We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is great for the price due to decor, location, etc...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown
Ranked #88 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 5 August 2009

I stayed here with my two (almost adult) children. I thought the location of the hotel was perfect for what I wanted we wanted to do. It was a 10 to 15 minute walk to most of the activities and restaurants we went to. Julia Street (art museums) was a 10 minute walk in one direction, and the French Quarter was a 15 minute walk in the other direction. The "continental" breakfast was perfect fpr us. We were able to load up on waffles, fruit, oatmeal, muffins, and cereal in the mornings, so we only needed a light lunch which saved us money. This hotel will also let you have large dogs in the room....saw a few german sheppards which (if I had known ahead of time) would have saved me 70 dollars boarding costs. There were ants in the bathroom. We called the front desk, and they said they'd send maintenance, but they never did. But that was a small annoyance...not a big problem. The double beds are not full size doubles. That would be a problem if you had two large people sharing a bed, but was fine for us.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetSam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,189 - 1,195 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2009

This hotel is located near the French Quarter and is within walking distance of many attractions. It is nicely renovated in an older building, giving it a unique New Orleans feel. The room prices are reasonable and breakfast is just as I expected. Southern hospitality is still commonplace here and people were quite friendly. The walls are a bit thin, due to the older building, but it was still a quite nice stay. They offer valet parking for a reasonable fee, but it is worth it, not to have to find parking downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelliD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Had a great stay at this hotel. Attended a conference 2 blocks away and the walk was great. The staff was helpful and even upgraded our room. The room looked just like the pictures online. The only drawback was that the pool was closed for renovation and you had to deal with water pressure issues, but it was nothing that you couldn't live with. It was a great stay for the price and I had no complaints. This is also a great location to visit Bourbon St. and Harrah's, it’s only a short walking distance. We drove to NOLA, but never used the car until we checked out to go home. We will be back really soon.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasStar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

I was hesitant given the name brand, but this hotel was terrific and a great bargain. Location is minutes walk from Canal St and Bourbon St/French Qtr. An easy walk. Hotel I think has undergone extensive renovations recently - everything freshly painted. Rooms spacious, clean with New Orleans flair. Price was one-third of the Marriott a few blocks away for the same night. Terrific bargain.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MITravel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

First off, I confess that the service was poor enough that we didn't even stay in this hotel: when we tried to book a reservation online at the hotel website (cheaper than hotels.com) the security certificate was denied. We didn't want to compromise our credit card information so this option was out. We tried calling the hotel and the lowest rate quote we got was $25 more than the online quote and the staff was unwilling to work with us. This struck us as an ominous sign of things to come so we made arrangements to stay elsewhere. However, since this situation seemed ridiculous (don't these people WANT business??) it seemed a valid comment to post.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LISRELite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Not your typical La Quinta. High rise just feet from Canal St. and the French Quarter. Great value.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stopg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

Stayed here while my spouse was on convention at the Crown Astor. The La Quinta hotel is extremelly well located; within walking distance to Burbon Street, the river front and of course Canal Street and half the cost of the Crown Astor!

The rooms were spacious and breakfast had variety. Best of all it was reasonably priced at less than $80 per night! Service was fine but we didn't run into any real trouble to test them. I don't normally chose this brand of hotel but this one will make me consider the brand in the future for quality and value. There was supposed to be a bar/resturant in the lobby but during our stay it was never open, of course there are plenty of bars to choose from!! It's New Orleans!! :-)

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank newbutterfly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#105 of 166 in New Orleans
168 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#86 of 166 in New Orleans
915 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#71 of 166 in New Orleans
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Address: 301 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2803 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £71 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful 15 story LaQuinta Inn and Suites is located just a few blocks from the French Quarter in the heart of New Orleans CBD. We offer valet parking at a charge of $35 per day, plus tax. Enhanced continental breakfast is provided daily and is complimentary - breakfast hours are 6 am - 9 am weekdays and 7 am - 10 am on weekends. Free wifi and a caring, knowledgeable staff await the opportunity to make your stay at LaQuinta Inn and Suites Downtown New Orleans flawless!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites New Orleans French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
La Quinta New Orleans
New Orleans La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing