We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay while vIsiting Rushmore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay while vIsiting Rushmore”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here one night while visiting Rushmore. The location was very good for our itinerary. We wanted to see Crazy Horse which was about a mile up the road on the way to Mt. Rushmore. Also, Jewel Cave was about 13 miles to the west of Custer, We reserved a king room which was an nice size. The room had a refrigerator and microwave. The room and bathroom were clean an. The Lobby area was impressive with the open air beams. Breakfast in the morning was as expected. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and our ammenities. We hope that you will make HIE your stop the next time you are in the Custer area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    174
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
240
191
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Otsego, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. Our room was spacious, clean, and decorated very nicely. The breakfast was awesome. Great selection of hot and cold foods and beverages. It was in a good location in town - you could walk everywhere - and yet it was far enough away from the big crowds. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we take pride in our property and its always nice to hear that hard work does pay off. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayzata, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We're not much for camping in my family and it was surprisingly hard to find to find a place to stay that wasn't a motel or a campground or cabin while on a road trip to South Dakota. We opted for a suite so we had a bit more room and a refrigerator to store snacks and water, and were really happy with the space.

The hotel itself is nice - it has a lodge feel in the lobby and breakfast area. Breakfast was hot and was included in the price. The pancake machine broke one morning but we somehow managed to survive. :)There was a nice patio outside the breakfast area with tables, a little waterfall and a fire pit. We didn't try the pool but it smelled like it had a LOT of chlorine in it. Our room was clean and the beds were REALLY comfortable so everyone slept well. They also had laundry facilities, which was nice since my husband had some gas splash him at a gas station on the way. The front desk had single-use detergent for $1.

Custer ended up being a perfect spot to use as our base for the first part of our trip - it's literally in the middle of everything. It was minutes from Custer State Park's Wildlife Loop and the Needles Highway drive. Wind Cave and Jewel Cave are also really accessible and The Crazy Horse monument is also minutes away. Recommended for a family interested in seeing all of the sights in the area. Check out the Rock Shop in downtown Custer - they have some fun souvenirs like petrified wood, rocks of all kinds, fossils and agate bookends. The kids loved it.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can - the extra space is great, amy you can keep water and healthy snacks on hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for staying at the Holiay Inn Express during your most recent visit to Custer. Very happy to hear that you enjoyed our accomodations, and nice that it worked well for your family. Sorry to hear about the pancake machine as that happens once in a great while. Also, nice that you were able to enjoy the town of Custer itself. Hope the next time you are in the Black Hills, you make us your stop for the night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Upon check in for our 6 night stay the front desk was not able to accomodate our request for the higher floor away from the elevator and ice machine - instead exactly the opposite. First major disappointment. We had a noise issue above and the staff was quick to respond.
On a positive note the room and bathroom were clean. Good location for most of the area attractions.
Could not understand why there were 2 motorcycles parked in the handicap area.
WiFi was extremely slow because they have a low level router.
Air conditioner did not operate properly.
Staff did not go out of their way to acknowledge us when we walked out or back in.
Breakfast bar - the first couple of days it was well staffed and maintained and then for some unknown reason food was not being replenished nor did the staff care. The pancake machine did not operate for approximately 3 days, one day there was only skim milk for coffee, the omelettes were burned, and the food trays were empty.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kniden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank your for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. Sorry to hear that you had a less than average stay with us. This is not the normal for our property as we take a lot of pride in making sure each and every guest has a great experience. Your comments mean a lot to us and we will be striving to fix these issues. Hope you will give us another shot in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hotel was clean and the location was great for us. Staff was friendly and welcoming. The room had a fridge and microwave which came in handy.

We never tried the breakfast but were planning to on our last day. They start serving at 6:30 am. We got there at 6:40 am and it was already crowded and most of the food was gone. We didn't wait to see how soon they replenished. And because we liked the breakfast down the street at the Cowboy Cafe we decided to eat our last meal in Custer there.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauiAndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Epress while visiting Custer. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff met your needs. Also, thanks for taking the time to comment on our property. Hope the next time you are in the Custer area, you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn Express. Very clean, nice room even had a balcony! Great place to stay in the area of Mount Rushmore or Wind Cave. Breakfast Buffet could use alittle assistance as not eveyone knows how to operate the pancake machine and use OJ not Orange Drink please.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Nice that you were able to have a suite with a balcony, as they are very sought after. Sorry to hear that the breakfast was not up to par, but we are always striving to make it better. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

From the lobby to the pool area to the outside firepit this place personifies class. The rooms were typical from the brand but everything else puts this property in a class by itself. Service was great and the town of Custer was really neat as well. Not as busy as the other areas and that was perfectly fine with our family. Close enough to Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse to be the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpharkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed some of the extra amenities our property offers. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you the next time you are in the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
12.1 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.5 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 17 in Custer
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Custer

Property: Holiday Inn Express Custer
Address: 433 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Custer
#4 Romantic Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful views of the Black Hills of South Dakota at our Custer hotel. Travelers will enjoy a comfortable stay at our newly-built, non-smoking Holiday Inn Express Custer hotel, located conveniently off Highway 16. The whole family is sure to enjoy staying at our charming hotel in Custer, South Dakota. Situated in the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota, our contemporary Custer hotel is just minutes from several of South Dakota's most popular attractions including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Custer State Park. Other nearby sights and attractions include Bear Country USA, Evans Plunge and Jewel Cave, the second longest cave in the world. Unlike some hotels in South Dakota that can be disappointing, business travelers are sure to be pleased and impressed with the accommodations our Custer hotel provides. Along with breathtaking views and close proximity to many Custer, South Dakota attractions, our hotel in Custer is also located near a variety of companies such as Custer Hospital, Pacer Corporation and the US Forest Service. During your visit to Custer, South Dakota, take time to relax by our indoor, heated pool and work out in the fitness center. Also, make sure you try our complimentary hot breakfast bar that features our signature cinnamon rolls. Start planning your South Dakota vacation or business trip now, and enjoy the best Custer hotel deals and rates. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Custer Hotel Custer
Holiday Inn Custer
Custer Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing