We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mon Grumpy”
Review of Hotel Mon Ami

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mon Ami
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Remate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

A nice setting with nicely furnished, clean rooms.

We decided to stay for Christmas but soon wished to be somewhere with more life and friendliness. The menu resembled French cuisine in any way and service was incredibly slow often with cold food. We didn't feel welcomed into the jungle paradise during the festive season and were given various rules when attempting to speak to our parents on Christmas day. Despite a beautiful setting I was left wit a bad taste in my mouth, literally and figuratively with this hostel.

Room Tip: Bring your own bottle of wine to avoid paying out of your ...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoxyJustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico P, Propietario at Hotel Mon Ami, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

good mooning . . thank to like ecologist hotel monami . sorry for the control wifi and if the food is nor all the time hot ,THE PEOPLE WORK IN MY HOTEL LEAVING IN THE LITTLE VILLAGE OF EL REMATE VILLAGE AND NOT SPEAK WEEL ENGLISH .
. for this last days of the year my hotel is full and for this , not all is perfect , sorry .
VERY HAPPY NEW YEAR 2014 .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

Although a bit remote, just 10 minutes walking of the main road in El Remate, this is a really nice place to stay in El Remate.
My bungalow was a bit on the small side, but for a single person it was not a problem.
Liked the colours of the bungalows.

Advantage of staying in El Remate is that you are close to Tikal, Yaxha (recommended) and the Belizan border.

Liked that Mon Ami is close on the lake.
The owner and his staff are extremely helpful.
The attached restaurant serves decent food for reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here in the dormitory for three nights. We really enjoyed our stay in this picturesque town and tranquil hotel. The dorm is a really reasonable price, very lovely two level bungalow with beautiful floorboards and comfortable double beds. It is right by the lake and you can sit in the restaurant (which has good food) and stare at the view or amazing sunset. We met other travelers who were really friendly. The owner is nice and will organize your trip to Tikal if you decide to leave from El Remate. I really recommend this place, it's worth a visit!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Mon Ami's setting on the lake is absolutely wonderful. Colorfully decorated bungalow's, a laid-back lounge and restaurant, and a dock which leads into warm, clear waters which are perfect for swimming.

Make no mistake, this place is rustic. Cabins are nicely decorated, but no frills. Bugs are a legitimate possibility and forget about things like air conditioning or TV. Similarly, it's removed setting means there's not much to do within walking distance. If you're looking for high luxury and constant activity, this probably isn't the place for you. That said, unless you're at the Camino Real, you're unlikely to find that anywhere in El Remate.

On the flip side, this is an ideal place to just read, swim, eat, and relax. The on-site restaurant isn't anything amazing, but serves more than acceptable food with a range of European flavors that are usually tough to find in Guate. The hotel owner and staff are friendly. They'll go out of their way to help you arrange tours and day-trips in the area.

Prices are great. Considering what you get, this is a true value!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueTraveller711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a place I will never forget. Based on tha lake shore offers not only the most romantic views but also the privilege of swimming the warm and crystal clear waters of lake Peten or just staring by from the wooden pier. The rooms are quiet and relaxing, the food is delicious, hamacas are there to join and the music played by the owner travelling your senses... And it's quite close to Tikal. What you need more?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandros_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We ran away from the "Happy hour" signs and other "smoothies offers in Flores to go to more remote El Remate. Here the atmosphere is truly cool...amazing deck to lake... rough enough to feel genuine, and refine enough to be a happy guest.
Food was excellent, rooms nice and clean, even if you have to be careful of potential noise if you are under the dormatory where those guys tend to wake up at 3:00 am to go see the sun rise on Tikkal!
Would Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chmoldu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico P, Propriétaire at Hotel Mon Ami, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013
Google Translation

merci infiniment de vos conseils positif et motivador pour notre etablissement hotel et restaurant monami . nous sommes toujours dans l inquietude de servir de la meilleure maniere nos clients et donner un environement de charme .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

The good ranking fully reflects the level of this amazing hotel. We had our own Maya House there, with a warm shower, a small private garden and a hamaca. There is free wifi at the restaurant. The owner is nice and welcoming, the food is good and you get access to a transparent, lagoon-blue lake with a private pontoon. We even got to see pelicans there. A very relaxing place to enjoy the peace of the lake and the forrest.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthieuf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Remate
16.8 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
657 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
881 reviews
9.1 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gringo Perdido
Hotel Gringo Perdido
#3 of 4 in El Remate
31 reviews
1.8 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
360 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mon Ami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mon Ami

Address: Via Camino Real | Guatemala, El Remate 17022, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > El Remate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Remate
Price Range: £19 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mon Ami 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mon Ami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing