We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panama Highlands - fresh and wonderfully cool”
Review of Hotel Dos Rios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dos Rios
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Volcan
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Dos Rios has a lot going for it - decent rooms, good service, great location, fresh air, beautiful gardens. It is well set back from the road, so trucks roaring by are well muffled. The restaurant - well, it depends what you order. Small problems were attended to promptly and successfully, but one bigger problem is much tougher to fix. The walls between rooms are so thin that a snoring client two rooms away was clearly audible all night, as were all conversations in the next room. Bring earplugs. Yes, it's true, when Volcan Baru is in the clear, the view is glorious.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper level rooms if possible as the lower level will hear all the footsteps on the floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while birding with Birding Panama. We would absolutely visit again. We stayed in a suite and it was very charming, clean, and comfortable with a wonderful of the gardens and Volcan Baru. The laundry service was excellent and prices are reasonable. The restaurant is very nice and while we would have preferred Panamanian-style food, their specialty is Italian cuisine and it was delicious, so no complaints here.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor and a corner room and a quieter experience and better view. If you end up on a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jitterbugjamey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

A quiet and peaceful hotel with a brook running through the middle of it. It is also 'kid' friendly with a playground area. I stayed two separate nights and found it very restful. The restaurant is average, but has a solid food menu with a varied selection. The view of Volcan Baru as the sun sets is breathtaking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is my third stay at Dos Rios in four years and I am liking it a little more each time i room there. The grounds are well kept and the rooms are clean with modern bathrooms. The restaurant is merely average and it's difficult to understand how some of the reviewers find it to be "excellent" when every time I have stayed there, some items on the menu are unavailable and I guess. Also, the price of laundry is $1.50 per item which seemed awfully expensive so I took my clothes to a bundle service down the road and had it cleaned for $3.00 a washer load, which came out to 50 cents an item and it was only a half load. Overall this is one of the nicer hotels that I have stayed in while visiting Panama.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter. There are better restaurants in Volcan, just look around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berdnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed with my whole family for three nights and enjoyed every minute of it. Been there a number of times in the past and can see that the owners do their best to improve the place. The restaurant is excellent and prices are very good. Atmosfere is perfect.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk about thinks to do in the area, they are very knowledgeable and friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emanuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This historic hotel in the town of Volcan happens to be the undiscovered gem today hidden under the buzz of Boquete as the main destiny for retirement and tourism. We stayed two nights and were very pleased with the place, nice and clean rooms, good attention, convenient restaurant and very reasonable prices. Connected to Boquete through a new road over the mountains by Cuesta de Piedra, we found Volcan as a premier choice with plenty of things to do, and great restaurants without the high prices and frequent unavailability of Boquete.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Arturo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I love going back to this hotel every time I come to visit. The staff is very friendly, the gardens are extremely beautiful, and I absolutely enjoy listening to the sounds of nature at night (the rivers).

Last time I suggested to have a better breakfast, the one in the past was very basic. To my surprise, this time around, they completely upgraded the COMPLEMENTARY breakfast and its very good! Eggs, pancakes, cereal, bacon, and lots of fruit!

I was very happy that my suggestion was taken into consideration.

I absolutely recommend going there to stay and eat (it really has the best food in town).

If you can spend a little bit more in the room, I would suggest the suites (they have a private balcony near the river) and its also wider. The WIFI connection was pretty good all around (something I needed to keep up with work back home).

If you want to really feel like you are breathing fresh air and dont mind listening to the river while you sleep, this is the best place for you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alejandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcan
3.8 mi away
Hotel Bambito Resort
Hotel Bambito Resort
#2 of 4 in Volcan
152 reviews
0 mi away
Cabanas Dr. Esquivel
Cabanas Dr. Esquivel
#4 of 4 in Volcan
12 reviews
11.9 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#4 of 12 in Boquete
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
15.9 mi away
La Montana y el Valle Coffee Estate Inn
16.5 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dos Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dos Rios

Address: Nueva California 43, Volcan 0424, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Volcan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Volcan
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dos Rios 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Dos Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dos Rios Panama/Volcan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing