We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, this is a super nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I'm hard pressed to think of anything that was not perfect. Maybe slightly slippery pool steps and bananas being the only fruit offered at breakfast for 4 straight days. There are 2 washers & dryers on each floor, so that is real nice - no need to run up and down the elevator checking on your laundry. And somehow the A/C even seemed quieter than the usual hotel unit. A bit pricy, especially on weekends. Internet was a little slow at all times. But this place has their act together.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face the scenic hillside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1234Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2011

We LOVED this hotel! It was very clean and roomy. One of our better stay's in western South Dakota. The pool is well taken care of and they have a gorgeous man made waterfall in back of the property. Staff seemed friendly. The fitness center on site is also better than many. This hotel is also directly across the street from "Flintstones Bedrock City: Theme Park & Campground". Only negative is that their internet seems to be slow, but it's free!

Room Tip: Call Holiday Inn 800 number and ask for best rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inocense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed two nights over memorial day weekend and had a great time. Arriving in the rain on the final leg of our very long road trip, we spent ample time in the lobby playing cards, watching tv and drinking coffee and tea. The hotel was very clean and must have been nearly brand new.

As stated in the other reviews, there is nice landscaping outside, complete with a waterfall, tables and chairs. The staff was friendly and was helpful in choosing a restaurant and seemed knowledgable about the area in general. The staff seemed genuinely happy to be at work.

Since it was memorial day weekend, breakfast was very busy at 7:30am but tables opened up fairly quickly. (If any employees are reading this, I suggest splitting up all the breakfast stations so you can grab and go without being stuck behind the pancake machine) On our last day, we had to leave before breakfast was officially open, luckily they stock the coffee early and have a few items ready for us early birds.

Room Tip: Book early, prepay online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cudazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed one night here over Memorial Day weekend. Hotel is newer and is very beautiful. Back of hotel there is a waterfall, nice patio, and a fire pit. It was quite lovely and cozy. Pool was nice, if a bit chilly. Service was excellent. Suite was huge and beds were comfy. Large area for the breakfast but because it was a holiday weekend it was packed. We went down twice but there were no tables and long line-hotel was doing a great job of restocking but we needed to get on our way. This was not the hotel's fault but I recommend getting up early on a holiday weekend to get the breakfast. We would absolutely stay here again. Our only complaint was with rude guests that were allowing their kids to run up and down the halls at 7 am..(they were actually having races!).I was there with little ones too but they know they need to be quiet in the hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wrigsassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We were extremely impressed with our recent two-night stay at the Holiday Inn Express Custer. Check in was quick and efficient with two very friendly staffers. Rooms were clean and comfortable -- bed and linens were excellent! Swimming pool was enjoyed by the kids. Kudos especially to the hard-working breakfast staff. Best free-breakfast buffet we've seen in our travels, and the staff members worked diligently to ensure that everything was well-stocked, even over the busy Memorial Day weekend. Location was excellent, close enough to walk into Custer for dinner and quick drive to Crazy Horse Memorial, Mount Rushmore and Custer State Park. Great experience! Well done, Holiday Inn Express Custer!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank craft_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

my husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express while touring South Dakota. We found the hotel to be very well located while we visited Mt Rushmore (ranger tour was excellent), the badlands, Deadwood, and Custer State park.
Kim seems to run the entire Hotel and does a marvelous job. Great help with directions and touring. Breakfast was more than adequate (great pancake machine) and the rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. free internet.
Would not hesitate to return for another visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4cheerysmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Very nice, new facility at the end of town. Our GPS also tried to send us the wrong way, but we just went by the address and it was easy to find. Super friendly staff at check in and at breakfast in the morning. Our room was spotless with a comfy bed and a huge bathroom and lovely shower. Morning breakfast was perfect...nice selection and always being re-stocked. You could also get hot water at night and have a cup of tea. Perfect spot for us and a nice change of pace after our accomodations in Badlands National Park. If you have kids, the location would be ideal since there is a mini-golf course next door and some Flinstones park across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
12.1 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.5 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 18 in Custer
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Custer

Address: 433 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#4 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range: £83 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful views of the Black Hills of South Dakota at our Custer hotel. Travelers will enjoy a comfortable stay at our newly-built, non-smoking Holiday Inn Express Custer hotel, located conveniently off Highway 16. The whole family is sure to enjoy staying at our charming hotel in Custer, South Dakota. Situated in the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota, our contemporary Custer hotel is just minutes from several of South Dakota's most popular attractions including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Custer State Park. Other nearby sights and attractions include Bear Country USA, Evans Plunge and Jewel Cave, the second longest cave in the world. Unlike some hotels in South Dakota that can be disappointing, business travelers are sure to be pleased and impressed with the accommodations our Custer hotel provides. Along with breathtaking views and close proximity to many Custer, South Dakota attractions, our hotel in Custer is also located near a variety of companies such as Custer Hospital, Pacer Corporation and the US Forest Service. During your visit to Custer, South Dakota, take time to relax by our indoor, heated pool and work out in the fitness center. Also, make sure you try our complimentary hot breakfast bar that features our signature cinnamon rolls. Start planning your South Dakota vacation or business trip now, and enjoy the best Custer hotel deals and rates. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Custer Hotel Custer
Holiday Inn Custer
Custer Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing