We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mansion del Rio
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Izabal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ridiculous!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Spent two days here and it was clear that the health and safety of the guests was not no even a priorioty. Expensive and poorly maintained.
Had to argue with management aboun a slippery area leading up to the deck area to have them set a temporary platform (two pallets) so people will stop falling there. Saw 25 people fall in this area before the pallets were placed. Saw children gettjng splinters from the poorli cared for board walks and the chiped paint on the water slide. The only courteous people were the maids and the guys in chafge of the boats and kayaks wich were free to use for guest. What out for holes on the decks and very slippery floors.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank N C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    53
    28
    9
    15
See reviews for
42
40
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Jeannet, France
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

This is a simple resort with large rooms without any character, and serious limitations in terms of front desk service. The only exceptional quality is its location, on the riverside in Rio Dulce, in what is a National Park, on paper at least. Given its location, it should strive to educate the tourist regarding the extraordinary ecosystem it is occupying, beyond having a plaster crocodile on a bench by the pool.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Malagueta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night in this hotel during our two weeks in Guatemala. Easily the worst hotel I've ever stayed in, but be careful, our guides said that despite our bad experiene it's even worse in the other hotels in the area! Anyway hotel was virtually empty, the rooms are very basic and smell of mould! In the middle of the night our toilet burst flooding the bathroom. It took maintenance over 30 minutes to come and then they just mopped up the floor. When we asked for a new room they just looked blankly and asked "what for"????!!! It took us another hour to get another room which smelled like hell and had a dodgy aircon. The next morning the restaurant opened 30 minutes late and despite offering to pay extra we weren't allowed to opt for a proper breakfast! To top it all checkout took almost an hour!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Izabal hotels

Antigua, Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My friends and I spent one night at this hotel on our way to Livingstone. It's in a very good location, easy to get to by road and by boat and was perfect for our needs. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and functional but a little overpriced even after we had negotiated the rate desite this large hotel being virtually empty.
We stayed in the hotel that evening and ate pinchos, wings etc with our beers. The staff were very friendly and helpful and all was good when we retired to our rooms but................
at 6:45 the following morning we were rudely awakened when workmen started bashing around in the corridor ceiling immediately outside our rooms and despite a call to reception requesting them to cease activities until around 9:00a.m. the work and the noise continued. The corridor outside our rooms was a complete mess and the workmen continued to bang, crash, shout and sing with total disregard to any hotel guests. At breakfast we asked to meet the hotel manager and eventually we were visited at our table by someone from the accounts department who explained to us that they were working on the ceiling, hence the noise and mess. No one could answer the BIG question i.e. despite this large hotel standing almost empty why did they choose to put us in three rooms that were directly at the point where workers would be starting their noisy and messy activities at 6:45 a.m.? Such a shame that an otherwise perfectly good hotel can be spoilt by such blatant disregard to their guests enjoyment. The place needs a change of management.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peckhamgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Hotel Mansion del Rio is a bit out of ‘town’ and one would need its own transport to get there and away. This is ‘a grand’ property in terms of scale. The location is good to start your boat trip from Rio Dolce to the national park to Livingston (lago de Izabal). It has a private and secure car park. The outdoor restaurant (breakfast, lunch and dinner) has a nice view over the lake so had the room (with balcony) which we had and was on the scond floor. Internet access is very limited and was at the time of staying only available in the reception and the open bar on the ground floor and the second floor in the same area. Although the hotel claims it is available access was intermitted! The hotel provides a lot of equipment to enjoy (peddalo’s, kayaks, and Mountain bikes), we were however not allowed to cycle outside the gate. The music around the swimming pool is probably great for teen-agers but far too loud for anybody else.

Room Tip: The rooms at the second floor have a balcony and a nice view over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allard-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
834 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 717 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Very good location. Silent place on the riverside, beautiful view for the river, nice hudge rooms, unfortunately weak breakfasts. Good for 1-2 nights for boattrips to caraibean atmosphera of Livingstone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrzej R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I stayed 3 nights there mostly for overnight while visiting the near and far atractions, good place for rest, the room had a nice garden view but I saw the lake rooms and they have a nicer one. A/C worked great, some of the services may com expensive (like room service with 40% over price) but staff was great with us. The place is a bit isolated so if you do not have a car you will need taxis or boats to move around, the castle is about 2 miles from the hotel and if you are well fit you can use one of the free bikes from the hotel. The rooms was clean and the bathroom big enought, just the I have some problems to come out from the shower because the hight. In general I liked very much.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms are better for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene_Sanchinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Izabal
21.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
259 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
340 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Marina & Yacht Club Nana Juana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Catamaran Island Hotel
Catamaran Island Hotel
#5 of 9 in Livingston
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Banana Palms Hotel Resort & Marina
11.5 mi away
Denny's Beach Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mansion del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mansion del Rio

Property: Hotel Mansion del Rio
Address: Bahia Paraiso, Rio Dulce, Izabal, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Izabal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Izabal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mansion del Rio 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansion del Rio Hotel is the biggest on the shores of rio dulce, Izabal. Priviledge location between rio dulce and the biggest lake of Guatemala, Lake Izabal. Has all needed services to make your stay unforgetable on the guatemalan caribbean. You will experience natural adventure as you have never done before, we guarantee you. Rio dulce is a unvaluable and beautiful destination to see. Come and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mansion del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Del Rio Hotel Izabal
Mansion Del Rio Izabal
Hotel Mansion Del Rio Guatemala/Izabal, Rio Dulce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing