We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Ranked #49 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference last year. Double room soooo tiny, had to continually ask for the room to be cleaned , when it was it was a shoddy job. I had a brand new iPad stolen and management were terrible in following up! After this experience I will never stay on a Hyatt hotel again. Their name is overrated , the rooms ridiculously small and cleaning staff just not up to par. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendastarr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, General Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your review and taking time to make us aware of your experience from last August. We were disappointed to learn of your unfortunate experience as well as your perception with Hyatt. Unfortunately our team is not familiar with the incident that you referenced in your posting and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience with you.

I hope you will take the opportunity to contact me directly to provide me with additional details so I can properly address. My direct number is 504.571.7710 and I look forward to your call.

Sincerely,
Tony Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    366
    111
    33
    21
See reviews for
283
190
36
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This was one of the best hotels I've stayed in. Very nice location. Convenient right in front of the convention center. I was there for the Essence Music Festival and I couldn't have booked a better hotel. It was very expensive but I expected that during the Essence. Room was very comfortable and nice. I was extremely satisfied and will most definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teeshia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you so much! It is so wonderful of you to take the time to review our Hyatt Place, and we are very excited to hear about your recent stay with us! Essence Festival is definitely one of our favorite times of the year! We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back next year for the festivities!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My friend and I recently stayed at the Hyatt Place one night while we were in town for the Essence Music Festival. The hotel is in a great location, especially if you will be visiting the convention center because it is directly across the street. There is also a fantastic new outlet mall next to the convention center. The hotel is also walking distance to Harrah's, Canal Street and other attractions but I would take a cab to the French Quarter.
The rooms are a nice and spacious with a sitting area and the beds are comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Yung the bellboy. The most surprising thing of the hotel was the breakfast. When hotels advertise breakfast in the morning I expect cereal, bagels and fruit. Not Hyatt Place! There is a dining area on the 2nd floor with a full hot breakfast - pancakes, eggs, English muffin ham sandwiches, oatmeal, fruit, sausage - you name it! It was very busy that Friday morning but the staff handled it all with a smile while restocking plates, cups and silverware and busing the tables. Overall, I enjoyed this hotel and the next time I return will stay here the entire weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nfkld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I am absolutely delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us during Essence Fest. It is such a fun event in the city! Thank you for staying with us, and we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Easy! Have a great week!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
188 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Was here one day for before checking into our room at the Bourbon. The hotel was clean and the lobby was really nice. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are comfortable. The bathroom are a nice size. The breakfast is a real breakfast. Pancakes, fruits and meats. Also close to everything. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TravlingTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are very much appreciated! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We will look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here with my daughters for a few nights while visiting friends in NOLA. We got a heck of a deal on Priceline, and found the hotel very accommodating. It's an easy 15 min walk to the quarter, and less to the street cars on Canal and along the river. Parking, as in all downtown NOLA hotels, is ridiculous. Here's a tip, just 2 or 3 blocks down is Harrah's parking garage. If you play for 30 minutes (think penny slots if you are not a gambler) you get 24 hours free parking! Just walk in and get a free players card and sit down with a drink. 30 minutes passes quickly and even if you lose $5 or $10 (over my 3 day stay I was down $11! lol), it's so much cheaper than the $30-$45 a day for hotel parking. The rooms are decent size, and with a fold out couch, we each had our own bed. Comfy linens and a decent free breakfast, as well as a nice little fitness center! Staff was excellent, and remind you why the people make New Orleans such an awesome town!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vantine8665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! I will definitely be sharing your wonderful comments with the rest of our team, and we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Orleans!

Sincerely,

Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Hyatt Place New Orleans Convention Center is a very nice property. Excellent price as long as you don't have to pay for parking. $32 per day for parking is outrageous. This property would get 5 stars but due to the lack of value in parking I cannot pull the trigger.

However the location, service, and cleanliness is definitely five star. There are numerous highly rated restaurant within just a few blocks: Emeril's, Chochon, and its sister Chchon Butcher, Carmo, Rio Mar, La Boca, to name a few. If you don't mind a short hike you can walk to French Quarter and Bourbon street, but i have found a new favorite locale, the warehouse district. Free breakfast was a little meek but tasty, but the 24 hour lobby service is handy and friendly, warning cash tips only for the lobby bar staff. the service to my room was a little late in the afternoon but was quality. Overall i was very pleased with this hotel but my feelings are still a little hurt on the parking cost.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnBee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and even more so that you have a new favorite locale! I completely agree with you that the warehouse district is a great place to be, with all the amazing restaurants and art galleries! The valet parking in our downtown area is pretty much a standard, especially due to the limited parking space available. I want to thank you for staying at our Hyatt Place, and we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Orleans!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I've never been to a place where the staff (particularly at the bar) are so friendly and accommodating, even by NO standards!

The hotel was of a standard you'd expect from a large hotel chain. The breakfast menu is nicely localised. It is situated well for the convention centre. It's a short and pleasant 15 minute stroll into the town.

I would return again because we had such a nice time but would prefer somewhere slightly closer to or within the town centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickyxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Place-NOLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
I am absolutely delighted to hear about your experience at our hotel! We are always very appreciative of our guests comments. While our hotel is a short 15 minute walk to the center of the French Quarter, I might recommend, next time you are in the area, trying the Riverfront Street car. It is easily accessible just 1 block away from our hotel and may make for a new way of getting to the city center (not to mention you will also get a scenic view of the lovely Mississippi River)! Just a little tip! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Logan Melius
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Property: Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Address: 881 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130-1754 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans’ downtown Arts District, across the street from the Convention Center, and within walking distance of award-winning restaurants, museums and art galleries, shopping, Harrah’s Casino, the riverfront, Aquarium of the Americas, and the French Quarter. The hotel offers a dine-in atrium restaurant, a fitness and business center, three meeting spaces, and complimentary wireless Internet access in guest rooms and public areas. The hotel’s convenient location also offers a direct route to the city’s airport, only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Orleans New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing