We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay for the adventurer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa De Don David
Ranked #1 of 12 El Remate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. The staff are very warm and friendly, it's very clean, and has nice grounds with patio view of the lake. The rooms have ac, hot water (this was the first place we had this), and are clean. The restaurant has excellent food! This is great place to stay. I stayed here with a group of folks traveling to see Tikal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelFun675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We've stayed here for 3 nights on 2 separate trips to El Remate. The staff are incredibly helpful with providing information about local swimming spots, bus schedules, and local attractions. They arranged excellent tour guides for both Yaxha and Tikal. The restaurant is an inviting comfortable space serving fresh and delicious food. The very best feature here is the spacious garden, attracting a wide variety of birds and other wildlife. What a wonderful place to relax after a long day of touring!


This is not a luxury hotel. The rooms are clean, comfortable and inexpensive. The water is hot and the pressure good.. They could use new towels and the toilet needed some maintenance to not run constantly. These are really minor issues that did not in any way diminish our experience at this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Not only the hotel setting is awesome at the end of the lake Peten-Itza but the rooms are clean, the staff very courteous and prepare to fill any needs including the guided tours to Tikal and also
the owner "don David " very attentive to the environnement, feeding the birds in the beautiful manucured yard make this hotel a must when visiting northern guatemala. The price per room include either the breakfast or dinner which make the stay a bargain. I highly recommand this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MexicoPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting the Tikal ruins. It is a gorgeous place on the lake. The staff are all super friendly & helpful. There is a restaurant on site with delicious food. The bathroom was the best we've had in all of Guatemala! Great water pressure, hot water & great drainage in the shower. There is wifi but not inside the rooms. Would highly recommend staying here & would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdmarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you are visiting Tikal and Peten your lodging choices are many but you will be pleasantly pleased at the unique and specialness of a stay at Hotel La Casa De Don David!

A lakeside resort with a property layout and gardens that are truly a labor of love and a special treat to experience!

The grounds and garden themselves have a unique story that I encourage you to hear from Don David himself... no visit to the hotel or restaurant is complete without a chat with this fascinating and delightful host.

Your rooms are affordable, simple, secure, CLEAN and beautifully laid out amongst the extensive Guatemalan gardens. Yes... you will read reviews about hot water limitations and internet restrictions. REALITY CHECK: You are staying in a remote, rural area in a foreign country with challenges that require your cooperative spirit and tolerant attitude! I have never found restrictions to my electronic exposure as a detriment when I am busy immersing my self in such beauty and cultural uniqueness. Nor have I felt the need to have a prolonged, hot shower while in the tropics either. Bottom line is you will be able to check your email... post a selfie or two on Facebook and have more than enough hot water to enjoy a nice, refreshing shower! Let's move on...

The hotel is a wealth of support during your stay in Peten. Want to know the best woodcarvers to visit? Ask the staff. Desire to learn more about Mayan culture and history? Order a delicious cocktail and sit down with the array of books and magazines available or just chat up David himself! Feel like a horseback riding adventure? Ask the staff to arrange this unique and beautiful lakeside ride for you. Craving a authentic, Guatemalan meal? Your delicious dinner, breakfast or lunch is included with your room! Wanting to visit the ruins? Done deal... all arrangements will be handled for you flawlessly. The list of choices are endless and the staff are ready and able to assure all of your needs and desires are met.

No visit is complete without cocktails or desert on the lakeside deck. Experience David's Toucan Express drink and snack zip line service! Just use the intercom to order your choices and a few minutes later your treats are zipping across the property out to your location! Delightful and unique!

I look forward to my yearly visits and feel confident you will also enjoy this very special and unique property!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BelizeDenize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This Casa is not a mansion, but it does reflect the love and enthusiasm of the owner. David made an effort to speak to all his guests. His staff were all wonderful and we really enjoyed staying here. Sure the rooms could do with a bit of modernising, but it is so reasonable to stay here, it is not meant as any sort of complaint. We were quite comfortable in our room and loved having drinks sent on the Flying Fox to the "sunset watching" spot. In fact, we were so comfortable, we ate breakfast and dinner here for 3 days. Totally agree with all the compliments already written by other reviewers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our expectations were exceeded while staying here. The entire propery is fenced in and wrapped around a huge Mayan garden. It is very peaceful to just sit on the porch that all rooms have and watch birds. The location is great. A quick walk to the tienda across the road and the bus stop for Tikal. We also walked about 15 min down the road to the BioCerro reserve for a hike. Good way to spend a morning. The AC worked great. Nice clean comfortable room. Wifi only worked in the main building. The dinners were not huge, but plenty adequate and quite tasty. We had a good conversation with David himself, and the front desk staff were very friendly. There is a lot of local information to read, and they can arrange for a fairly good priced private tour of Tikal if you want (we did it ourselves). El Remate is quite small, but we would stay there again vs Flores if in the area. It was a pretty easy trek from Belize and back on public transport if that is your plan.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnylizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Remate
16.8 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
657 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
247 reviews
9.5 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
881 reviews
2.4 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
360 reviews
7.0 mi away
La Lancha Lodge
La Lancha Lodge
#2 of 6 in Santa Elena
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa De Don David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa De Don David

Address: Route to Tikal | in Downtown, El Remate 17022, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > El Remate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in El Remate
Price Range: £32 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 15 min. From the entrance to Tikal, we welcome you to our little piece of paradise. Don David, Yohana Rodas (Administrator)and staff have lots of helpful information, services and tours. The hotel has 13 rooms with private bath, hot water shower, fan or A/C with one meal included (breakfast)and free limited WiFi in the restaurant, and a guest computer also available. Bottled water is free to our guests. Enjoy typical Guatemalan and international meals in the restaurant from 6:30 am to 9 pm overlooking Lake Peten Itza. Our recently added Maya Garden Fire Show is unique and special featuring the largest Maya fire ring in the world. Relax in a hammock on your varanda or in our Gazebo or view the sunset or birds, from our observation deck, featuring the Toucan Express - a 200m zip line providing drink service to the deck. Learn about exotic fruit and plants in our large botanical garden and walk around of the Mayan Sacred Tree (la Ceiba) circle showing the four cardinal directions. On event nights feature the 266 meter ring of fire show for all groups staying two nights or more in the large Maya garden. We will try our best to make your stay pleasant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your La Casa De Don David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing