We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST OKAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Upon check in for our 6 night stay the front desk was not able to accomodate our request for the higher floor away from the elevator and ice machine - instead exactly the opposite. First major disappointment. We had a noise issue above and the staff was quick to respond.
On a positive note the room and bathroom were clean. Good location for most of the area attractions.
Could not understand why there were 2 motorcycles parked in the handicap area.
WiFi was extremely slow because they have a low level router.
Air conditioner did not operate properly.
Staff did not go out of their way to acknowledge us when we walked out or back in.
Breakfast bar - the first couple of days it was well staffed and maintained and then for some unknown reason food was not being replenished nor did the staff care. The pancake machine did not operate for approximately 3 days, one day there was only skim milk for coffee, the omelettes were burned, and the food trays were empty.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kniden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank your for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. Sorry to hear that you had a less than average stay with us. This is not the normal for our property as we take a lot of pride in making sure each and every guest has a great experience. Your comments mean a lot to us and we will be striving to fix these issues. Hope you will give us another shot in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hotel was clean and the location was great for us. Staff was friendly and welcoming. The room had a fridge and microwave which came in handy.

We never tried the breakfast but were planning to on our last day. They start serving at 6:30 am. We got there at 6:40 am and it was already crowded and most of the food was gone. We didn't wait to see how soon they replenished. And because we liked the breakfast down the street at the Cowboy Cafe we decided to eat our last meal in Custer there.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauiAndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Epress while visiting Custer. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff met your needs. Also, thanks for taking the time to comment on our property. Hope the next time you are in the Custer area, you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn Express. Very clean, nice room even had a balcony! Great place to stay in the area of Mount Rushmore or Wind Cave. Breakfast Buffet could use alittle assistance as not eveyone knows how to operate the pancake machine and use OJ not Orange Drink please.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Nice that you were able to have a suite with a balcony, as they are very sought after. Sorry to hear that the breakfast was not up to par, but we are always striving to make it better. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

From the lobby to the pool area to the outside firepit this place personifies class. The rooms were typical from the brand but everything else puts this property in a class by itself. Service was great and the town of Custer was really neat as well. Not as busy as the other areas and that was perfectly fine with our family. Close enough to Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse to be the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpharkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed some of the extra amenities our property offers. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you the next time you are in the Black Hills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, breakfast was typical, coffee was good. The waterfall and firepit were a welcome feature. We spent both nights sitting around the pit and talking with fellow travelers. NIce touch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoraG90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. Very happy that you enjoyed your stay and also enjoyed the back patio. Hope to see you the next time you are in the Custer area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The outside of the hotel combined with the lobby area is very cool and has a great feel to it. However, the rooms need some updating. It was clean and everything but it just sort of felt like a Super 8 once you were inside your room. However, I was very pleased with our stay and overall there was nothing wrong with it. The breakfast was good and there's a very cool outdoor patio in the back complete with a fire pit and a cool water feature. The hotel is in a pretty good location and is worth the price of stay. I would stay here again if given the chance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyGee1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Custer. We are happy that you were able to take the time to write a review on our property. Its always nice to get positive feedback from our guests. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our visit in Custer was nice! The "backyard" of this property is very pretty with the waterfalls and fire pits. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was super, it was busy but the staff really stayed on top of the rush constantly refreshing the missing items. They are to be commended. We had a 2 room suite and it worked perfectly for our family of 5. The pool was a nice size, although I think the balance was off, because after about 20 minutes of watching my kids swim, my eyes were tearing from the chlorine. That was a bummer, but I still wouldn't hesitate to stay here in the future. Lovely place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnegrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and all of our amenities. Sorry to hear about the chlorine level, we try our best to stay on top of that. Again, thank you for staying at the HIE in Custer and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
12.1 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.5 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 18 in Custer
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Custer

Address: 433 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Custer
#4 Romantic Hotel in Custer
Price Range: £84 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful views of the Black Hills of South Dakota at our Custer hotel. Travelers will enjoy a comfortable stay at our newly-built, non-smoking Holiday Inn Express Custer hotel, located conveniently off Highway 16. The whole family is sure to enjoy staying at our charming hotel in Custer, South Dakota. Situated in the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota, our contemporary Custer hotel is just minutes from several of South Dakota's most popular attractions including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Custer State Park. Other nearby sights and attractions include Bear Country USA, Evans Plunge and Jewel Cave, the second longest cave in the world. Unlike some hotels in South Dakota that can be disappointing, business travelers are sure to be pleased and impressed with the accommodations our Custer hotel provides. Along with breathtaking views and close proximity to many Custer, South Dakota attractions, our hotel in Custer is also located near a variety of companies such as Custer Hospital, Pacer Corporation and the US Forest Service. During your visit to Custer, South Dakota, take time to relax by our indoor, heated pool and work out in the fitness center. Also, make sure you try our complimentary hot breakfast bar that features our signature cinnamon rolls. Start planning your South Dakota vacation or business trip now, and enjoy the best Custer hotel deals and rates. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Custer Hotel Custer
Holiday Inn Custer
Custer Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing