We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional staff, clean, ideal for buses”
Review of Hotel King Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Miguel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel King Palace
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in San Miguel
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Clean, Decent sized room, comfortable bed, a/c
Directly opposite bus station but no noise heard from our room
Restaurant onsite, cafes within spitting distance, decent supermarket next door
Car hire offered though booking ahead is a good idea
Staff helped with phone calls and onward travel
Swimming pool wasn't inviting due to location in the middle of the hotel and film of insects etc on top, could have done with a skim
Good value hotel ideally located for passing through using bus network. We stayed on route from Suchitoto to Perquin

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missykap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2011

Upon arrival al the King Palace in San Miguel at 9:00 pm the receptionist welcomed me to the hotel. I greeted her as well. She told me the room was 24 dollars and I asked if I could pay with a credit card as advertised. She told me I could, but that I would have to pay an extra charge. I told her that I would pay cash but as I gave her the money told her that it was ilegal in El Salvador to carry out such practices. She replied that it was hotel policy and that they could do what they wanted. I said that the policies were fine as long as they abided by the law and that this was violating consumer laws. She basically answered there's nothing people can do about it to which I said people could file complaints or give the hotel bad reviews. She then suddenly gave me back my money and said I was refused service. I was schocked since I had already given her my money and was in no way refusing to pay I just wanted to make it clear thtat that type of practice was ilegal. It didn't matter, she said I couldn't stay because I was "violating the hotel's rights". I was appalled and asked her how the hotel could be so inhuman as to throw me out in the street at night when San Miguel is a dangerous city and I don't know my way around it. Just a smirk in return. So I left saying that I felt this service was the worst I'd ever received and that I would feel obliged to express my opinion in internet forums and write to guide books since I wouldn't want another turist to potentially be kicked to the curve at night in such a dangerous city. She then gave me the chance to stay but since I had written down the number of another hotel I called and they confirmed they had a room available so I left.

All in all a surreal experience where I was left feeling highly offended and mistreated.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
17  Thank Ignacio686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights during the Carnavale in San Miguel. On the second night of our stay we returned to the room late at night to find the door handle locked but the door left slightly ajar. We had kept our room key with us the whole time. Nothing valuable appeared to be missing that night so we did not report this to the hotel. 2 days later we found that some credit cards had been taken that night and charges had been made on the following day. Another traveller we met also came up with credit cards missing from her locked guest room that weekend.
True this is a modern, clean hotel. Though it is not secure I would say it is safe, since there is always an armed security guard at the front gate to prevent intrusions from the notably sketchy surrounding neighborhood. This leaves little doubt over who could have gotten access to the rooms. Someone with keys and room access is taking credit cards. Beware.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank uembeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2008

The Hotel King Palace is a comparative oasis in an otherwise dismal city. The three-story U-shaped hotel wraps around a pool in the courtyard, with lots of open-air seating and lounging space. The front-office staff is friendly and helpful, and there's internet ($1/hour) in the lobby. The restaurant is so-so but there aren't many choices in the nieghborhood. The room and bathroom were spacious; small TV, air conditioning and comfortable beds. You'll pay an addtional 6.5% if you charge to a credit card. The location right across the street from the city bus terminal is both a curse (lots of traffic and noise) and a blessing (we got from our room to an early-morning bus to San Salvador in about one minute).

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank peterwhite12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
4  Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Elise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlosguz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico inn
Hotel Tropico inn
#4 of 5 in San Miguel
25 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa San Miguel
Hotel Villa San Miguel
#2 of 5 in San Miguel
37 reviews
20.8 mi away
Las Flores Resort
Las Flores Resort
#1 of 2 in El Cuco
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Real La Union
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Real San Miguel
Comfort Inn Real San Miguel
#1 of 5 in San Miguel
87 reviews
21.2 mi away
Tropiclub Playa El Cuco
Tropiclub Playa El Cuco
#2 of 2 in El Cuco
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel King Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel King Palace

Address: San Miguel, El Salvador
Region: El Salvador > San Miguel Department > San Miguel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in San Miguel
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Hotel King Palace El Salvador/San Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing