We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reminded me of the old motor lodges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa De Don David
Ranked #1 of 11 El Remate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Reminded me of the old motor lodges”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2009

We loved this place. We stayed here as our launching point to explore Peten and Tikal. We traveled with our 3 young children, ages 10, 7 and 7. I highly recommend this for any family traveling with children over the age of 5. After 2 days in Guatemala city we were ready to be somewhere that the kids could run and we didn't have to worry, this is that place.

Don David's reminded us of those old motor lodges you'd stay at during those long family road trips. Nothing fancy just the basics. Your own hot shower, toilet and sink, a front porch to look over the common yard, clothes line to dry things out on, beds and a dining table and chairs. And of course the common eating area and store. What else would you need in this part of the world? They provided sheets, blankets, towels and fresh drinking water, fill your bottles all you want.

The store had all the conveniences you needed, forgot sunblock? They have it. Need bug spray? They have it. Dying for a cold ice cream bar in the sticky heat? Good Humor is there! Do you need an ice cold beer? Look no further. Exhausted and don't want to go out, a home cooked meal would hit the spot? The restaurant is it.

Would you rather spend your money locally than on some hotel chain? Don David is it. His employees are local, bright, smartly dressed, well informed and polite.

David himself is a sweet man, ex-pat from the US he built this place himself and he's adding on apartments for extended stay visitors. His wife Rosita was incredible she helped us along in ideas for things to do besides Tikal that would entertain the children. Speaking of which David had our kids all pumped for a special surprise on our last night, they had to be good. Sure enough he delivered with a tour of his gardens at night. He took the kids around and showed them lemongrass, all spice, banana tree, a little plant that you can make "go to sleep" a tree that can't live without a certain kind of ant and the ant can't live without the tree and finally tarantula's. (ok don't be scared people they are there and you didn't even know it) David explained the habitat of the spider to our children and they loved it.

I can't say much else about this place, lake Peten Itza is incredible clear warm water, we loved it here and hope to return. If you have any questions don't hesitate in contacting us for feedback.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    108
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
89
166
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2009

Stayed here a couple of days as walk-in's mid-February. Grounds are beautiful, restaurant is well-stocked and has good standard and vegetarian menus including daily specials. Staff is especially friendly and helpful and the amount of information available for touring the area is amazing. Don David is on site, friendly and helpful as well. Another plus is the good internet connection, offered for free to guests. Rooms are simple, but spotless and unlike other places in the region everything works (ie shower drains, toilet flushes, water is hot).

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yelnep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
154 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

This is not a luxury hotel. But it is a bargain for what it provides. It is a nice, clean facility with spacious landscaped grounds and a view of the lake and sunsets.
My wife and I paid $52 a night for room number 10, which might have been the most expensive room. That price included two vouchers for dinner, breakfast, or lunch. We thought the food was quite good. The food has a local flair, so don't expect gourmet meals. Unlimited free bottled water and free internet access were also provided.
American born David and his extended family run the place, and everyone was very friendly and attentive to our needs.
The room furnishings were basic, just below Motel 6 standards. For example, there was no bedside table. But it was clean and had airconditioning. The chairs and hammock on the porch were nice touches. It is about 30 minutes from the hotel to Tikal. The hotel can arrange private or group tours to a variety of area attractions.

  • Liked — The price.
  • Disliked — The furnishings in the room were too basic.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RoySandlapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobalt, Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

Although I only gave the hotel 3 stars, I would recommend it for visitors to Tikal, especially those staying only 1 or 2 days. It is at least 20 minutes closer to Tikal than Flores, saving you travel time. It is quite attractive (see my pictures), with lovely grounds. The rooms themselves are very simple, but clean. Minimal hot water - you have to be able to take a quick shower! The restaurant is convenient and has a nice view. Breakfast was good; there are only two choices for dinner every night (one vegetarian), and our meals the night we were there were satisfactory but nothing great.
The hotel made our arrangements for our Tikal tour. We went on the one that left at about 9 AM, with a hot restaurant lunch provided at Tikal (which was delicious). I believe this is a much better choice than the early morning tour with the box lunches.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lschroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2009

We stayed at La Casa De Done David after reading great reviews on Trip Advisor.

We stayed here 2 nights to visit Tikal (30 minutes away). We loved this hotel!

The Hotel:
Was clean and the decor fit the enviroment. It was "green" by having energy saving lights, filtered water for guests to refill their water bottles (they provided 1 liter of water per guest), compost organic waste, and encourage guests to conserve energy and water. The Hotel is located on a lake and has wonderful landscaping/gardens. They had free internet access to guests which was a nice perk.

The Room:
We stayed in room #5. It was very clean and basic (we were not looking for or expecting glam). The room had air conditioning and hot water in the shower. It had a hammock and chairs on the porch (I loved the hammock in the mornings while listening to the birds). The bed was a little too soft and tended to sage in the middle a bit (but overall was still comfortable). The noise level was minimal, and the most noise occured in the morning (chickens, birds, mostly). The first night we were woken by a barking dog at night, but after turning the air conditioning on it drowned out the sound. Most sounds at night are just the bugs. Their were screens on the windows, so it kept out the bugs.

The Restaurant:
The restaurant over looks the lake and is a wonderful place to watch the sunset. We had all our breakfasts and dinners here and the food (and pina coladas) were excellent!! The hotel provides meal vouchers for 1 free dinner or breakfast per person, per day. Prices were very good and all the food was freash.

The Staff:
What made our stay even nicer was the awesome staff. They helped us via email while arranging our trip (Thank you Delmy and Yolanda), and always provided helpful advise and quick responses. They helped us arrange a taxi to pick us up from the Belize City airport (about 4 1/2 hours away).
We were to arrive at the hotel late and the hotel called our driver to ask us if we will want dinner when we arrive. They would make sure that we would be fed even if the restaurant closed before we got there (we did make it before they closed). This was well beyond what I would expect. When we checked in we were greated with a smile and directed to our rooms.
All the staff at the front desk were extreamly helpful in planing our trips and answering all our questions. The waitstaff were always friendly and cheerful.

Overall:
This was a wonderful hotel in a very lovely area. Everyone at the hotel was wonderful and we really enjoyed our stay. This hotel met and beat our expectations!!!

  • Liked — Helpful Staff, Cleanliness, Food, That it was Green
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Riceinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

We stayed at La Casa De Don David in El Remate for 1 night, originally planning on two. *Note* the hotel is in El Remate about 20-30min east of Flores on the way to Tikal. For this very reason, it's location for an early AM visit to Tikal is perfect. We opted not to stay in the park (and while visiting I was glad... the 2-3 lodgings in the park are essentially backpacker hostels) and instead stayed here. Be sure to look this hotel up under El Remate for more in depth reviews.

As others have noted, the landscape and lakeside setting are great and the restaurant is nice. The website and materials on-site provide A TON of information about Tikal, Guatemala, the area, the Maya, history etc. etc. BUT, we were very disappointed in the quality of the rooms. A bare-bulb, white-wall, exposed mattress kind of room. The bathroom was bare, seemed clean but was bordering on icky. Holes in the bathroom screen were plugged with tape and t-p but didn't seem to work. A/C was marginal at best (woke up hot middle of night for no reason other than air had just ceased to be cool). We spent 15mins on mosquito elimination the night we stayed and still got eaten up while sleeping. The box-spring was bare, there was no mattress cover and the sheets and towels were simply gross (see other reviews on El Remate version).

We ended up only staying for one night and were equally disappointed with management's (David himself) response. Due to 3 factors: a scheduling/email mistake on my part, extension of our stay in Belize and the poor quality of the room, we decided within hours of arriving (at dinner) that we did not want to stay for a second night. We made our plea to David politely but he made it very clear from the get go that we could not get back what was .5 night of a 1.5 night up-front deposit if we left. I admittedly understood his view and was just as prepared to eat the $20 if we left but his demeanor and approach were unacceptable. Long story short, he essentially went on an old cranky man rant about the cost of running his hotel, the tax the government takes, people "like me" who don't care etc. The capstone was him literally daring/threatening me and my wife to get in a cab and head to Flores to find "a room with those great accommodations for $48 a night!!" and if we could he give all our money back. I had a car and almost took him up on it!

Ultimately, this place serves it purpose but there are far better value for price options in Flores and environs. In fact, when we bailed out early on Friday we found 3 great places in Flores all for $50 or less and ended up in one for $30!! Use this place as a launch pad for the night of a 1-2day visit to Tikal but I would bring lots of bug spray, your own towel, and not plan to stay much longer esp. if you think your plans might shift (as the often due traveling through Central America).

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank citytraveler1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2009

La Casa De Don David is located in a small village named El Remate which is about 30min outside of Flores. It's on the way to Tikal though so this means that when you're visiting the ruins the trip is shorter.

The hotel is beautiful, it has a great garden, is located on the shore of the Peten Itza lake and the rooms are spotless as well. A great plus for the free water they give you everyday when they make up your room.

The restaurant is very cozy, the food is great and included in your stay is one free meal a day (either breakfast or dinner).

We loved our stay here and we're sure to return!!

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location....
  • Disliked — There is not a lot to do in El Remate.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Remate
16.8 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
7.0 mi away
La Lancha Lodge
La Lancha Lodge
#2 of 6 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa De Don David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa De Don David

Property: La Casa De Don David
Address: Route to Tikal | in Downtown, El Remate 17022, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > El Remate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in El Remate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 15 min. From the entrance to Tikal, we welcome you to our little piece of paradise. Don David, Yohana Rodas (Administrator)and staff have lots of helpful information, services and tours. The hotel has 13 rooms with private bath, hot water shower, fan or A/C with one meal included (breakfast)and free limited WiFi in the restaurant, and a guest computer also available. Bottled water is free to our guests. Enjoy typical Guatemalan and international meals in the restaurant from 6:30 am to 9 pm overlooking Lake Peten Itza. Our recently added Maya Garden Fire Show is unique and special featuring the largest Maya fire ring in the world. Relax in a hammock on your varanda or in our Gazebo or view the sunset or birds, from our observation deck, featuring the Toucan Express - a 200m zip line providing drink service to the deck. Learn about exotic fruit and plants in our large botanical garden and walk around of the Mayan Sacred Tree (la Ceiba) circle showing the four cardinal directions. On event nights feature the 266 meter ring of fire show for all groups staying two nights or more in the large Maya garden. We will try our best to make your stay pleasant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa De Don David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing