We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and great website, a little disappointed with staff's knowledge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa De Don David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa De Don David
Ranked #1 of 11 El Remate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rural Virginian
Level Contributor
262 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great website, a little disappointed with staff's knowledge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

They have a terrific website and a beautiful hotel. The grounds are gorgeous and right near Lake Peten Itza. There’s a dock behind the property for swimming although I didn’t swim there as families were washing clothes and dishes in the lake.

The staff is friendly but we were disappointed—they don’t seem great at helping with less-well-known tourism stuff. For example, we wanted to go to Ixpanpajul park, which is mentioned on the don David website but the staffer didn’t have a suggestion for how to get there or know how far it was.

The on-site restaurant was great (but I was disappointed, they ran out of the vegetarian special on a night I really wanted to try it). Room rates include either breakfast or dinner special.

Free internet access and beautful grounds made this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank schlegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    105
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
86
163
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2009

This is a fantastic place in El Remate, which is about equidistant between Flores (where the airport is) and Tikal (where the Mayan temples are. It's worth staying closer to Tikal in order to get there early in morning - the trip from Casa Don David to Tikal is about 30 minutes and they can help you with all the logistics.

The restaurant is great, with good views over the lake. The grounds of the hotel are extensive and nice to stroll in and there's a good open room full of hammocks to relax in.

El Remate as a town doesn't have too much to offer, but it's as good or better than Flores.

  • Liked — the gardens, proximity to Tikal
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank linc0635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2009

We arrived at the Santa Elena airport right at dusk so I was a little leery about renting a car and driving to El Ramate (especially after riding the roads of the highlands in western Guatemala) in the dark, but the roads were good and the route to Tikal well marked so we had no problems. We rented the car from Tabarini and that worked out well (we did have to make the reservation in advance so that someone was at the airport to greet us and take us to their office across the road). It was almost 8:00 by the time we checked in and learned that they stop seating people in the restaurant at 8:00. They had a choice of two daily specials for the free meal and they were pretty good. It was hot so the banana split we got for dessert really hit the spot.

Our rooms were under the restaurant, but since we were there so late and left so early, noise was not a problem. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we were grateful for the A/C. They had parking for our rented car inside the gate, near our room, so we felt it was pretty safe.

We left to go to Tikal at about 5:15AM so we didn't eat breakfast at the motel, but we had stopped at the "Max Bodega" grocery store near the airport on our way in and picked up a few things for breakfast that we ate on the way to Tikal. We did order box lunches from the Don David to take with us and they were ready for pick up at 5:00AM. In retrospect, it probably would have been better to just buy something to make lunch from while we were at the Max Bodega.

One thing that we didn't realize was that although the park opens at 6:00AM, the gate is 17km from Tikal so we ended up waiting at the gate about 20 minutes until it opened. We could have slept in a little longer! We had hoped to see the sunrise from inside the park, but it's not possible to get there and walk to a temple before it gets light if you don't stay in the park. It was foggy when we got there and we actually did see the sun poke through the fog for the first time after it had burned off - probably about 8:00AM which turned out to be just fine.

We were really glad that we had a rented car so that we weren't tied to the schedule of the shuttles and were able to linger in the park as long as we wanted. We stopped by the Don David on our way back through El Remate just so we could walk around the grounds and see what it looked like in the daylight. The grounds were very nice and worth a visit in the light.

  • Liked — Convienent to Tikal
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lbkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

El Remate is a pretty great place to stay to be close to Tikkal. The hotel was decent, the rooms were clean and had hot water, although they were very basic. What was lacking in this hotel was a bulletin board at the reception, to help with trip planning and reserving private tours, especially for travelers traveling alone or in twos or threes. The dinner specials were good, but the portion sizes seemed more suited for a young child rather than an adult. Breakfasts were okay, but very poor value for money (almost a dollar for a refill on a mediocre cup of coffee!)

Overall I think this isn't a bad place to stay at, but they could do much better by making small changes at their hotel.

  • Liked — Proximity to Tikal National Park
  • Disliked — Poor value for money, especially when it comes to meals
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Natster09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2009

All the guidebooks we looked at recommended this place, so we said hey why not.

Pros: Beautiful hotel in great landscape. Right next the lake. Landscaped beautifully. The sunset is incredible.
You get a free meal each day. A/C. Warm shower. The staff is also very helpful and can take care of all you travel needs: transportation, tours, etc.

Cons: The rooms. Mosquitoes. We got eaten alive. Perhaps a mosquito candle or some repellent, or a net would have been nice. Also whatever laundry method they use does not work. The towels smelled gross and the sheets feel disgusting.

Overall the location is very convenient for Tikal and other sites. For the price though, I feel the quality of the rooms could have been better, especially when compared to Flores. But if your not concerned about that, otherwise i think the hotel is great. The staff is incredibly helpful and attentive.

  • Liked — location, staff
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mft9417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
170 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

La Casa de Don David in El Remate, Guatemala www.lacasadedondavid.com was our 2nd destination as part of a 13 day visit in Belize and Guatemala. My family of 4 (teenage daughter of 13 and 19 year old son) stayed at La Casa de Don David for 3 nights while visiting Tikal. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The restaurant food and staff were great. Tikal is only 30 minutes drive if you have your own car. Both Mr David and his wife Rosita were gracious hosts and a weath of helpful information. One day we took the 30 minute drive to Flores and walked around the small town an bought a few souvenirs. From El Remate we returned to the Belize City airport to return the rental car and headed to Caye Caulker. If you would like to see where else we stayed, check out Tripadvisor (La Casa de Don David Hotel in El Remate, Guatemala and Maxhapan Cabanas on Caye Caulker, Belize).

  • Liked — Mr David, Rosaita and restuarant staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2008

This was an amazing find. We used Casa de Don David as a base for 5 nights and went out each day. Only 20 minutes from Tikal on the collectivo (and yes, on one return trip , we had the female contingency of a family (Grandma, Daughter, & granddaughter on- board all holding beautifully colored and very much alive chickens ). The locations is beautiful, overlooking a point on the lake where each morning you could view children swimming and playing while their mothers do laundry, and nearby handsome horses are feeding. (It was incredibly picturesque, truly right out of National Geographic.) Our room was kept immaculate with fresh towels each day. All types of useful information is posted about site and nature tours, guides , boat rides and more. Everyone was very helpful and kind. David is on site and he is a wealth of information about the area historic and present.The food in the restaurant was delicious and healthy, with many vegetarian choices ( We opted to eat dinners here as well as breakfast because the food was so good as well as being reasonably priced.) I hope to return to the area again, and will definitely stay at Case de Don David.

  • Liked — Beauty of Grounds, Cleanliness, Friendliness
  • Disliked — Not enough hot water
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LovetoTravekwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Remate
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
16.8 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
9.5 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
14.0 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 17 in Flores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa De Don David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa De Don David

Property: La Casa De Don David
Address: Route to Tikal | in Downtown, El Remate 17022, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > El Remate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in El Remate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 15 min. From the entrance to Tikal, we welcome you to our little piece of paradise. Don David, Yohana Rodas (Administrator)and staff have lots of helpful information, services and tours. The hotel has 13 rooms with private bath, hot water shower, fan or A/C with one meal included (breakfast)and free limited WiFi in the restaurant, and a guest computer also available. Bottled water is free to our guests. Enjoy typical Guatemalan and international meals in the restaurant from 6:30 am to 9 pm overlooking Lake Peten Itza. Our recently added Maya Garden Fire Show is unique and special featuring the largest Maya fire ring in the world. Relax in a hammock on your varanda or in our Gazebo or view the sunset or birds, from our observation deck, featuring the Toucan Express - a 200m zip line providing drink service to the deck. Learn about exotic fruit and plants in our large botanical garden and walk around of the Mayan Sacred Tree (la Ceiba) circle showing the four cardinal directions. On event nights feature the 266 meter ring of fire show for all groups staying two nights or more in the large Maya garden. We will try our best to make your stay pleasant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa De Don David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing