We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why behave like this?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mansion del Rio
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Izabal
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My friends and I spent one night at this hotel on our way to Livingstone. It's in a very good location, easy to get to by road and by boat and was perfect for our needs. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and functional but a little overpriced even after we had negotiated the rate desite this large hotel being virtually empty.
We stayed in the hotel that evening and ate pinchos, wings etc with our beers. The staff were very friendly and helpful and all was good when we retired to our rooms but................
at 6:45 the following morning we were rudely awakened when workmen started bashing around in the corridor ceiling immediately outside our rooms and despite a call to reception requesting them to cease activities until around 9:00a.m. the work and the noise continued. The corridor outside our rooms was a complete mess and the workmen continued to bang, crash, shout and sing with total disregard to any hotel guests. At breakfast we asked to meet the hotel manager and eventually we were visited at our table by someone from the accounts department who explained to us that they were working on the ceiling, hence the noise and mess. No one could answer the BIG question i.e. despite this large hotel standing almost empty why did they choose to put us in three rooms that were directly at the point where workers would be starting their noisy and messy activities at 6:45 a.m.? Such a shame that an otherwise perfectly good hotel can be spoilt by such blatant disregard to their guests enjoyment. The place needs a change of management.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peckhamgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

Hotel Mansion del Rio is a bit out of ‘town’ and one would need its own transport to get there and away. This is ‘a grand’ property in terms of scale. The location is good to start your boat trip from Rio Dolce to the national park to Livingston (lago de Izabal). It has a private and secure car park. The outdoor restaurant (breakfast, lunch and dinner) has a nice view over the lake so had the room (with balcony) which we had and was on the scond floor. Internet access is very limited and was at the time of staying only available in the reception and the open bar on the ground floor and the second floor in the same area. Although the hotel claims it is available access was intermitted! The hotel provides a lot of equipment to enjoy (peddalo’s, kayaks, and Mountain bikes), we were however not allowed to cycle outside the gate. The music around the swimming pool is probably great for teen-agers but far too loud for anybody else.

Room Tip: The rooms at the second floor have a balcony and a nice view over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allard-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Very good location. Silent place on the riverside, beautiful view for the river, nice hudge rooms, unfortunately weak breakfasts. Good for 1-2 nights for boattrips to caraibean atmosphera of Livingstone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrzej R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I stayed 3 nights there mostly for overnight while visiting the near and far atractions, good place for rest, the room had a nice garden view but I saw the lake rooms and they have a nicer one. A/C worked great, some of the services may com expensive (like room service with 40% over price) but staff was great with us. The place is a bit isolated so if you do not have a car you will need taxis or boats to move around, the castle is about 2 miles from the hotel and if you are well fit you can use one of the free bikes from the hotel. The rooms was clean and the bathroom big enought, just the I have some problems to come out from the shower because the hight. In general I liked very much.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms are better for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene_Sanchinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My wife and I stayed there for a night, very expensive 140 dollars, but the accomodations were very nice, far from the river but i needed to relax and the apartment was very nice, with the exception of the price, I was so tired that well we took it, but a one time deal, not going back to that place again, will recomend it to people that can afford that kind of price , luxury apartments, am not sure about the ones by the river since we were told there were no vacancies, and we only saw one person the next day, so am not so convinced about that, i think they just took advantage of us./ (( Jose and Daisi P ))

Room Tip: take the condo, they have a swiming pool and jacuzzi in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

This is the worst hotel I've stayed at in any price range, much less for $150 USD. The staff is unhelpful. The rooms are incredibly old, dirty and the comforter had literally worn all the way through. There is a dirty ring around the wall where it nears the floor. Paint is cheap. Bedding is cheap. What are they thinking? There is no internet anywhere in the hotel other than the lobby, which is a reception/administration area, not a public area for guests. No internet in the restaurant or anywhere else but the reception desk, I was told. You are greeted by them taking a detailed inventory of the stuff in your room and count each towel, each item in the room and have you sign off on it. Thanks - way to make a amazing first impression... The bed is rock hard. They would not even permit us to park our motorcycles under the roof, where there are 8 other motorcycles, bicycles and automobiles with covers on them. The guest is the last thing on their minds and that is probably why they are mostly empty and appear to be on the verge of going out of business. I only wish I had read the other horrible reviews before we arrived, but my wife was very tired I didn't want to force her to ride back into town to look for another hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nolatraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We spend one night an that day rain lake never, power went out around 9:00 and came back next day at 8:00 no sleep at all for the entire night, in the morning they still charge the full amount, went I had to fine another place to slip. don't go there save your many.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noname0123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Izabal
21.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
281 reviews
21 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
100 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Marina & Yacht Club Nana Juana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 8 in Livingston
359 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 8 in Livingston
43 reviews
2.3 mi away
Catamaran Island Hotel
Catamaran Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Livingston
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mansion del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mansion del Rio

Address: Bahia Paraiso, Rio Dulce, Izabal, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Izabal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Izabal
Price Range: £79 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mansion del Rio 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansion del Rio Hotel is the biggest on the shores of rio dulce, Izabal. Priviledge location between rio dulce and the biggest lake of Guatemala, Lake Izabal. Has all needed services to make your stay unforgetable on the guatemalan caribbean. You will experience natural adventure as you have never done before, we guarantee you. Rio dulce is a unvaluable and beautiful destination to see. Come and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Mansion del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Del Rio Hotel Izabal
Mansion Del Rio Izabal
Hotel Mansion Del Rio Guatemala/Izabal, Rio Dulce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing