We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Antebellum Guest House
Ranked #51 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 December 2013

B&Bs are not for everyone, nor for every city. I booked here for five nights after having difficulty finding hotels due to a big convention in town. In the end, this turned out to be a memorable stay.

Antebellum Guest House is a smaller B&B, with 3 rooms to let. The house is filled with antiques and interesting artifacts. The bedroom, while not particularly memorable, was spacious and comfortable. The location was good, but not outstanding. I didn't want to be directly in the middle of the Quarter, but the walk, while quite manageable, was just a little longer than ideal. So on the "physical" aspects, I would probably give this place 3 or 4 stars. So why the 5 stars?

In a small B&B, much of the experience depends on the demeanor and service provided by the host. From the moment we arrived, Keith proved to be a gracious and exceptional host. He is a history buff, and he can guide you through many of the city's attractions. Where he really shines through, however, is in his amazing, delicious, over-the-top breakfasts. He dresses in appropriate 19th Century garb and presents the most amazing 3 course breakfast which are all based on a "historical" recipe.

The B&B also has some bicycles for guests to use. NOLA is a flat, very bicycle friendly city. Keith provided some good hints for areas to explore, and as a result, one gets a good sense of NOLA apart from the "touristy" areas. The overall experience makes you feel like you are at home, as opposed to in a sterile hotel.

TIP 1: Keith and the other TA posters are spot-on in recommending Frenchman over the Quarter for more local experience of the night and music life. And while parts of the Quarter are a bit longer walk from the Guesthouse, Frenchman is quite accessible.

TIP 2: Buffa's is a local bar with a back room for music just a few minutes walk away. A review of it is forthcoming but don't miss it if you stay here.

TIP 3: Want local cajun food? Cajun Seafood (yes, that is the name, and separate review coming) looks like a whole in the wall and is also only a few minute walk from the guest house. But the gumbo is the best in NOLA, and the boiled crawfish and shrimp are also quite tasty...all at budget prices. Try it out if you stay at the Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank JNelsonRedSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

As I knew I was planning to propose to my girlfriend over the Halloween/Voodoo Fest weekend, I knew I didn't want to stay in your average run of the mill hotel. So I had a New Orleans local friend of mine do a little digging and she found this special gem for me. I had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before but upon initially speaking to Keith (our host) and telling him my plans I knew this was the place. The accommodations at the Antebellum are very unique and special...full of rich history and beautiful antiques. But the true standout appeal of the Guest House was our host, Keith. He has an obvious passion for his craft and made us feel right at home immediately. Each morning was filled with amazing culinary delights and delicious conversation. We had the pleasure of making some new friends at our breakfast table including Keith's partner, Art...a great storyteller and fabulous fellow. My marriage proposal and the weekend worked out perfectly and unforgettably thanks in large part to Keith and his gracious hospitality. My soon-to-be wife and I will definitely return on our subsequent trips to the Big Easy. Thank, Keith! :)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Shea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our trip to New Orleans was fabulous due in no small part to our hosts and accommodations at The Antebellum Guesthouse. The room we stayed in was well appointed , clean and comfortable. The comman areas and delightful garden add to the charm of the place. The breakfasts were simply outstanding!! Keith prepared delicious breakfast courses with a bit of a historical perspective on the origins of the food and meals prepared in old time New Orleans. These meals kept us satisfied for most of the day, be prepared to eat well! Two bicycles were available to us and we used them almost everyday touring the French Quarter and other districts in the city. Keith was very helpful providing information and directions to places to visit, dine, walk, bike etc.
As hosts, Keith and Art are excellent and it is evident they care very much about their guests and their needs. They are also a lot of fun to chat with around the breakfast table! Our trip was memorable not only for the experience of being in New Orleans but also for being guests at this wonderful Guesthouse!!
Carolee and Ed Victor, NY

Room Tip: Stayed in the Rococo room. Nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. Private entrance to outdoor gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleeAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

After four nights at a corporate hotel in NOLA my girl friend and I wanted something smaller and more personal. From Tripadvisor reviews we chose The Antebellum for a really delightful stay with our hosts Keith and Art. Keith takes the antebellum theme to heart wearing period clothes within his immaculately maintained 19th century home that is in easy walking distance from the French Quarter but removed enough to be quiet at night. We stayed in the charming Rococco Room which, although the smallest, was extremely comfortable. The breakfasts of coffee, fresh fruit, pastry and a different egg dish each morning were delicious and beautifully prepared. Keith is very welcoming, sharing his knowledge of New Orleans history as well as his expertise in the concoction of vintage cocktails, love of old music boxes and a myriad of other topics. I really don't know how our experience could have been better and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here a couple of years ago for an anniversary trip with another couple, and had a great time. We wanted to stay somewhere we could have privacy, but also a common living area to hang out in.

We rented the upstairs suite, with two bedrooms, a kitchen, and a living area. It was perfect for the four of us. The only drawback to the room was that the furniture in the living area wasn't very comfortable -- the antique-y sofa had very aggressive springs.

Other than that, our stay was 100% top rate.

The highlight was the morning breakfast and hospitality. In a city known for its great food and lifestyle of excess, the breakfasts Keith served (in tasteful period garb, using period serving ware) were excessively amazing. Each meal was 3 courses with a pastry (amazing) a cornucopia of fresh fruit, and a main dish. Re: main dish: eggs baked in cream is the bomb. These breakfasts are not for the faint of heart. Figure on exceeding your daily allotment of calories before 10 AM.

The rooms are a good value. Keith is a wealth of knowledge about New Orleans past and present. He puts heart and soul into restoring and maintaining his house with integrity. The garden area is very nice. The location is a nice little walk to the French Quarter. Don't expect to be in the heart of French Quarter hubbub. But easy enough to get to.

We look forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: Talk to Keith by phone ahead of time to help pick your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bracksrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We visited New Orleans over the 4th of July weekend and had the pleasure of staying with Keith and Art at the Antebellum Guest House. Keith was a wonderful host and is very knowledgeable about the history of the area. You can tell he puts his heart into the B&B and the experience he shares with his guests. The daily breakfast is amazing!!

I highly recommend Antebellum Guest House and I will definitely be back next time I go to New Orleans! 5 stars!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Can we give 6 stars? Ten? Everything others say is true: period breakfasts to die for; hosts who are welcoming, fascinating, helpful, funny, and difficult to leave; a house that overflows atmosphere, yet offers attention to detail. Solid value for cost. More than a place to stay, we found it to be a destination in itself, as enjoyable as anything else in the city. Keith felt like a friend before we arrived, and he and Art didn't disappoint. This is an old house with small imperfections to be expected in a building its age (yet comfortable A/C and no shortage of hot water). For sterile "perfection," stay elsewhere. For character, history, location, and the real Nawlins deal, stay here. Ask about the owners' Katrina experience. Our visit was our honeymoon, and the venue exceeded every expectation.

Room Tip: Queen rooms were filled, so Keith gave us the 2BR suite at the room rate. Website photos and descrip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
761 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#15 of 142 in New Orleans
334 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 142 in New Orleans
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rathbone Mansions
#40 of 142 in New Orleans
366 reviews
Treme
Inn at the Old Jail
Inn at the Old Jail
#64 of 142 in New Orleans
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antebellum Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antebellum Guest House

Address: 1333 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1853
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old New Orleans experience, opulent & elegant. A comfortable mix of history and Southern hospitality. Antebellum Guest House is a classic Greek Revival, dating back to the late 1830's. Located just outside the French Quarter on historic Esplanade Avenue, known for it gorgeous architecture and live-oak trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Antebellum Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing