We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slept great... great location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was a great location for our state parks trips, right near everything. The bed was so comfy, room was clean, staff was very nice, breakfast was less than typical for a Super 8, a little depressed there. Pool and hot tub were great, you could actually see it from the breakfast room. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking to time to write a review on your stay. We are happy to hear you had a good stay at our property. The location is great. We are within walking distance of restraunts, Bedrock Flintstones and the Magic Show. We hope that you will make your next stay in Custer the Super 8.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

I booked this hotel online and it seemed to be of good value for the area. Here are my thoughts:

Good
- Bed was comfortable
- It was quiet when I was there
- Free wifi that worked
- Free breakfast (basic but ok)
- Friendly staff

Other
- Bathroom was really small but the sink is on the outside

We had a nice stay and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank IntlTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

After many noisy motels, it was a pleasure to have two quiet nights at this Super 8. No street noise in the back facing rooms. Free breakfast , hot tub and pool were all very enjoyable.
The senior discounted rate made the price reasonable.
Located near many state parks we enjoyed local caving attractions.

Room Tip: Room in the back, not overlooking parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatureDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay. I am happy to hear that you had a positive experience at our property. The location is good for the travelers. The Bedrock Flintstones and Magic Show are adjacent to our property and other popular attractions are just minutes away from our area. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Custer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We got a room that was ok, we were tired, after a long day.. Was hoping to have a good breakfast since in the breakfast room showed signs that breakfast was biscuits and gravy,sweet rolls that could be heated up, yea right... Breakfast was a big disappointment, the signs were there still the next morning we were told biscuits and gravy were going to be Wednesday's breakfast and there was no sweet rolls ..... Why leave the signs up if they weren't going to have it.. We left and traveled to hot springs were we ate a great breakfast..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dorag284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on the breakfast. We use your feedback to improve our business. I will look into the issue that you had mentionedand take the steps to improve. Thank you again and we hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My stay was very enjoyable, staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. Room was kept clean and well stocked with towels soap etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Custer Super 8. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Custer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Tanya and her crew changed my mind. When my husband told me where he booked us I was less than thrilled but when we got here, the foyer was clean, warm and inviting. The room was small but totally functional, and clean and crisp. The pool area was inviting and the hot tub was heavenly! The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast and internet included, suffice it to say, I will be booking at other Super8's and would highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay. We are happy that you had a positive experience at our hotel. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next stay in Custer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at Super 8 Hotel, in the Custer/Crazy Horse area. Everyone was nice and helpful. The rooms were big and we had a Whirl Pool in the room. The bed was like sleeping at home, nice soft but yet firm and so comfy. I am handicapped and was surprised to find they did not have an elevator. Breakfast needed some help, like fruits, bagels and milk. Mostly it was a great 3 day stay. When we come back, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at Custer. We appreciate your feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a positive experience and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
12.8 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Custer
Days Inn Custer
#18 of 18 in Custer
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.6 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#2 of 18 in Custer
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area

Address: 535 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1952
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Price Range: £40 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Custer / Crazy Horse Area Hotel Custer
Super Eight Custer
Custer Super 8
Custer Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing