in Downtown New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown
Ranked #91 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Just stayed here for a couple of nights for a wedding. We were given a special room rate of $159/night. Apparently, the rooms go for around $200 plus, normally. Location is great. About a block from Canal on Camp St. The lobby is nice and spacious. They have the usual free breakfast offerred at La Quintas. But, you need to get there early to get the popular items like bananas and eggs. The other reviews mention this, too. But, it's New Orleans, and you really should venture into the Quarter at least once for a good breakfast. The rooms are decent, updated, and fairly modern. Some king rooms are larger than others. The staff was friendly and even accomodated our early check in. The only downside to this hotel, and probably is like this with most of the cheaper downtown hotels, is the potential for loud and drunk guests. There was a large group of highschool or young college students staying on our floor who felt the need to party and/or argue near the elevators and in the hallway both nights. But, a call to the front desk handled it quickly. All in all a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottpajason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

I went down there with my friend to check out bourbon street and really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It was a few blocks away from bourbon street which was great because it was quiet but also within walking distance of all the fun. If your a girl the walk can get a bit sketchy on the way back to the hotel so I wouldn't go it alone. I think this hotel is very clean and provides great value. The gym and pool are average but we used them. The continental breakfast was standard and the laundry facility was just what we needed. I thought the overall experience was great and I travel a lot.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We arrived late to check in (as we informed them) and they only had one room available not two. After suffering the indignity of having to squeeze into one room, the next morning they found that there was in fact another room booked after all. The guy the previous evening simply didn't know how to check us in, even though it was fully paid for and he had the Hotels.com paperwork I gave him. He also swiped my Travel Card which caused the full amount of $750 to be withheld even though I had prepaid in full! We didn't have enough money to do any tours! This really impacted our holiday. Even transferring extra money took 3 days so our trip was wasted. It took a good 3 weeks for the hold to be lifted! I have sent an email to La Quinta but have not heard a response. All I request is a small refund for the first night's inconvenience due to lack of second room even though I had prepaid. I thought that there would be great service because these La Quintas are everywhere and a large company.
The room itself was nice, but there was an interconnecting door and I could here everything the people next door said when they were in the bathroom. The actual hotel is nice and in a great position near the French Quarter and the riverside. Breakfast was great but it was hard to find a table. I wish they trained their staff a little better and focused on customer service and responded to email complaints.

Room Tip: Call day before to confirm room/s. I had booked thru Hotels.com and they sent me an email saying th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachHSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Absolutely wonderful location--few blocks walk to everything and safe and quiet at the same time.
Friendly staff, impeccable cleanness and very reasonable breakfast.
I would definitely stay there again and wold recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: knowing that somebody complainrd about noise from the street I have mentioned that when I checked in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is a pet friendly hotel, which is why we went there. Our family of 4, plus a dog arrived with no reservation and got 2 rooms no problem. Our suites were 2 Queen beds in each room on the 9th floor, clean, excellent breakfast 6-9am! The hotel is located close enough to walk to the excitement of Bourben Street! We had issues with electrical in our room & the tv remote did not work! Parking is Valet $26 day, get your vehicle as many times a day as you like! There is a tiny pool on the 5th floor, outside. For the dog, there are tiny little 3 hedge mulch gardens across the street to pee but there is a lovely old park 2 blocks away, LaFayette Square, that was hard for our old fellow, since he's 11 and tried to hold it until we got there!! good boy! Once there, there is a drinking fountain for both pets & humans! I would stay here again as the staff was wonderful!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WANDERLUSTinME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Snohomish, Washington, USA
12
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Location was good. Was not overly impressed with staff. They were helpful with directions to places in the city and pleasant. When we asked for blankets for the pull out couch, we were told they were out. Who can sleep without a blanket? The breakfast was hectic. Not enough seating and they didn't seem to restock things they were out of, so if you got there late, you were out of luck.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

An easy walk (just a few blocks) to the French Quarter. Good continental breakfast. Our room was clean and special requests (extra pillows) were handled quickly. Pool is VERY small. Over all - a good deal!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msalga2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#86 of 166 in New Orleans
920 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Best Western Plus St. Christophe...
#119 of 166 in New Orleans
39 reviews
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#104 of 166 in New Orleans
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Address: 301 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2803 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £88 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful 15 story LaQuinta Inn and Suites is located just a few blocks from the French Quarter in the heart of New Orleans CBD. We offer valet parking at a charge of $35 per day, plus tax. Enhanced continental breakfast is provided daily and is complimentary - breakfast hours are 6 am - 9 am weekdays and 7 am - 10 am on weekends. Free wifi and a caring, knowledgeable staff await the opportunity to make your stay at LaQuinta Inn and Suites Downtown New Orleans flawless!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites New Orleans French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
La Quinta New Orleans
New Orleans La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing