We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic and nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Custer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rustic and nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

If you can handle the winding turns and drive then this place is about the nicest place in Custer. The pool and hot tub area are nice. The lobby is very nice also. The beds are comfortable, and we found the room to be very clean. The bad part of our trip was that the hotel key card reader didn't read our card very well, so we spent (wasted) time swiping. Also, the common area restroom was a bit dirty, and the carpet around the lobby and hallways had high traffic dirt stains. Otherwise I would stay here again, even though I didn't care much for Custer.

Room Tip: Stay in Keystone instead. I read that Custer had lots of choices for places to eat, but when driving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchwine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. I apologize for the key card reader, I will make sure we look into that. I am glad you enjoyed your room & the pool area. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    168
    31
    7
    2
See reviews for
231
188
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

This is a superior Holiday Inn Express. It's very clean, quiet, modern and comfortable. The rooms are spacious and equipped with refrigerators. There is an indoor pool. The staff are very friendly.

The hot breakfast is excellent and is served in a spacious dining area. If you feel like eating outside, there's a very nice patio with several tables. The area around the patio has been beautifully landscaped and includes a high waterfall that flows out of the hill behind the hotel.

The hotel has been built to reflect the look and feel of the surrounding Black Hills. It has a stone facade and the dining room has a huge stone fireplace.

The hotel is also very convenient to many attractions, including Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse Memorial, Wind Cave and Jewel Cave.

Overall, this hotel is highly recommended. It's a great spot from which to explore the Black Hills.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil1863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for such a nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Custer is defiantly a nice location to all the attractions in the Black Hills area. I will make sure and share this with our staff. We hope to see you again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Very pleasant stay, even though it was bike rally week, and there were tens of thousands of bikers in the city. The hotel was packed, but the service was still very good. The breakfast servers work overtime to insure the food is hot and plentiful

Room Tip: We had a room next to the stairs on the third floor, and the noise level was high. I suggest you st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. Yes, Bike week is a very busy time. I am glad you enjoyed your time here. Breakfast is always such a busy time & the breakfast servers do a great job, I will make sure I pass this review along to them. Thanks again for staying & we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrexham
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We recently stayed here and had one of the best nights sleep weve ever had in the USA. ! The hotel is based on the edge of town but a 10 min walk gets you into the centre. Parking is more than ample, breakfast good but they need more staff on serving duty at busy times.....overall very good hoel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am so glad you had such a great night sleep. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel is located a short distance away from the main town, which we preferred. We stayed for 3 nights. Our room was at the back of the hotel & was quiet & had a view of the waterfall. The breakfast area was light & airy, with an exit out to the waterfall seating area behind. The breakfast was good, as far as hotel breakfasts go. We liked the fact that the hotel was well located for Custer State Park, Crazy Horse in one direction & Jewel Cave National Monument in the other direction. Mt Rushmore was around a half hour drive away, which isn't bad. It was a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying and taking time to write a review about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our small town and all the attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

A well located hotel in line with the best standards of Holiday Inn hotels. Very clean and well organised.
Very close to the splendid Custer State Park and some miles away from Mount Rushmore.
Indoor swimming pool and outside relaxing terrasse are further nice assets to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stoullieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We decided on this hotel after reading the reviews and having stayed at Holiday Inns before. We were very glad we did and the 5 nites we spent were wonderful. We needed a handicap room which was spacious, clean and well equipped. The room was quiet and the beds very comfortable. The staff could not be more helpful, friendly and courteous. From Tiffany who took our reservation and told me not to worry if I had to cancel the same day because we could not travel that far, to Kim the mgr, Pat at the front desk and Pat in the breakfast room. I know there are several others whose names I did not get but all provided excellent service. Anything we needed was provided and helpful suggestions given for dining etc. The breakfasts offered a good variety and who can go wrong with a cinnamon bun with coffee. Wrecks the diet but good.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning on visiting Custer and if/when we go back we'll be sure to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marpaul25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Custer, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hello and thank you for staying with us at our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure I tell Pat and Tiffany at the front desk & also Pat in the breakfast area how much you enjoyed everything. Customer Service is so important and I am glad we were able to make your stay so enjoyable. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
12.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#3 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Custer

Property: Holiday Inn Express Custer
Address: 433 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Custer
#4 Romantic Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful views of the Black Hills of South Dakota at our Custer hotel. Travelers will enjoy a comfortable stay at our newly-built, non-smoking Holiday Inn Express Custer hotel, located conveniently off Highway 16. The whole family is sure to enjoy staying at our charming hotel in Custer, South Dakota. Situated in the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota, our contemporary Custer hotel is just minutes from several of South Dakota's most popular attractions including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Custer State Park. Other nearby sights and attractions include Bear Country USA, Evans Plunge and Jewel Cave, the second longest cave in the world. Unlike some hotels in South Dakota that can be disappointing, business travelers are sure to be pleased and impressed with the accommodations our Custer hotel provides. Along with breathtaking views and close proximity to many Custer, South Dakota attractions, our hotel in Custer is also located near a variety of companies such as Custer Hospital, Pacer Corporation and the US Forest Service. During your visit to Custer, South Dakota, take time to relax by our indoor, heated pool and work out in the fitness center. Also, make sure you try our complimentary hot breakfast bar that features our signature cinnamon rolls. Start planning your South Dakota vacation or business trip now, and enjoy the best Custer hotel deals and rates. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Custer Hotel Custer
Holiday Inn Custer
Custer Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing