We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Ranked #14 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Charles, LA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and Convenient”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Location is convenient to both downtown and uptown New Orleans. Off-street parking is a special bonus for New Orleans. Complimentary breakfast is very nice, and there are coffee, tea, hot chocolate available all day, with hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    282
    77
    20
    14
See reviews for
358
264
52
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Park, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I was very satisfied with every aspect of this hotel, especially the free secured parking, ease of access to luggage carts and getting in and out of the property. The breakfast was good and offered a variety of food. They had the best coffee available 24 hours a day. I give this property 5 stars..Just don't stay near the elevator

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

If you want to avoid the traffic in the quarter and downtown this is a good choice. The free breakfast is decent. Parking is easy. Near a lot of shopping and dining options. Tends to be more family orientated than other places we have stayed in New Orleans.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights this month. I had stayed at this hotel several times in the past decade and found the hotel to have declined in quality. The hotel itself and the room we stayed in were rather worn, and the breakfast and afternoon snacks were much lower in quality than in the past. The one definite plus on this visit was the service. When we were unhappy with our original assigned room, we were expeditiously upgraded to a suite, and throughout our stay all our requests were promptly addressed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Our trip was planned hastily, but we were able to get a senior room at the Hampton on St. Charles. As rates go, this was the most expensive Hampton we've ever stayed at, even with our senior discount. The room itself was nothing special, average, and except for a little extra room in the bathroom, was not terribly convenient for someone handicapped. There was a tub, but it was not accessible. There were extra hand holds all around the bathroom, but none in the sleepy area. The breakfast area was very nice, and featured the standard Hampton breakfast. We really enjoyed the "tea and cheese" event in the afternoon, though we were the only ones in attendance. What sets this Hampton out, is the location.The trolley stopped 2 blocks from the hotel (don't try to get on anywhere other the main stops). All in all, a nice experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking St. Charles. The sun comes right in the back windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingwood
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I grew up in Louisiana, and have enjoyed weekends in New Orleans for many years. I have stayed at many of the finer hotels and at the "ambiance" hotels in the city. This time, we were going to visit family. This property is located in St. Charles Garden District--the area has transitioned from a purely residential (and very upscale) residential area to a residential (and very upscale) residential area with trendy small restaurants and shops. It is delightful. The historic streetcars pass (no noise) directly in front of the hotel, so you have very easy access to Canal Street and the French Quarter; and the plus is that you enjoy that historic, unique New Orleans charm on the transportation to get there. The area is very quiet; it does not have the crowds around the more famous hotels and the area is much safer. The hotel is less expensive than the French Quarter hotels and, as a plus, has free self-parking that is very, very convenient. There are fun restaurants within a block, but for the authentic, historic restaurants you must take a 10 minute historic streetcar ride. The hotel is new, immaculately clean, and the staff is very competent and friendly. If you are looking for a crowded, bustling, Mardi Gras atmosphere stay in the French Quarter; if you want quality, quiet, and convenience, this is the place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper floor facing St. Charles Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bossier City, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This property is run right. It is located with access to the street car, parking is convenient, and the beds are so comfortable. Delightful visit. Lobby is inviting after an afternoon of the beautiful area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,452 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
7,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District

Property: Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Address: 3626 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breathtaking Garden District, the Hampton Inn provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations in one of the country's loveliest settings. Discover an ideal blend of Old World charm and contemporary conveniences, including a 24-hour business center, an outdoor lap pool and a welcoming range of modern amenities. We also provide a generous collection of complimentary services, including free wireless Internet, a free daily breakfast and a complimentary tea and cheese reception every evening from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. Situated among beautiful architecture, historic southern mansions and oak-lined streets, our charming Garden District hotel provides a peaceful retreat near all the Big Easy's most vibrant attractions. Reserve a room today and experience genuine Southern hospitality amid the best of New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing