We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience in Custer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience in Custer!”
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We were extremely impressed with our recent two-night stay at the Holiday Inn Express Custer. Check in was quick and efficient with two very friendly staffers. Rooms were clean and comfortable -- bed and linens were excellent! Swimming pool was enjoyed by the kids. Kudos especially to the hard-working breakfast staff. Best free-breakfast buffet we've seen in our travels, and the staff members worked diligently to ensure that everything was well-stocked, even over the busy Memorial Day weekend. Location was excellent, close enough to walk into Custer for dinner and quick drive to Crazy Horse Memorial, Mount Rushmore and Custer State Park. Great experience! Well done, Holiday Inn Express Custer!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank craft_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    174
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
240
191
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

my husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express while touring South Dakota. We found the hotel to be very well located while we visited Mt Rushmore (ranger tour was excellent), the badlands, Deadwood, and Custer State park.
Kim seems to run the entire Hotel and does a marvelous job. Great help with directions and touring. Breakfast was more than adequate (great pancake machine) and the rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. free internet.
Would not hesitate to return for another visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4cheerysmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleair, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Very nice, new facility at the end of town. Our GPS also tried to send us the wrong way, but we just went by the address and it was easy to find. Super friendly staff at check in and at breakfast in the morning. Our room was spotless with a comfy bed and a huge bathroom and lovely shower. Morning breakfast was perfect...nice selection and always being re-stocked. You could also get hot water at night and have a cup of tea. Perfect spot for us and a nice change of pace after our accomodations in Badlands National Park. If you have kids, the location would be ideal since there is a mini-golf course next door and some Flinstones park across the street.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHague
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Having stayed in Rapid City, I was far more impressed by Custer as a base for touring the Black Hills. Much less touristy and more homely. The HIE Custer blends into the surroundings quite nicely, a modern fake-log building with plenty of parking, about 10 minutes walk from the centre of town.

Next door is a fantastic crazy golf course open until late in the evening, although if you want the place to yourself then go before lunchtime.

Rooms seemed quite and clean, breakfast time busy but always a place to sit down, pool crowded but bigger than average for this level of hotel.

Pizza Hut a short drive away, a Dairy Queen in the centre of town and a great bar & steak horse called Dark Horse (cold imported Warsteiner beer !) just up the street.

My only gripes would be the fact that the hotel is relatively expensive, secondly the staff are a bit clueless. More worryingly. trying to make an international phone call from the hotel room was an ordeal and a half, amazingly it wasn't possible to dial abroad from the room. The hotel staff I spoke not only didn't have a clue as to phone abroad in general, none of them had ever made an international call in their lives ! Thanks people. In the end a call to the AT&T operator solved my problem. I also had an issue with a hospital visit while there, again, the front desk staff were utterly clueless.

All the same, I'd return if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casualist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We had a great experience staying at the Holiday Inn Express while we were in the Black Hills for a family reunion. We have two young children who had a really good time. it is right across teh road from the flinstone park which the kids loved! the staff was also very friendly and helpful and suggested different places and things for us to do! We will definately be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montrosemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express on the first leg of a long driving vacation that took us from Denver to Rushmore (why we stayed here) and then onto Devil's Tower and Yellowstone. The staff here was very friendly, and the property itself seemed very new. We had a special corner room that had a separate bedroom from the main bedroom, which worked out well since we had our kids along. I left the interior lights on in my car, and the hotel security noticed and did contact me to let me know (thanks!), averting what could have been a disaster (we had a hybrid, who knows how long that battery would have lasted?).

A few notes:
- Our Garmin GPS put the hotel on the opposite side of town. Not a big deal, since the town is small and it was on the same main street that it was supposed to be on.
- The WiFi signal in our corner room was spotty at best. There was a wired connection, and that worked fine.
- They have a nice water feature behind the hotel that supposedly attracts wildlife. I am inclined to believe them.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkFloyd2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We had heard good things from friends and the reviews here were very positive, so we decided to base our Black Hills trip from this hotel. It is a beautiful, new property, located a few blocks from downtown Custer. We opted for the "two room suite," which is really a king bedroom with a door and a large room with a queen and a fold out sofa sleeper. The room was very comfortable for my family, which consisted of my wife and I, our 6 and 8 year old sons and our 1 year old daughter.

The hotel had a great, hot, free breakfast, centered on the HI Express cinnamon rolls. My kids had plenty of choices to eat and enjoyed it without complaining. The dining area also overlooks the rocky hill behind the hotel and the water feature, which is very nice.

The kids enjoyed the pool, which was a little cold and a little crowded.

I would definitely stay here if vacationing in the Black Hills. We have recommended to several friends, who also had very positive experiences at this property.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JusticeSalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
12.1 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.5 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 17 in Custer
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Custer

Property: Holiday Inn Express Custer
Address: 433 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Custer
#4 Romantic Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful views of the Black Hills of South Dakota at our Custer hotel. Travelers will enjoy a comfortable stay at our newly-built, non-smoking Holiday Inn Express Custer hotel, located conveniently off Highway 16. The whole family is sure to enjoy staying at our charming hotel in Custer, South Dakota. Situated in the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota, our contemporary Custer hotel is just minutes from several of South Dakota's most popular attractions including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Custer State Park. Other nearby sights and attractions include Bear Country USA, Evans Plunge and Jewel Cave, the second longest cave in the world. Unlike some hotels in South Dakota that can be disappointing, business travelers are sure to be pleased and impressed with the accommodations our Custer hotel provides. Along with breathtaking views and close proximity to many Custer, South Dakota attractions, our hotel in Custer is also located near a variety of companies such as Custer Hospital, Pacer Corporation and the US Forest Service. During your visit to Custer, South Dakota, take time to relax by our indoor, heated pool and work out in the fitness center. Also, make sure you try our complimentary hot breakfast bar that features our signature cinnamon rolls. Start planning your South Dakota vacation or business trip now, and enjoy the best Custer hotel deals and rates. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Custer Hotel Custer
Holiday Inn Custer
Custer Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing