We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Ranked #12 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Rather Impressed!”
Reviewed 9 January 2008

Stayed at this hotel for the BCS Championship Game weekend and enjoyed it! Staff was friendly, and the price was not bad for a busy weekend. Bed was comfortable and room was decent size. Bathroom was clean and always had plenty of hot water. However, the pipes are a bit noisy so if you are a light sleeper ask for an end room. Was a great hotel for a busy weekend!

  • Liked — Large room & Price for a Special Event Weekend
  • Disliked — Noisy pipes
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank takia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    292
    77
    20
    14
See reviews for
373
270
52
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Francisville
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2007

My daughter lives in New Orleans and I travel there frequently. This hotel is clean and in a quiet area. It is however, overpriced. You can find great hotels in the quarter for under $100 bucks. We paid $180.00 a night. The room had a very stale smell to it and only a shower no tub.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PeggySt_Francisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2007

A very nice hotel. Good amenities (ice tea and snacks in the afternoon, free breakfast in the morning, coffemaker, microwave, fridge in room). If you are a jogger, this is an excellent location - run down St. Charles for a few miles in the former trolley tracks or drive a few blocks to Audubon Park and run the loop there. Close to nice restaurants and a large Whole Foods on Magazine Street. A great value too. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Close to activities and restaurants
  • Disliked — It was all good - NA
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gmfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2007

We've just returned from a delightful visit to New Orleans for my son's wedding. Staying at the Hampton Inn on St. Charles Avenue helped make it a pleasure from start to finish. The hotel itself is very attractive and clean with a charming outdoor pool and seating area. The staff were kind, helpful and very friendly. Our group, which included a child, enjoyed the many selections offered at breakfast and the afternoon tea. The parking area is free, safe, and just a few steps from the entrance. It was so convenient to many of this wonderful city's attractions, we very much hope to stay there again.

  • Liked — Comfortable, attractive and safe
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AliciaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2007

I stayed there for a week. The room was large and clean; it had a refrigerator; lots of TV channels, and free wireless connection. The breakfast was pretty good, and the cheese and crackers with tea in the afternoon was nice. My 4 year old grandaughter loved the pool, which was kept very clean. One of the best features is a free parking lot right behind the main back entrance to the hotel. It is safe and easy to use. The staff is really friendly. It is also convenient to getting to almost all of New Orleans by car...every thing is about 15 minutes away. I would stay there again and again. I was in NOLA for pleasure visiting my daughter and her family, but I travel in my work as a lawyer and spend many nights each year in hotels around the world. And this is one terrific hotel in a great, great city.

  • Liked — A completely great experience.
  • Disliked — Could change the breakfast from time to time.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2007

This hotel was simply wonderful. Designed to look old, but only about
10 years old, the hotel was beautifully decorated and set a very
"New Orleans" mood. The location is terrific. It does not have a Fitness Center or laundry, but we didn't care. Their breakfast served
the best fruit we had at a Hampton, on a long trip. We had great service from two employees in particular: Manager Charlene Martinez was extremely helpful, and Rose, who was serving breakfast, was a joy! (Hi to you both!)

New Orleans is still a great city, yet it's one in extreme pain. We were so glad to visit there, to spend our money in a place that desperately needs support from business and individuals. The French Quarter was great, as always. But we drove all around the surrounding
areas, and the tragic effects of Katrina are evident everywhere. The devastation was so extensive it will take years to come back. Here's a place where we can really make a difference.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Sooz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basking ridge ny
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2007

I rely heavily on reviews within this forum..so I thought I would add mine on the Hampton Inn in the Garden District. It was perfect for us...my daughter and I were traveling to Tulane and I was looking for accomadations between downtown and the school.

Service and Hotel: The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. We arrived at about 10:30 for check in and they were not ready for us...but quickly found us a room. The room was clean enought...but the really great thing was how comfortable the bed was. It had 6 comfy useable pillows and a down comforter covered with a duvet...as most of us do not spend a lot of time in the room ..this great bed and hot shower were just perfect.

It is about a 2 mile distance to Tulane which was perfect for a walk....

Within the area is a Rite Aid to pick up incidentals , The Superior Grill which has great tex mex and huge magaritas, Columns is 2 blocks away with a great bar and really nice Sunday Brunch, Cannon's is just up the street...

The Hampton Inn worked really well for mom and daughter wanting to see a little more than the french quarter...although we have done that too.
T

  • Liked — the beds
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank carol_a_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,309 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District

Property: Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Address: 3626 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breathtaking Garden District, the Hampton Inn provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations in one of the country's loveliest settings. Discover an ideal blend of Old World charm and contemporary conveniences, including a 24-hour business center, an outdoor lap pool and a welcoming range of modern amenities. We also provide a generous collection of complimentary services, including free wireless Internet, a free daily breakfast and a complimentary tea and cheese reception every evening from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. Situated among beautiful architecture, historic southern mansions and oak-lined streets, our charming Garden District hotel provides a peaceful retreat near all the Big Easy's most vibrant attractions. Reserve a room today and experience genuine Southern hospitality amid the best of New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing