We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Nearby Hotels
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocket Motel(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gold Camp Cabins(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Calamity Peak Lodge(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Custer(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$82
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
330
185
35
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
185
35
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscinnamon rollsnice hotelthe breakfast areablack hillscuster state parkpancake machinesmall waterfallfire pitcrazy horsebalcony roomjewel cavefree breakfastwind cavefront desk staffmt rushmorehot tubwould definitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
305 - 310 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Exterior was very nice, common areas lovely, room was mediocre and non-descript. Very nice breakfast area with a nice view of the water feature. Breakfast was decent with hot items available. Only fresh fruit available was banana. No apples or oranges.
Room was clean but mundane with no art work or pleasant design features. Two bath mats were worn out with numerous threads hanging off. One towel had holes in it. Pillows seemed worn out and lumpy.
Last but not least our iPad could not hook up with the wifi. Desk staff response was to tell me that it just doesn't work sometimes and blamed it on the wifi provider. Suggested I just use the lobby business center.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnandharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and commenting on our hotel. Sorry to hear that your stay was not up to standard. This is not a normal thing for our property, and these items will be addressed. Sorry about the Wifi issues, as this was an easy fix and our desk staff could have talked you through this. Again, sorry and we hope that you will give us another shot in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

As soon as we drove in the drive, we could tell that this hotel was very stylish and up to date. The young lady at the front desk was very enthusiastic about the area and the hotel. The location was great for visiting Mt. Rushmore, Jewel Cave and Crazy Horse. The microwave and refrigerator added to the comfort of our stay. The room was tastefully decorated.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sdownhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay as well as the ammenities we have to offer. Nice to hear that the staff was doing there job as well. Hope to see you the next time you are in the Black Hills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here one night while visiting Rushmore. The location was very good for our itinerary. We wanted to see Crazy Horse which was about a mile up the road on the way to Mt. Rushmore. Also, Jewel Cave was about 13 miles to the west of Custer, We reserved a king room which was an nice size. The room had a refrigerator and microwave. The room and bathroom were clean an. The Lobby area was impressive with the open air beams. Breakfast in the morning was as expected. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and our ammenities. We hope that you will make HIE your stop the next time you are in the Custer area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. Our room was spacious, clean, and decorated very nicely. The breakfast was awesome. Great selection of hot and cold foods and beverages. It was in a good location in town - you could walk everywhere - and yet it was far enough away from the big crowds. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we take pride in our property and its always nice to hear that hard work does pay off. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We're not much for camping in my family and it was surprisingly hard to find to find a place to stay that wasn't a motel or a campground or cabin while on a road trip to South Dakota. We opted for a suite so we had a bit more room and a refrigerator to store snacks and water, and were really happy with the space.

The hotel itself is nice - it has a lodge feel in the lobby and breakfast area. Breakfast was hot and was included in the price. The pancake machine broke one morning but we somehow managed to survive. :)There was a nice patio outside the breakfast area with tables, a little waterfall and a fire pit. We didn't try the pool but it smelled like it had a LOT of chlorine in it. Our room was clean and the beds were REALLY comfortable so everyone slept well. They also had laundry facilities, which was nice since my husband had some gas splash him at a gas station on the way. The front desk had single-use detergent for $1.

Custer ended up being a perfect spot to use as our base for the first part of our trip - it's literally in the middle of everything. It was minutes from Custer State Park's Wildlife Loop and the Needles Highway drive. Wind Cave and Jewel Cave are also really accessible and The Crazy Horse monument is also minutes away. Recommended for a family interested in seeing all of the sights in the area. Check out the Rock Shop in downtown Custer - they have some fun souvenirs like petrified wood, rocks of all kinds, fossils and agate bookends. The kids loved it.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can - the extra space is great, amy you can keep water and healthy snacks on hand in the mini refrigerator for day trips.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for staying at the Holiay Inn Express during your most recent visit to Custer. Very happy to hear that you enjoyed our accomodations, and nice that it worked well for your family. Sorry to hear about the pancake machine as that happens once in a great while. Also, nice that you were able to enjoy the town of Custer itself. Hope the next time you are in the Black Hills, you make us your stop for the night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews