We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been so much better”
Review of Hotel Mon Ami

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mon Ami
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Remate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Positive things: the garden with the nice bungalows, warm water in the shower if you want (don't look at the construction), the water cooler in the room, the swimming pier in the lake (no shade or bench though), with the great view. Negative: management. They hardly speak english, so it's hard to communicate. During our 3 night stay the room was never cleaned, the dustbins weren't emptied (which would have been nice considered the bugs in the room and since you have to throw your toiletpaper in a bin as well) and the old two towels were never changed as well. The whole place looks like it could use some tlc. And while most of the staff is friendly, there is one man that acts kind of weird. One night we went for dinner in the restaurant, he was watching a war movie over there with loud volume. He didn't turn it down untill other guests arrived. It was really akward. But how do you tell someone if there's a language barrier. But we can't compare, it's our only hotel in Guatemala. May be this is normal...

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Duyntje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We came here to eat, and Norma is just wonderful. We got to meet Patrick which it is also nice (he hangs out a lot in Mon Ami. We got to meet amazing travelers, hear their stories and enjoy the view. Norma makes you feel like at home, and her food is delicious!!!!

Room Tip: We didn´t stay here, only eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mgmpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Thanks Santiago for having me...I had an amazing time and by far the best time at El Remate!!!
I got to have the most amazing dorm only for myself, my bed was amazing and waking up with the beautiful rays of sun through the jungle by the mosquito net windowns was really a place of heaven....
Mon ami's dock is beautiful and you can have it for only yourself for most of the time! Right in front of the restaurant! So, my first task of every day was having a jump in the warm beautiful mirror like lake water...before my breakfast, toast with the most amazing home made mango jam!
Super close to Tikal and quite as paradise!
After a week I've got to know most of the locals around and had a busy leaving goodbye evening!!! The people are just so friendly, smily and absolutely great!!! I would live in El Remate!!! Soon, soon I hope :-)
Walked 4 hours at the Biotopo Cahui up, up, up hill...beautiful view of the lake and amazing monkey spotting...walks to the village are also worth it...the museo of Jade it's also very nice!
Thanks Santiago for all...and pls thank everybody else for the most amazing experience...I will certainly see you all guys again!!!
And keep the good vibe!!!

Room Tip: Try the dorm...at least one night!!! Its an experience and the most charming too!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico P, Propietario at Hotel Mon Ami, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2015
Google Translation

si unos turistas pusieron unas anotaciones genial sobre el hotel y restaurante monami , es el 1 de julio 2014 , disculpe de no contestar , simplemente no lo vi . es que mi hotel es para ellos su familia , gracias y mi hotel es su casa , no como turistas pero como familia .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Planning a visit to Tikal we had the option of staying in Flores or El Remate to break the journey from Antigua. Our adult kids were travelling in Guatemala at the time and had stayed there for a few nights and decided that Mon Ami at El Remate was the place we should come to and meet them. So we did and loved every minute of it, from the moment we arrived.

Pretty quirky place about 1.5km from the main road thru El Remate, MonAmi is accessible by a local bus, which is pretty infrequent, walking which we did (and back again at the end of our stay) or having your mini bus drop you off. Located on the road bordering the beautiful Lago Peten Itza, it is an ideal place to lay back, read, talk or laze by the lake. Not for everyone (more like an open plan backpackers resort), MonAmi is pretty well self contained with good quality meals and drinks available around the clock at Guatemalan prices.

The entrance building serves as the hub of the complex with reception, bar, meals and as a general gathering place. Great place to meet all different sorts of travellers.

The rooms are pretty individual ranging from small donga type to large double rooms with lots of space. Again emphasis is on budget type accommodation, so do not expect 3-5 star. Our room had hammocks on the front porch to use even though in the time we spent at MonAmi we were either in the general common area, down at the lake, walking into and back from El Remate or exploring the walking paths into the hills near the property leaving no time for relaxation of that sort.

The nightly meals offered were pretty varied and OK. It appears that the owner loves the lifestyle as well (he runs horse riding adventures for guests) as he comfortably slots in with guests to talk and enjoy that it is sometimes hard to get his attention to order. After our meal we figured extra drinks might be a good idea but never got the opportunity to be served again. Unfortunate for him as we felt in the mood for a good night of celebrating. We figured he could have made some extra dollars that night. But it did not seem to be his major concern and did emphasise that MonAmi was a place of no stress and for 'my friends'.

Recommended.

Room Tip: Probably best to book as Mon AMi is popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prholst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent three nights here, one longer than intended. It's in a great location on the side of the lake and a nice pier to hang out on. The water is great for swimming. The rooms are a little tired looking and the WiFi is nearly not worth the hassle of waiting. Having said that, I do acknowledge it is a problem throughout the region so do your research, booking, emailing to loved ones before you get to El Remote and then spend the rest of your time (aside from the trip to Tikal) just chill in'.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Baby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico P, Propietario at Hotel Mon Ami, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

thank to like hotel ecologist monami , now is raining and all the vegetation, in mi garden is very green . good holiday and good luck . best regards santiago billy .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

It is our favorite place to stay so far. 3 visits and still thinking of going back. I recommend it if your standards are NOT 5 star hotels. If you have too high standards look elsewhere as this is a cosy eco type hotel with a great atmosphere. It feels like home away from home. Laid back and relaxed. Do watch out for the mosquitoes as they are really aggressive especially after dusk. Restaurant choices are also really tasty. Easy to arrange trips to great Mayan ruins and Flores island.

Room Tip: Any room will do but if you really want a quiet time choose the rooms in the very back of the proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JossefGuate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights, rather than in Flores, as a jumping off point to Tikal and Yax ha. El Remate is much more rural and quieter and we loved it here. I don't get the reviews that talk about the unfriendly employees. Mario, Nora, and Lili were all great, very accommodating, and willing to help. The prices are in tune with the accommodations, and fairly basic. This ain't a fancy hotel. But the rooms were clean, the weird shower warm (You'll see what I mean) and the beds comfortable. Met a nice cross section of travelers here too. Breakfasts are very good, and dinners as good as you can expect for the location. While we could afford La Lancha, we had a great time here.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bobogado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Remate
16.8 mi away
Jungle Lodge Hotel
Jungle Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
688 reviews
17 mi away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
896 reviews
9.1 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
378 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Sun Breeze
Hotel Sun Breeze
#3 of 4 in El Remate
62 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mon Ami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mon Ami

Address: Via Camino Real | Guatemala, El Remate 17022, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > El Remate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Remate
Price Range: £15 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mon Ami 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mon Ami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing