We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Rooms Available”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa De Don David
Ranked #1 of 12 El Remate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We choose this hotel because of the recomendations on this site and because they offered family rooms with a separate bedroom for the kids. Great value and a very nice place.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingNYfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2010

Really enjoyed our stay at La Casa Don David. We chose the place because it is the most convenient hotel to Tikal, but it is far and away the best hotel we stayed in in Central America. The lake that the hotel is situated on-- I forget the name-- has crystal clear waters that we swam in (and I'm not a huge swimmer in lakes in the US). The cool breezes are nice at night, and the views in the morning (from a hammock in the courtyard or in the gazebo) are spectacular.
My favorite part, however, was the food. The extremely friendly staff served a great menu well, and also enjoyed experimenting in making things for us that weren't on the menu, such banana milkshakes and a strawberry daiquiris.
Whatever type of accommodations you are accustomed to, the clean, air-conditioned, simple elegance of La Casa Don David will put you at ease and allow you to relax and enjoy this beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonpublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Wow, what a great place. The food especially. Fresh just-picked bananas from David's trees, tea made from allspice, also grown just outside, you can see it from the dining room. Very clean rooms, and close to Tikal. David's tour of the wildlife around the hotel is great. He and his family are so welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasRosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

This is one of the best homemade dinners that I had in my trip. The place was full and the service was fast. The ice cream was also a nice surprise.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonebiologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

The owners are quite friendly and keep the rooms quite clean. The bed sheets and towels smelled bleach clean. The location is right down the road from the Palomino Ranch Hotel so going horse-back riding around Lake Peten Itza is easy. The hotel is on Lake Peten Itza but you must walk out the front gate and around the premises to get to it. The yard is well-manicured but the burning brush pile sending smoke fumes across the yard was untimely.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
Thank psgriffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We've always wanted to visit Tikal. Casa Don David is much closer to the Ruins than Flores. They picked us up at the Flores Airport in the evening and took us to a beautifully kept property at the East end of Lake Peten.
Don David and his staff were, without exception, pleasant, friendly and helpful, answering questions, making arrangements for our trips to the Tikal Ruins, etc.
Their commitment to "being Green" is obvious, so among other things, be prepared to take a short shower or you will run out of hot water.
Maps galore on the walls were very helpful. Meals were flavorful, vegetarian options too.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GayRetiredOregonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Best restaurant for miles around and even some of the inexpensive rooms had air conditioning. You can easily arrange to be picked up early in the morning to tour Tikal just as it opens for visitors. We recommend your first morning going with a guide that they arrange and get some history and layout of everything. Rooms are spartan but clean and grounds are beautiful as is the restaurant and office area. Prices that they arrange for canopy tours or guides etc. are competitive or less than you will find on your own. Very good staff. They have a good website and easy to book online.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culturetravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Remate
16.9 mi away
Jungle Lodge Hotel
Jungle Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
713 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#2 of 4 in El Remate
259 reviews
17 mi away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
14 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
365 reviews
7 mi away
La Lancha Lodge
La Lancha Lodge
#2 of 6 in Santa Elena
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa De Don David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa De Don David

Address: Route to Tikal | in Downtown, El Remate 17022, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > El Remate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in El Remate
Price Range: £41 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 15 min. From the entrance to Tikal, we welcome you to our little piece of paradise. Don David, Yohana Rodas (Administrator)and staff have lots of helpful information, services and tours. The hotel has 13 rooms with private bath, hot water shower, fan or A/C with one meal included (breakfast)and free limited WiFi in the restaurant, and a guest computer also available. Bottled water is free to our guests. Enjoy typical Guatemalan and international meals in the restaurant from 6:30 am to 9 pm overlooking Lake Peten Itza. Our recently added Maya Garden Fire Show is unique and special featuring the largest Maya fire ring in the world. Relax in a hammock on your varanda or in our Gazebo or view the sunset or birds, from our observation deck, featuring the Toucan Express - a 200m zip line providing drink service to the deck. Learn about exotic fruit and plants in our large botanical garden and walk around of the Mayan Sacred Tree (la Ceiba) circle showing the four cardinal directions. On event nights feature the 266 meter ring of fire show for all groups staying two nights or more in the large Maya garden. We will try our best to make your stay pleasant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa De Don David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing