We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Nearby Hotels
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$78
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocket Motel(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gold Camp Cabins(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
330
185
35
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
185
35
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscinnamon rollsnice hotelthe breakfast areablack hillscuster state parkpancake machinesmall waterfallfire pitcrazy horsebalcony roomjewel cavefree breakfastwind cavefront desk staffmt rushmorehot tubwould definitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Nice surprise in the town of Custer. This newly constructed HIE is one of the best. Great use of log and wilderness themes, and and great room with views onto the mountainside. Nice, caring manager and staff, this is a great value. Easy parking, and a relaxing pool and hot tub.

Room Tip: It was a suite on the corner of the top floor, maybe 4th floor, but the WiFi did not reach this corner of the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NiwotTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We were built in 2008 and so glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel. We are glad you liked our log/lodge style. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Pre 4th of July '14 stay for 2 nights at the property. Great location in the Rushmore/Crazy Horse Memorial area. Equally convenient to Custer State Park. Great staff at the Hotel with a premium on courtesy and efficiency. Clean and organized like many HI Express locations. Great outdoor seating area facing the hillside, fire pit, and the great aroma of the Black Hills. Did experience a possible overbilling charge, but the General Manager did address the matter and solve it in a positive manner. Just look carefully at your final bill vs. your confirmation reservation from whatever source you utilize. Very good place to relax after a day of being the traveler in the Black Hills.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the backside (facing the hillside) rather than the front with the highway.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Traveller19842012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hello and thank you for writing a review on our hotel. This really is such a great area and I am so glad you had the time to enjoy so many of our attractions. I am so sorry about the final bill. I am glad we were able to correct it for you. Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great stay at this Holiday Inn Express. Awesome staff that was helpful and friendly. Great location nearby many attractions. Entire hotel and rooms are spacious, super clean, comfortable and just as we've come to expect and appreciate getting from HIE. The breakfast was very good and was tended to very well with variety. This will definitely be where we stay next

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the area & very glad you liked our breakfast. We look forward to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent 6 nights there over the holiday week and were very pleased. Rooms were clean, except behind bed which no one really sees unless you are looking to make sure you didn't forget anything. staff was very friendly and accommodating. Pool was nice, but hot tub seemed very hot and couldn't sit in it too long. when we first got there chlorine was very high and my husband and i had a hard time sitting in the hot tub due to the chlorine level. pool seems to accrue hair as i always had strands on my hands and one other person had a small clump on her back. however that did not hold us back as my kids enjoyed swimming a lot. breakfast was nice, but would be nice to change it up, same thing every other day, but loved the healthier options offered. i would agree to ask for a room in the back, we had a balcony in the front and not as nice of a view or as private. still was nice to have the space. would definitely come back and stay.

Room Tip: recommend 2nd floor, can use stairs to get to pool, workout room, front desk, and back of building for scenic view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay over the Holiday weekend. I am happy that our staff was friendly and very accommodating during your stay. Some of the healthy breakfast options are new this year so I am glad you enjoyed them & we will look into other choices as well. Than you again for writing a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This Holiday Inn was everything I expect from this chain. If they are available for my travels, this is where I normally stay. The service was friendly, hotel and room clean. I had reserved and paid weeks earlier. Upon arrival and check in I asked about corporate discounts. The lady checking me in took an additional $30 off my stay. Sweet! Book early. Rates tend to go very high during peak season.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank MississippiCatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

I would first like to thank you for choosing our hotel chain and for staying with us in Custer. We realize you have many choices and are happy you enjoyed your time at our hotel. Thank you for taking time to write a review & if you are ever in the Black Hills area again we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews