We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and hotel are great, although a little way from the action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Ranked #12 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business, class hotel with comfortable rooms.

If you are going to experience the French Quarter I would suggest staying a little closer to the action.

Taxis are frequently passing so it's not a problem to get down to Bourbon Street.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Wingman_ready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

I like Hampton Inns for their overall value. This location, which is only a few blocks from the Garden District, was very reasonably priced and met my expectations. The St. Charles streetcar line runs right past the front of the hotel, so my wife and I took it to the French Quarter and riverfront each day for $3/day per person, which was a big money saver, especially since the Hampton Inn also has free parking. Per other Trip Advisor reviews, we had a room on the back side of the hotel overlooking the parking lot since we we wanted a quiet room. The free breakfast was good quality food with plenty of nutritious choices as always. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking to avoid the cost of the French Quarter.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

the hotel was nice,and clean.Showers were great,and good towels.Breakfast was a good treat.recommended to everyone: that wants to visit New Orleans,but wants to be just away from the inner city. although it was only about 2 miles from the superdome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Grice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was a clean hotel with nice linens, and a wonderful and plentiful complimentary breakfast. The staff was courteous and helpful. We would stay here again to be in the Garden District of New Orleans.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan39564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great Hotel! We spent 2 nights here, in July. Rate was $108 for military. Excellent rate for this hotel. Very clean, very stylish. Felt like it was a New Orleans hotel. Lobby is large with excellent access to small, but cute pool. Chair and lounges were comfortable. Fresh iced lemon water at pool and in lobby 24/7. Love that touch! Rooms were clean and large. Staff was friendly. Never had a problem. Breakfast buffet was typical Hampton. Subpar food, but that is with all Hamptons. I would highly recommend it. The location is superb. Quiet and within walking distance to sidewalk cafes and some restaurants. Only a $10 cab ride to french quater. I'd recommend this location over the French Quarter if you are looking to enjoy downtown but not be right in the middle of the noise and traffic. And free parking! Yes!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broadreach11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Every aspect of our stay at this hotel exceeded our expectations. Free parking is included in the room rate, which is a big plus in New Orleans. The hotel was convenient to many of the sights. The quality of the Hot Breakfast items was very good. If we travel to this area in the future, I would certainly plan to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here for our honeymoon! So quiet and peaceful. The St. Charles Trolley line is just right across the street. Hop on to go downtown. The side door actually looks like the front, but go in on the side road to the parking lot entrance. Great staff that will help you in any way! You are in the Garden District surrounded by beautiful, old homes. Free hot breakfast, and free parking are a plus. There is several restaurants within walking distance. Also, there are some celebrities that stay there when they are in NOLA, you might just get to see them. Pool is small, but will cool you off.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredandlivinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 167 in New Orleans
357 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District

Address: 3626 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £119 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breathtaking Garden District, the Hampton Inn provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations in one of the country's loveliest settings. Discover an ideal blend of Old World charm and contemporary conveniences, including a 24-hour business center, an outdoor lap pool and a welcoming range of modern amenities. We also provide a generous collection of complimentary services, including free wireless Internet, a free daily breakfast and a complimentary tea and cheese reception every evening from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. Situated among beautiful architecture, historic southern mansions and oak-lined streets, our charming Garden District hotel provides a peaceful retreat near all the Big Easy's most vibrant attractions. Reserve a room today and experience genuine Southern hospitality amid the best of New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing