We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel in a spacious and comfortable room. Although the room was on the side of the road, it was absolutely quiet. This hotel is the newest in Custer, so furnishings and decorations are spotless,
The self service breakfast has a fine variety. It is served in the grand hall that overlooks a pretty little garden with waterfall, a nice start of the day.
Restaurants and shops are nearby and the hotel's location is perfect for sightseeing in the lovely Black Hills.
Higly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pensionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities. We take pride in our property and its always nice to hear that is pays off. We hope the next time you are in the Black Hills you will make Holiday Inn Express & Suites your lodging choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Our room was a King Suite, the single A/C unit takes a while to cool the
distance to the front door/sofa area of the room. The sofabed
creaked and popped, even when small person sat on it, needs replacing?
They seemed to be cutting corners since our last visit here in 2010.
Their large man-made waterfall on the embankment behind the hotel was dry this
time. Last time they pumped water over it for nice waterfall effect.
There are about 5 hotels lined up here & all have the same owner/operator,
so there is no real competition among them.
Breakfast; cinnamon roll, cereal (no granola), bananas (ok, if you could find a good one),
small 'bought' blueberry muffins and yogurt cups.
Wi-fi on our 1st night had OK speed and no cut-outs. 2nd nite: multiple (10+ times cut-out/
dropped out. Had to redo/resend messages (but not re-sign back in).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigTXN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. Sorry to hear that you had some issues, we take a lot of pride in our property and will make sure these things are taken care of. We drained the waterfall one day before the forecast of 2 ft. of snow and cold weather were on the way. We closed the property for the season on the 6th of October. Hope the next time you are in the Black Hills you will give us a chance to improve on your most recent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for one night, it was supposed to be two, but the recent blizzard had us abandoning our plans and hightailing it south as quickly as possible. Regardless, the hotel was great. We had a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the hills and a lovely waterfall. The beds were super comfy and the shower had amazing power in the morning. The decor of the hotel is very charming and the hot tub is worth the experience. It was so relaxing and soothing to use. This hotel is in a great location, very close to Custer, Custer State Park and the memorials. The service was exceptional. With the blizzard coming the front desk staff was under the gun with people canceling reservations, extending stays, and bombarding them with questions--they handled it with grace, professionalism and friendliness. I wish I could remember their names to give them accolades, but we were rushing out the door. When we come back to the area, and we will come back, this is where we will stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmulvihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to comment on our hotel. First of all, would like to apologize for the blizzard this is was not normal. However, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the accommodations. Nice to hear that our staff was also doing their job. Hope to see you again in the near future with nicer weather of course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Four of us shared the 2 bedroom suite, the price was much better than 2 separate rooms. However we did have to share 1 bathroom which was understandable. The inconvenience was that if you were in the king bedroom you had to walk through the other bedroom to get to it. Other than that and the not so hot, hot tub which reeked of chlorine (picky, picky), it's a nice hotel. Breakfast was average but adequate, rooms were clean and lobby and dinning room were clean and modern. Overall it was a pleasant experience and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The backside rooms have patios, but when we were there it was too windy to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimiwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to comment on our hotel. Glad we could accommodate you with one of our suites. Sorry about the chlorine smell in the hot tub. Hope to see you the next time you visit the Black Hills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is a nice hotel in Custer. It's got a very nice lobby and the rooms seemed modern and updated. The breakfast was good and it was very clean. I like having a fridge and microwave in the room as well. It's got everything you could ask for. We traveled in off season, and given that, I felt like it was priced to high, which is the only thing that kept me from giving it five stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveMyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take much pride in making sure all of our customers have a memorable visit. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This place was beautiful. Large rooms, very clean, and an amazing lobby/breakfast area with a nature view. Pool was heated and nice, also had a great view of the surrounding wildlife. Breakfast was complete and well stocked, although it could use some chocolate milk :). No real complaints here. This is exactly what you should come to expect from Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redvisorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Custer and taking the time to comment on our hotel. It is very refreshing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the amenities we have to offer. Sorry about the chocolate milk. Hope that your make us your home away from home the next time you visit the Black Hills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The only reason I didn't give this a five star rating was because we stayed for seven days after most of their staff had left to go back to school. It was definitely a challenge to keep up the hallways for the cleaning crew, although the place it really counts, your room, was perfect. Those remaining (after the exodus) went above and beyond the call to make everyone's experience a great one. The hotel is attractive and we were pleased with our room. After a particularly long day of sightseeing we made our way back to the hotel as they were turning off the outside gas fire pit. I said something to the effect of "Darn, sorry we missed that". No sooner did I get that out of my mouth when they turned it back on and told us just to let them know when we came back inside. We enjoyed unwinding from our day's excursion to the sound of the waterfall and the warmth and ambience of the fire. This was just one of the many ways the staff was accommodating. They were professional, friendly and helpful. If I ever come back to Custer I will definitely stay here and I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boots1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to comment on our hotel. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the staff went above and beyond. We are very happy that you were able to enjoy the outside area. Staffing is an issue for us this late in the season as it winds down. Sorry for that. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
3.7 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
12.1 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Custer

Address: 433 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#4 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range: £110 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful views of the Black Hills of South Dakota at our Custer hotel. Travelers will enjoy a comfortable stay at our newly-built, non-smoking Holiday Inn Express Custer hotel, located conveniently off Highway 16. The whole family is sure to enjoy staying at our charming hotel in Custer, South Dakota. Situated in the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota, our contemporary Custer hotel is just minutes from several of South Dakota's most popular attractions including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Custer State Park. Other nearby sights and attractions include Bear Country USA, Evans Plunge and Jewel Cave, the second longest cave in the world. Unlike some hotels in South Dakota that can be disappointing, business travelers are sure to be pleased and impressed with the accommodations our Custer hotel provides. Along with breathtaking views and close proximity to many Custer, South Dakota attractions, our hotel in Custer is also located near a variety of companies such as Custer Hospital, Pacer Corporation and the US Forest Service. During your visit to Custer, South Dakota, take time to relax by our indoor, heated pool and work out in the fitness center. Also, make sure you try our complimentary hot breakfast bar that features our signature cinnamon rolls. Start planning your South Dakota vacation or business trip now, and enjoy the best Custer hotel deals and rates. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Custer Hotel Custer
Holiday Inn Custer
Custer Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing