We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and value, including breakfast or dinner.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa De Don David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa De Don David
Ranked #1 of 11 El Remate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Location and value, including breakfast or dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

We've always wanted to visit Tikal. Casa Don David is much closer to the Ruins than Flores. They picked us up at the Flores Airport in the evening and took us to a beautifully kept property at the East end of Lake Peten.
Don David and his staff were, without exception, pleasant, friendly and helpful, answering questions, making arrangements for our trips to the Tikal Ruins, etc.
Their commitment to "being Green" is obvious, so among other things, be prepared to take a short shower or you will run out of hot water.
Maps galore on the walls were very helpful. Meals were flavorful, vegetarian options too.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GayRetiredOregonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    105
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
86
163
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

Best restaurant for miles around and even some of the inexpensive rooms had air conditioning. You can easily arrange to be picked up early in the morning to tour Tikal just as it opens for visitors. We recommend your first morning going with a guide that they arrange and get some history and layout of everything. Rooms are spartan but clean and grounds are beautiful as is the restaurant and office area. Prices that they arrange for canopy tours or guides etc. are competitive or less than you will find on your own. Very good staff. They have a good website and easy to book online.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank culturetravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guatemala
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

The staff is extremely knowledgable about all of the activities in the area and make every effort to be helpful. The hotel is very comfortable and the restaurant and service in the restaurant is very good. Our trip to Tikal among other activities was organized by the hotel. It was a good value and a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodysheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

Great place to stay if you're looking to visit Tikal or Yaxha. The staff is friendly and always looking to help. The restaurant is very good so make sure you get your daily meal vouchers. Our room was always clean and the grounds are well maintained. We often found ourselves just laying in our room or sitting out in the hammock to take a break from the sun. La Casa has everything you would ever want or need when you want to relax after a day of trekking through Mayan ruins.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Jericho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

Don David's was the perfect location for our outings in El Peten. The staff, including Don David himself, were knowledgeable and friendly and eager to assist. The grounds were beautiful and the room ample, clean, and comfortable. The restaurant served delicious food at great prices. My 11 year old loved everything he was served. Of all three of our hotels in Guatemala, Don David's was our favorite!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

La Casa de Don David, hotel and restaurant were superb! The rooms were "tipico", clean and the ac cool. The food was the best. My favorite the sopa frijoles con fresh sour cream and the plantains fritas con crema. The view of the lake was spectacular and the grounds were beautiful with local flora and fauna. We enjoyed the hammocks that were on each porch and those in the kioska, where we could all relax together. The trips to Ixpanpajul and Tikal were awesome and the zip lining a thrill. We will definitely do it again as soon as possible!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charliekell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

We stayed at Don David's while visiting Tikal and had a very pleasant experience overall. There were 4 adults in our party. The rooms are spartan but they were clean and the bathrooms were fine. The main reason we stayed there was because it seemed to be the only reasonable accommodation with a/c close to Tikal. We stayed in the park the 1st night and went to Don David's after a full day sightseeing in the August heat so the a/c was great to have. One of our rooms had a bit of a problem with the a/c but the staff was excellent and the problem was resolved. In fact, we cannot say enough good things about Mel who was on duty the whole time we were there - he was extremely pleasant and helpful with all our needs including helping resolve some traveling problems . The grounds are lovely, breakfast in the morning was very good and the restaurant has a wonderful view. We were very happy we chose La Casa de Don David for our stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DilNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Remate
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
16.8 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
9.5 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
14.0 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 17 in Flores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa De Don David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa De Don David

Property: La Casa De Don David
Address: Route to Tikal | in Downtown, El Remate 17022, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > El Remate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in El Remate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 15 min. From the entrance to Tikal, we welcome you to our little piece of paradise. Don David, Yohana Rodas (Administrator)and staff have lots of helpful information, services and tours. The hotel has 13 rooms with private bath, hot water shower, fan or A/C with one meal included (breakfast)and free limited WiFi in the restaurant, and a guest computer also available. Bottled water is free to our guests. Enjoy typical Guatemalan and international meals in the restaurant from 6:30 am to 9 pm overlooking Lake Peten Itza. Our recently added Maya Garden Fire Show is unique and special featuring the largest Maya fire ring in the world. Relax in a hammock on your varanda or in our Gazebo or view the sunset or birds, from our observation deck, featuring the Toucan Express - a 200m zip line providing drink service to the deck. Learn about exotic fruit and plants in our large botanical garden and walk around of the Mayan Sacred Tree (la Ceiba) circle showing the four cardinal directions. On event nights feature the 266 meter ring of fire show for all groups staying two nights or more in the large Maya garden. We will try our best to make your stay pleasant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa De Don David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing