We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant staff, clean, comfortable, quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Ranked #12 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
calistoga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff, clean, comfortable, quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

This hotel is a good find in a busy town like New Orleans. Our family consisting of 5 adults spent 3 nights there. Rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast good for a formula breakfast and the location is great. The St. Charles Street trolley line is just a few steps away, Magazine Street and the Garden District retail/ restaurant district only a few blocks away. The staff were pleasant and helpful and when we were there, it appeared that there were various wedding and business groups. Often when a hotel is busy, the help can be rude or not accommodating, not so in this case. All told, this was a wonderful location on our first visit to New Orleans.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks toward downtown. At night you can see the Mercedes-Benz dome with it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotspringswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    273
    76
    20
    14
See reviews for
346
252
52
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Great location. The trolley car is right out front. We stayed recently to take our 3yr old to the Zoo and Aquarium. The hotel was clean and the breakfast was good in the lobby. Make your own waffles, scrambled eggs, biscuits, etc. Helpful and friendly staff. I also liked how you have to have your room key to operate the elevator. We will definitely stay there again soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lblmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at this Hampton Inn located in a scenic part of the mid-Garden District while attending the Jazz & Heritage Fest. The location couldn't be better for access to New Orleans' sites including Tulane and Loyola, Magazine St.,Uptown, and Audubon Park & Zoo. In addition to free outdoor parking, the public areas are very nice and you can enjoy a complimentary buffet breakfast in the lobby or outside around a small but attractive and secluded pool/patio area. The room was fairly standard but large, comfortable and nicely furnished. Only downside was no in-room safe. While we had a car, the St. Charles Ave. streetcar line runs directly in front of the hotel and goes downtown to the French Quarter or Uptown toward the schools. Nice staff, quiet, convenient and reasonably priced. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Fantastic stay!! My family booked multiple rooms for my brother's wedding which took place nearby. We could not have had a better experience. The hotel is lovely, clean, efficient and has a friendly staff. The location is perfect. The St. Charles Streetcar passes directly in front of the hotel so you are 10 minutes from both the universities/Audubon Park and downtown/French Quarter. The rates are more than reasonable for the location and include free breakfast, free wi-fi, and free parking (if by chance you have a car). Can't be beat!! My immediate family has three small children and the hotel was just fine for a family with children (esp. with the free breakfast). If you are looking for a hotel with valet service, 5 star restaurants and over the top amenities, this is not the place for you. But if you are looking to spend a few simple days touring a great city and having a clean, cozy place to rest your head each night, this is the one. Perfect for potential Loyola/Tulane/Xavier students who are looking to get a feel for the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

This is the BEST place to stay in the area. Right on the trolly line to the French Quarter, Tulane, Audubon Park and the Garden District it's a short drive to the Zoo, Children's Hospital and the Super Dome. It's clean, the staff is excellent and very helpful, the breakfast is good and Superior Grill is right next door and New Orleans Seafood is four blocks away for quick meals. You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GC967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights last week and were very pleased. Staff were very friendly and helpful, lobby was nice and the room was clean, in good repair with a very comfortable bed.

The streetcar stops right in front of the hotel, so it was very convenient to catch it to the French Quarter. One thing I learned about the streetcar was that if you have to wait a while for one to come, you're going to make a lot of stops on the way. We waited for a second one to come, when we could, and took that one with less stops.

There's a Rite Aid just a block away that carries most everything you need. I even bough some beer there to have in the room.

I'd rate this hotel as excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Notrubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This Hampton Inn is right in the heart of the Garden District of New Orleans. It's very residential feeling and safe. We had a great view of the city (from the higher floors) and also of the trolley line on St. Charles. There were Mardi Gras beads hanging from the trees all up and down the street which was really fun. The room was generous in size and the breakfast was plentiful. Only glitch, a noisy fridge, but we just unplugged it. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckralston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,312 reviews
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District

Property: Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Address: 3626 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breathtaking Garden District, the Hampton Inn provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations in one of the country's loveliest settings. Discover an ideal blend of Old World charm and contemporary conveniences, including a 24-hour business center, an outdoor lap pool and a welcoming range of modern amenities. We also provide a generous collection of complimentary services, including free wireless Internet, a free daily breakfast and a complimentary tea and cheese reception every evening from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. Situated among beautiful architecture, historic southern mansions and oak-lined streets, our charming Garden District hotel provides a peaceful retreat near all the Big Easy's most vibrant attractions. Reserve a room today and experience genuine Southern hospitality amid the best of New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing