We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here for Location & Free Parking - Not for Good Rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Ranked #12 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I write this review following completion of my second stay at this property and stays with many other Hamptons around the country. I have a hard time agreeing with many of the positive reviews here unfortunately.

Stay here to be in the Garden District, away from the NOLA city center/French Quarter and it's higher priced hotels, the streetcar into the city, visiting Tulane or Loyola universities, and also because they provide free parking, a rarity in the core city. Beyond that I don't see any benefits.

The walls in this hotel are extremely thin - so thin you'll hear your neighbor's TV, snoring, talking, high heels on the tiled bathroom floor, and shower/toilet/pipe noise. This is rarely an issue I have with any hotels I stay at, but it is really pronounced here. And for the life of me I cannot understand how elevator noise is heard in a room in the middle of the floor - multiple rooms away from the elevators! It is very noticeable and very bothersome. And thus I have not found this to be a place to get a good night's rest.

Would agree with a previous reviewer that the breakfast and the evening snacks are not as good as they once were, and not up to the standard of most Hamptons - evening snack is some cheese cubes and grapes.

Also as of Feb 2014, there are some renovations taking place inside the hotel. These appeared to be confined to the first floor (no guest rooms) only but you might want to check to see if indeed they are renovating the guest floors....which wouldn't be a bad idea since this Hampton is showing its wear and age.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the back parking lot - to avoid feet above you, St. Charles Ave street noise and el...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hotelreviewer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beuper, General Manager at Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you found our location convenient for your needs and appreciate your honest input on the comfort and atmosphere of our hotel. We will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience and hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,
Brandie Bodin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,022)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

702 - 708 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

I loved the hotel and the location. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Having the trolley right in front was a plus. Breakfast was wonderful and they had cheese and crackers in the evening too. It was very secure since you had to use your key card to take the elevator up to any floor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Although this Hampton Inn was under current renovation, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The breakfast was delicious, the room was clean, quiet and comfortable, internet access was fast, and the front office staff were very courteous, friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Location is convenient to both downtown and uptown New Orleans. Off-street parking is a special bonus for New Orleans. Complimentary breakfast is very nice, and there are coffee, tea, hot chocolate available all day, with hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I was very satisfied with every aspect of this hotel, especially the free secured parking, ease of access to luggage carts and getting in and out of the property. The breakfast was good and offered a variety of food. They had the best coffee available 24 hours a day. I give this property 5 stars..Just don't stay near the elevator

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

If you want to avoid the traffic in the quarter and downtown this is a good choice. The free breakfast is decent. Parking is easy. Near a lot of shopping and dining options. Tends to be more family orientated than other places we have stayed in New Orleans.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights this month. I had stayed at this hotel several times in the past decade and found the hotel to have declined in quality. The hotel itself and the room we stayed in were rather worn, and the breakfast and afternoon snacks were much lower in quality than in the past. The one definite plus on this visit was the service. When we were unhappy with our original assigned room, we were expeditiously upgraded to a suite, and throughout our stay all our requests were promptly addressed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
4,720 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District

Address: 3626 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £118 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breathtaking Garden District, the Hampton Inn provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations in one of the country's loveliest settings. Discover an ideal blend of Old World charm and contemporary conveniences, including a 24-hour business center, an outdoor lap pool and a welcoming range of modern amenities. We also provide a generous collection of complimentary services, including free wireless Internet, a free daily breakfast and a complimentary tea and cheese reception every evening from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. Situated among beautiful architecture, historic southern mansions and oak-lined streets, our charming Garden District hotel provides a peaceful retreat near all the Big Easy's most vibrant attractions. Reserve a room today and experience genuine Southern hospitality amid the best of New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing