We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint ... interesting ... we loved it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa De Don David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa De Don David
Ranked #1 of 11 El Remate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Quaint ... interesting ... we loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This Casa is not a mansion, but it does reflect the love and enthusiasm of the owner. David made an effort to speak to all his guests. His staff were all wonderful and we really enjoyed staying here. Sure the rooms could do with a bit of modernising, but it is so reasonable to stay here, it is not meant as any sort of complaint. We were quite comfortable in our room and loved having drinks sent on the Flying Fox to the "sunset watching" spot. In fact, we were so comfortable, we ate breakfast and dinner here for 3 days. Totally agree with all the compliments already written by other reviewers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    105
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
86
163
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our expectations were exceeded while staying here. The entire propery is fenced in and wrapped around a huge Mayan garden. It is very peaceful to just sit on the porch that all rooms have and watch birds. The location is great. A quick walk to the tienda across the road and the bus stop for Tikal. We also walked about 15 min down the road to the BioCerro reserve for a hike. Good way to spend a morning. The AC worked great. Nice clean comfortable room. Wifi only worked in the main building. The dinners were not huge, but plenty adequate and quite tasty. We had a good conversation with David himself, and the front desk staff were very friendly. There is a lot of local information to read, and they can arrange for a fairly good priced private tour of Tikal if you want (we did it ourselves). El Remate is quite small, but we would stay there again vs Flores if in the area. It was a pretty easy trek from Belize and back on public transport if that is your plan.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnylizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just completed our second stay, this time for 7 days. I was lucky enough this year to celebrate my 65th birthday there and David had the zip line cart express bring a lighted birthday cake out to the lake overlook. This hotel is like a b&B as another writer said - but it also has a camp feel. Because there is only one entrance to the property I felt very safe there walking around at night. The staff is wonderful - attentive and upbeat and David and Rosita were both really helpful.
Gini from Sanibel Island, Florida

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

It was our pleasure to spend 3 nights here. The place is built around a Myan themed garden with fruit trees,lush ornamentals and edible plantings. We found the rooms very clean and enjoyed the dinners included in the price of the room. The staff were very friendly and we had drinks delivered by zip line on the elevated deck. This deck was great for sunset watching, stargazing and viewing Cerro Cahiu guarding the beautiful lake. This place is very relaxing and we felt right at home.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ-Coolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I loved this place because aside from being up to standard, the hotel also had all sorts of modest extras which made it interesting:

-The Mayan literature in the dining area
-The botanical garden which included a thorough explanation of each plant
-The cute zip cart idea enabling guests to have food and drinks "air delivered" to the lake viewpoint.

The rooms and outdoor seats were very nice too. It was clear that the management and staff here really care about the place. As a result we left feeling like this was one hotel that actually had "soul".

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This guest house was a fun and perfectly adequate place to stay although the rooms are showing their age. But I recommend LCDDD because it did everything well. The staff was super responsive in answering emails before our stay and helping us out with tours of Yaxha and Tikal during our 2 days in El Remate. This is a professional guest house. The food was unexpectedly good. Real good. Everything our group of 6 tried was top shelf, and I am thinking longingly about my piece of guava pie a la mode as I write. Although I recommend skipping dinner one night for the legitimate Italian restaurant Las Orquideas down the street. The hotel grounds show an unexpected attention to detail. Spend some time lounging by the lake, ordering cocktails from the Toucan Express, and touring the grounds to examine the garden and contemplate the Mayan symbolism. The rooms, however, need some work. 10 and 11 are dated. They are clean, but the bed and shower and towels are dingy. Yes, each has a hammock, but I can't recall a more uncomfortable one. But it is beyond the rooms that LCDDD really shines as a great base to relax and to explore the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackrooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We couldn't believe what we got for our money. A comfortable room with air conditioning, laundry service, meals and afternoon drinks with a beautiful view. Two days and right Round $100 Canadian! What a bargain - especially since the food and drinks were so good.

Room Tip: As far away from the street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahEOttawa_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Remate
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
16.8 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 17 in Flores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa De Don David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa De Don David

Property: La Casa De Don David
Address: Route to Tikal | in Downtown, El Remate 17022, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > El Remate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in El Remate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 15 min. From the entrance to Tikal, we welcome you to our little piece of paradise. Don David, Yohana Rodas (Administrator)and staff have lots of helpful information, services and tours. The hotel has 13 rooms with private bath, hot water shower, fan or A/C with one meal included (breakfast)and free limited WiFi in the restaurant, and a guest computer also available. Bottled water is free to our guests. Enjoy typical Guatemalan and international meals in the restaurant from 6:30 am to 9 pm overlooking Lake Peten Itza. Our recently added Maya Garden Fire Show is unique and special featuring the largest Maya fire ring in the world. Relax in a hammock on your varanda or in our Gazebo or view the sunset or birds, from our observation deck, featuring the Toucan Express - a 200m zip line providing drink service to the deck. Learn about exotic fruit and plants in our large botanical garden and walk around of the Mayan Sacred Tree (la Ceiba) circle showing the four cardinal directions. On event nights feature the 266 meter ring of fire show for all groups staying two nights or more in the large Maya garden. We will try our best to make your stay pleasant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa De Don David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing