We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant place you must visit”
Review of Finca El Paraiso

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Izabal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finca El Paraiso
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A brilliant place you must visit”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

(This is about the waterfall)

Quite easy reachable from Rio Dulche this is really an extraordinary place, and only 10 Q entrance (10Q extra to park your car). A beautiful waterfall all by itself. But the water falling down the waterfall is hot, not warm, hot! In my opinion the perfect hot shower temperature. So you would stand or swim in the cold water of the bottom stream, and feel the hot water of the waterfall rain down on you. I could literally stay there for hours, fantastic!

You can also climb the waterfall and bathe in the hot pools that feed the waterfall. Imagine getting in a bath that's actually still a bit too hot, and you need a minute after you put your foot in before you can lower the rest of your body into the water. That's what's it's like :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasper Zoekt Mo... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    10
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
9
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Although crowded with tourists, this is a must-see waterfall! The river is cold, and the 12 meter waterfall is hot, making a cool swimming spot below the falls. You can stand under the falls, and have a hot pressure message on your shoulders. You can also duck under falls into a cave like hole (it's not too small. I am claustrophobic and could do it no problem). You can also climb to the top of the falls and relax in the hot pools of water. Walking further up the river, the jungle looks like no other jungle I've seen before - it is just beautiful! There is also a bat cave next to the waterfall, which smells terrible, but seeing the bats fly around was cool. We also saw a White Morpho butterfly here, so there is some wildlife. The waterfall is on a private "ranch," so you have to pay a $5 fee to get in. There is also a restaurant at the entrance. This is listed under the hotel category, but I don't think there is even camping here. We took "the bus," which was an overstuffed mini van from Rio Dulce. About a 30 minute ride. Plan to spend at least two hours here.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank smullen4677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This review is for Agua Caliente only. Although this really isn't a destination in itself if your in the area I would definitly recommend a stop at Agua Caliente on the Finca El Paraiso property. It was 10 Quesalies per head to enter and 10 to park. There is a restaurant at the entrance which we did not try. Agua Caliente is a short walk up an easy trail. It is a really special place. A wonderful waterfall of hot water, a couple of holes above the falls at hot tub temeratures and swimming hole below. Pretty darn cool.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This review is for the hot springs only. I have not been to the hotel. The springs are located about 45 minutes from Rio dulce. The parking is located next to the main road. A short 10 minute walk along the river will take you to the falls. Beautiful falls join the river. What makes the falls special is that the water from the falls is warm/hot. You can climb to the top of the falls and find small hot springs pools that then go down through the fall into the river. We spend some time on top of the falls in the hot water pools, it was relaxing. You can also swim to the walls of the falls and feel the warm water fall on top of you. There is a cave behind the falls that you can actually go into. The whole place is beautiful. There are some stairs going down to the river but it isn't that accessible to everyone. There are no changing rooms, no restrooms nearby, so be ready. A must visit when in Izabal.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank W0rldViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This hotel is basic, however for those travelling on budget, and looking for adventure it is a great place to stay. The rooms are small villas with two bedrooms and a bathroom in each. The restaurant serves great food and has a bar. There is a dock an water slide of lago Izabal, and the nature is beautiful! There is also an awesome hotsprings in the entry to the rainforest, i highly recommend going to it, it is unlike any other place! In the hot springs there is a spot where you can swim the back of the cave and swim through a tunnel to end up on the other side. A worthwhile experience!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emily m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Tried to make on online booking, of which there was no record when we arrived, late, after driving by the sign in the dark. We couldn't reach them by phone on the way there to confirm our reservation. No staff speak English, so one of our group needed to translate. The staff was helpful and accommodating though, especially since we arrived so late!

We paid Q500 for a triple room with AC, all they said they had left. The AC wasn't even working! It was a cold night, but there were only sheets on the beds - we asked for blankets, but they didn't have any, something even cheap hostels provide.

No hot water, no Internet. The rooms are VERY basic, no decoration. The slatted windows wouldn't close, and lots of mosquitos got in through the mesh somehow. Dinner options were few and meat only. Breakfast options in the morning were unclear - no menu available!

For a pricier, supposedly resort-style place to stay, Finca El Paraiso was a total disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunbuntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

This Hotel is 30 minutes away from Rio Dulce. Unless you have your own transportation you are stranded and at the mercy of staff that only want to charge outlandish prices. Dirty cabins, rude staff, bad food at expensive prices.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Izabal
23.5 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
24.7 mi away
Hotel Marina & Yacht Club Nana Juana
23.5 mi away
Banana Palms Hotel Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Tortugal River Lodge
Tortugal River Lodge
#2 of 18 in Rio Dulce
262 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hacienda Tijax
Hacienda Tijax
#3 of 18 in Rio Dulce
220 reviews
18.2 mi away
G Boutique Hotel at Mariscos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca El Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca El Paraiso

Property: Finca El Paraiso
Address: Izabal, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Izabal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Izabal
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Finca El Paraiso Hotel Izabal
Finca El Paraiso Guatemala/Izabal, Rio Dulce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing