We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for Visiting Sites around Custer.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel is located a short distance away from the main town, which we preferred. We stayed for 3 nights. Our room was at the back of the hotel & was quiet & had a view of the waterfall. The breakfast area was light & airy, with an exit out to the waterfall seating area behind. The breakfast was good, as far as hotel breakfasts go. We liked the fact that the hotel was well located for Custer State Park, Crazy Horse in one direction & Jewel Cave National Monument in the other direction. Mt Rushmore was around a half hour drive away, which isn't bad. It was a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Virginia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you so much for staying and taking time to write a review about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our small town and all the attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

A well located hotel in line with the best standards of Holiday Inn hotels. Very clean and well organised.
Very close to the splendid Custer State Park and some miles away from Mount Rushmore.
Indoor swimming pool and outside relaxing terrasse are further nice assets to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stoullieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We decided on this hotel after reading the reviews and having stayed at Holiday Inns before. We were very glad we did and the 5 nites we spent were wonderful. We needed a handicap room which was spacious, clean and well equipped. The room was quiet and the beds very comfortable. The staff could not be more helpful, friendly and courteous. From Tiffany who took our reservation and told me not to worry if I had to cancel the same day because we could not travel that far, to Kim the mgr, Pat at the front desk and Pat in the breakfast room. I know there are several others whose names I did not get but all provided excellent service. Anything we needed was provided and helpful suggestions given for dining etc. The breakfasts offered a good variety and who can go wrong with a cinnamon bun with coffee. Wrecks the diet but good.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning on visiting Custer and if/when we go back we'll be sure to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marpaul25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello and thank you for staying with us at our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure I tell Pat and Tiffany at the front desk & also Pat in the breakfast area how much you enjoyed everything. Customer Service is so important and I am glad we were able to make your stay so enjoyable. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here with grade-school grandson. Was just what we needed. A little away from downtown, but close enough if motivated to walk to the city main street. Google and my car GPS show wrong location by several blocks so location was confusing to find. Hotel website should submit a correction. Yes, the pool, hot tub and breakfast all nice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jadfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hello and thank you for your review. I am sorry about the GPS. I will look into that & see what we can do to update our locations with Google Maps. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The HIE in Custer, SD is a nice place to hang your hat. We were there at the beginning of the Sturgis Rally & it's a great place to be IN the midst yet far enough away from most of the constant noise of Deadwood, Sturgis & Keystone. The front desk staff is super friendly. I'd especially like to give a shout out to ALLY who was so super sweet and helpful. The breakfast gals seemed a little overwhelmed with the crowd each morning - hope they got warmed up and better able to keep it stocked for the next week which I'm sure is even busier! Our room was comfy, great view out the back and parking was perfect!
My only complaint is that they peak certain nights at a higher rate. I understand when they do that for like the WEEK of Sturgis, but they pick certain nights IN that week and make them more expensive than say the next night. Obviously no one is going to check in and out and back in so I guess if you stay there you just have to live with that. But I've never seen a hotel with a rate for Saturday, then WAY higher for Sunday, then back down for Monday, then back up, etc. etc. I just think they would have happier customers if the rate stayed the same for regular times and the same for peak times. Oh well, can't keep us from having fun & I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Top floor for us "light sleepers"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bobbie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We thought this hotel was very nice---the pool and back deck area were especially nice. The adults were able to sit outside and enjoy the fire pit and gorgeous view while the kids swam. The balcony off our room was also nice. Everything was clean. We did not have the breakfast so I cannot comment on that. (Upon arrival, front desk clerk was not friendly at all.)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank the_queen38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Holiday Inn Express never lets us down. Always nice spacious rooms and very clean and quiet. Breakfast area was clean with plenty of seating. Holiday Inn Express standard breakfast. The pool was nice, just the right temp for me and my son. Hot tub was extra hot, but still used after a day of walking everywhere nice on my sore feet! Staff was helpful and friendly. Housekeeping did a fabulous job especially considering it was a very busy Sturgis week for them. Housekeeping is one of the toughest jobs out there so be thankful to your housekeepers when you have a clean room! Beautiful area, would definitely return on a future visit!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tabitha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
12.1 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.5 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 18 in Custer
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Custer

Address: 433 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#4 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range: £84 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful views of the Black Hills of South Dakota at our Custer hotel. Travelers will enjoy a comfortable stay at our newly-built, non-smoking Holiday Inn Express Custer hotel, located conveniently off Highway 16. The whole family is sure to enjoy staying at our charming hotel in Custer, South Dakota. Situated in the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota, our contemporary Custer hotel is just minutes from several of South Dakota's most popular attractions including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Custer State Park. Other nearby sights and attractions include Bear Country USA, Evans Plunge and Jewel Cave, the second longest cave in the world. Unlike some hotels in South Dakota that can be disappointing, business travelers are sure to be pleased and impressed with the accommodations our Custer hotel provides. Along with breathtaking views and close proximity to many Custer, South Dakota attractions, our hotel in Custer is also located near a variety of companies such as Custer Hospital, Pacer Corporation and the US Forest Service. During your visit to Custer, South Dakota, take time to relax by our indoor, heated pool and work out in the fitness center. Also, make sure you try our complimentary hot breakfast bar that features our signature cinnamon rolls. Start planning your South Dakota vacation or business trip now, and enjoy the best Custer hotel deals and rates. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Custer Hotel Custer
Holiday Inn Custer
Custer Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing