We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location, terrific views and very clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Custer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Niwot, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, terrific views and very clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Nice surprise in the town of Custer. This newly constructed HIE is one of the best. Great use of log and wilderness themes, and and great room with views onto the mountainside. Nice, caring manager and staff, this is a great value. Easy parking, and a relaxing pool and hot tub.

Room Tip: It was a suite on the corner of the top floor, maybe 4th floor, but the WiFi did not reach this corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiwotTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We were built in 2008 and so glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel. We are glad you liked our log/lodge style. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    168
    31
    7
    2
See reviews for
231
188
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Pre 4th of July '14 stay for 2 nights at the property. Great location in the Rushmore/Crazy Horse Memorial area. Equally convenient to Custer State Park. Great staff at the Hotel with a premium on courtesy and efficiency. Clean and organized like many HI Express locations. Great outdoor seating area facing the hillside, fire pit, and the great aroma of the Black Hills. Did experience a possible overbilling charge, but the General Manager did address the matter and solve it in a positive manner. Just look carefully at your final bill vs. your confirmation reservation from whatever source you utilize. Very good place to relax after a day of being the traveler in the Black Hills.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the backside (facing the hillside) rather than the front with the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller19842012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello and thank you for writing a review on our hotel. This really is such a great area and I am so glad you had the time to enjoy so many of our attractions. I am so sorry about the final bill. I am glad we were able to correct it for you. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukee, Iowa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great stay at this Holiday Inn Express. Awesome staff that was helpful and friendly. Great location nearby many attractions. Entire hotel and rooms are spacious, super clean, comfortable and just as we've come to expect and appreciate getting from HIE. The breakfast was very good and was tended to very well with variety. This will definitely be where we stay next

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the area & very glad you liked our breakfast. We look forward to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent 6 nights there over the holiday week and were very pleased. Rooms were clean, except behind bed which no one really sees unless you are looking to make sure you didn't forget anything. staff was very friendly and accommodating. Pool was nice, but hot tub seemed very hot and couldn't sit in it too long. when we first got there chlorine was very high and my husband and i had a hard time sitting in the hot tub due to the chlorine level. pool seems to accrue hair as i always had strands on my hands and one other person had a small clump on her back. however that did not hold us back as my kids enjoyed swimming a lot. breakfast was nice, but would be nice to change it up, same thing every other day, but loved the healthier options offered. i would agree to ask for a room in the back, we had a balcony in the front and not as nice of a view or as private. still was nice to have the space. would definitely come back and stay.

Room Tip: recommend 2nd floor, can use stairs to get to pool, workout room, front desk, and back of building f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay over the Holiday weekend. I am happy that our staff was friendly and very accommodating during your stay. Some of the healthy breakfast options are new this year so I am glad you enjoyed them & we will look into other choices as well. Than you again for writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This Holiday Inn was everything I expect from this chain. If they are available for my travels, this is where I normally stay. The service was friendly, hotel and room clean. I had reserved and paid weeks earlier. Upon arrival and check in I asked about corporate discounts. The lady checking me in took an additional $30 off my stay. Sweet! Book early. Rates tend to go very high during peak season.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MississippiCatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I would first like to thank you for choosing our hotel chain and for staying with us in Custer. We realize you have many choices and are happy you enjoyed your time at our hotel. Thank you for taking time to write a review & if you are ever in the Black Hills area again we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights while visiting all of the sites around the area. It was a short drive to most of them. Hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. Breakfast was wonderful with a great selection! Fire pit on the back patio was a nice amenity as well. Overall a nice hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ricky153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your time at our hotel. The fire pit is a nice area just to relax from a long day of sightseeing. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here on our way to West Yellowstone for one night. Good location. Easy to find. Rooms were clean. Offered a good breakfast in the morning with a nice view. One problem or area of concern was the level of chlorine in the pool/hot tub area. I overheard several of the guests say the hot tub was too hot and the level of chlorine was making their eyes water and burn. My daughter even experienced a rash/allergic reaction to the chlorine. In retrospect, probably was not a safe level of chlorine in the pool/hot tub. Outside of the concerns about the pool area, our stay was very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I am so sorry about the chlorine levels in the pool/hot tub area. I will defiantly be looking into that. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast area & the view. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
12.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#3 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Custer

Property: Holiday Inn Express Custer
Address: 433 West Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Custer
#4 Romantic Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful views of the Black Hills of South Dakota at our Custer hotel. Travelers will enjoy a comfortable stay at our newly-built, non-smoking Holiday Inn Express Custer hotel, located conveniently off Highway 16. The whole family is sure to enjoy staying at our charming hotel in Custer, South Dakota. Situated in the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota, our contemporary Custer hotel is just minutes from several of South Dakota's most popular attractions including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Custer State Park. Other nearby sights and attractions include Bear Country USA, Evans Plunge and Jewel Cave, the second longest cave in the world. Unlike some hotels in South Dakota that can be disappointing, business travelers are sure to be pleased and impressed with the accommodations our Custer hotel provides. Along with breathtaking views and close proximity to many Custer, South Dakota attractions, our hotel in Custer is also located near a variety of companies such as Custer Hospital, Pacer Corporation and the US Forest Service. During your visit to Custer, South Dakota, take time to relax by our indoor, heated pool and work out in the fitness center. Also, make sure you try our complimentary hot breakfast bar that features our signature cinnamon rolls. Start planning your South Dakota vacation or business trip now, and enjoy the best Custer hotel deals and rates. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Custer Hotel Custer
Holiday Inn Custer
Custer Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing