We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Ranked #49 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Very nice, clean, modern room. Has mini fridge which is a big plus. Also need key card access to reach guest rooms via elevator, which makes you feel extra secure. Very comfortable beds. Walking distance to French quarter without all the noise. Highly recommend!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank lovepv74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
I am so excited to hear your wonderful comments about our hotel! Making our guests feel comfortable and secure is a top priority for our team, and we are so happy that you felt that way. We find that the mini fridges are very helpful, especially in a city like New Orleans, where we often want to bring home left overs to enjoy later. I will be sharing your comments with the rest of our team, who will be very happy to hear about your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Big Easy! I hope you have a wonderful New Years!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    360
    108
    32
    20
See reviews for
277
187
35
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a nice hotel. It is well maintained and the Hotel employees are very welcoming and nice. The lady who checked us in the evening of the 22nd was good. Ms. Brooklyn who was there ever morning was very nice too. She warned us of the cold weather and wind chill before we stepped out of the hotel - we are glad we listened to her advice. The rooms were nice and clean, the beds were good. They are also close to the street cars. Parking is close by - the rate varies.

The room picture shown on websites was misleading. I think only a few double rooms are that big. At least mine was not. The picture shows a Sofa bed in a wide spacious area. Our room had a sofa squished into a tiny area.

The breakfast area is too small for the number of guests they can accomodate. While the options are great, one day they ran out of plates and the next day they ran out of silver ware. They need to plan better based on the number of guests they have.

Wifi was a bit slow at times.

Anyways, still a place I would consider staying when I visit New Orleans next. I am sure they would have fixed these irritants by then.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giriarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
We are very appreciative of your comments from your recent stay with us. We try our very best to make our guests as comfortable as possible during their stay with us in the city and are glad that you found that to be true. We will certainly be sharing your wonderful comments about our gallery team with the entire staff. I was sorry to hear about your breakfast experience. We are constantly working to improve and perfect all aspects of our hotel and will definitely take into consideration all of your comments. But I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future! I hope you have a very happy New Years!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We felt the room rate was very good for the location and type of hotel. The hotel and all staff were great. We had the cruise package, which allows you to leave your car parked in valet parking while on the cruise. The hotel parking is $10. per night, while the parking at the pier is $16. The price includes transportation to/from the pier. The valet staff is great and very friendly, even offered to take our luggage across the street to the pier shuttle.
The hotel itself is very nicely appointed and very comfortable. The only thing that could have been better was the very limited breakfast choices on the buffet.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagle0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We love to get feedback from our guests! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We definitely take pride in having a fun and friendly staff and cannot be more pleased that you agree. Our close location to the port makes for a great place to stay for a pre-cruise vacation. Again, thank you for your wonderful comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Orleans!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed here during a busy convention - think the hotel was fully booked, and managed to get reservations as a Platinum Hyatt member just a couple weeks prior. As a result, we paid quite a bit per night per night for the room. Overall, was pleased with the stay, but thought there were some mishaps.

Pros: Rooms were very clean. Rooms were updated. The interior of the hotel is clean, and has a nice lobby. The free breakfast was very good. Location was quite good (across street from convention center) and walkable to other landmarks in the city (including the French Quarter). Not right in the middle of the French Quarter (we preferred this).

Cons: We were here during a water problem, where drinking water was prohibited for the last day of our stay. Felt that the hotel should have turned off the water once the city reported water should not be used for drinking or brushing teeth. Also, guests should have been alerted more quickly (email, TV, flyers in the lobby) rather than by hotel staff (who were not able to answer any questions including whether water safe to shower), knocking on hotel room doors to drop off water bottles several hours after the announcement was made by the city. Due to the hotel location, definitely paid a premium for this hotel during our stay. Housekeeping was slow.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likestotravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
We are very appreciative of your review and comments about our hotel and are happy to hear that you were pleased with your overall stay. I am very sorry that you had to deal with the water outage. We will definitely be passing along your feedback regarding the water issue to the appropriate management and take into consideration your thoughts for any future city water outages. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Place, and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at Hyatt Place Convention Center. If you are at a convention center event, there could not be a better location- right across the street. As some mentioned, a little distance to French Quarter, but not bad. The rooms were good size and clean. Free breakfast and wifi, what more do you want? I was on 8th floor (highest) and could still hear some street noise, so getting upper floor probably a good idea. Certainly not a "deluxe" hotel, but service was good and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We could not agree with you more about our complimentary breakfast and wifi. Those are definitely two of the many perks of staying at Hyatt Place! We will be passing along your wonderful comments to our entire staff. Thanks for choosing Hyatt Place New Orleans, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Wonderful location, very comfortable rooms, nice breakfast. This is a good New Orleans option, but it falls short on housekeeping. We didn't receive any toiletries on our third day, and the floors were not cleaned during our stay. Very disappointing coming from the usually high standards of the Hyatt chain. Also, don't expect any welcome amenity....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimski06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very appreciative of all of our guests’ input. I want to apologize for your experience and assure you that this is not the norm. We will certainly be sharing your comments with the appropriate staff and management and will address any issues you may have come across.

We are glad that you enjoyed our a.m. hot skillet breakfast as well as your room accommodations. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel to show you that we do exude the Hyatt standards. Thank you again, for taking the time to review our hotel, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Was worried this might be a long walk to the French Quarter but was only 3 short blocks to the trolly. The Hotel was superior. Clean, fresh and new. The staff could not have done more for our group of 6 women. Recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysgone60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our easy access to the streetcar definitely allows for easy access to all areas of downtown. We will definitely share your comments with our staff. “Clean, fresh, and new” are definitely some of the many things we take pride in at Hyatt Place, and we are delighted that you share the same feeling! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#37 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Property: Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Address: 881 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130-1754 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans’ downtown Arts District, across the street from the Convention Center, and within walking distance of award-winning restaurants, museums and art galleries, shopping, Harrah’s Casino, the riverfront, Aquarium of the Americas, and the French Quarter. The hotel offers a dine-in atrium restaurant, a fitness and business center, three meeting spaces, and complimentary wireless Internet access in guest rooms and public areas. The hotel’s convenient location also offers a direct route to the city’s airport, only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Orleans New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing